We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Luxor to your Saves list
Iberotel Luxor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Glos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Iberotel and have had a great time. the hotel is in a fantastic position right on the Nile and directly across from The Valley of the Kings. Near enough to the town to walk and see some of the sights Luxor has to offer. You do get a bit of hassle when you go out but if you say "No thanks" and don't engage in any other chat they mostly leave you alone.
The grounds of the hotel are kept in good condition and are clean and tidy with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the great views.
The rooms are in need of a bit of updating but are kept clean and are quite comfy. The bathroom is small but has all that you need. We had a room at the side which gave us a view of the street and the Nile. It did tend to be a bit noisy in the evenings but once the doors were closed it wasn't enough to keep you awake.
We did find the food a bit repetative, beef every day gets a little boring, but that said I do think that most AI hotels have the same problem. We ate at the pool bar at lunchtimes and got great service. We were waited on hand and foot by the fantastic staff, a special mention must go to the waiters, Adel and Yasser and the pool boy Refaat. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always ready with a smile. We must also make a special mention of Mahmoud a waiter mostly in the Bar in the evenings, he was always happy and smiling and seemed to know exactly when we wanted a refill.
All in all a great hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to return again in the future, hopefully next time we would get a Nile view room as we never got to see the wonderful sunsets that we read about.
Our thanks go to all the staff at the Iberotel who made our holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    261
    82
    31
    13
See reviews for
145
283
56
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a wonderful 9 night stay at this hotel. This is the second time we have been here, first was in 2010, and the hotel lived up to the expectations. We had a Nile view room on one of the upper floors and this was delightful. The pool was lovely, plenty of sunbeds and a good poolside restaurant. The main restaurant is also good, plenty of choice of food and very good service. So a heartfelt thanks to all at the hotel who made our stay so enjoyable. The hotel is very central making access to the temples in and around Luxor only a short trip away, either by small boat, taxi or on foot. Sadly there is less tourists visiting, making the hassling more persistent and this can make walking in and around Luxor a bit of a pain but as long as you keep walking and say no then they will leave you alone. It is their living but it can become overbearing at times. Luxor is a truly wonderful place to visit and explore, so be assured that staying at this hotel will enhance your visit

Room Tip: Nile view upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermanus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After an horrendous few days in Cairo we arrived at Luxor to the heaven of this hotel. The setting is superb as it is unlike some right on the Nile with no road in front. The rooms ar large, beautiful, clean, quiet. The lobby is marble and huge. There are a number of restaurants in the hotel and a bar and wonderful patios . It then descends through gardens with a wonderful pool IN the Nille itself with surrounding bar and loungers. It is centrally situated. The low price was astonishing. This hotel made our entire holiday a treat

Room Tip: Facing Nile (more expensive) We overlooked the inner courtyard but this is also excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff,good food with plenty of choice. Excellent value for money. The views over the Nile are beautiful and these rooms are quiet away from the road. Lovely pool with sunbeds with shades. Central position close to Luxor temple, bank ,cash machine,taxis,calleches etc.

Room Tip: Nile view 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanksville, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

An average hotel; rooms are small, they charge for internet; bathrooms are cramped, and service is just OK. On the flip side, it has a nice view of the Nile, short walk to Luxor Temple, great views of the Valley of the Queens at night and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Nile, in the middle of the hotel on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed in Oct 2012, this is my second trip to Luxor and have stayed at this hotel both times.
breakfast was great, lots of choice and freshly made pancakes/omelettes,staff were brilliant made breakfast a pleasure, great location, yes there is hassle but they are only trying to make a living, a polite no thanks is the way to go, no need to be rude. room was cleaned everyday and can not praise the staff (from the cleaner,waiters barmen etc) highly enough, the manager Mohammed was great and very helpful , thinking of going back to luxor this year, if i do will be going to stay at the Iberotel
had a room on the side so got the best of both worlds, lovely view of the nile and the madness of the street

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staying at the Iberotel Luxor means you are truly in the heart of the action. Granted it can be busy due to its location near to a main road however luckily our room overlooked the Nile which, as well as being very quiet, offered stunning panoramas of the sunset.

The pool here is a wonderfully unique feature as it literally floats on the river, of course it is moored to the hotel however it adds an air of excitement that one can adore the river views from the poolside.

Rooms are a good size and staff are more than helpful.

We took a delightful overnight trip to Safaga, staying in a beachfront property, this was organised by the hotel and i highly recommend it for those who might need a break from sightseeing for a day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.