We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable in Luxor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberotel Luxor to your Saves list
Iberotel Luxor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Affordable in Luxor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotels throughout Egypt are severely underbooked since the 2011 Revolution, so they're making up the difference by a combination of cutting back on renovations, lowering rates, and reducing or charging more for certain services. I've rated this property with this fact in mind...

Got the lobby view room for a steal, figuring I wouldn't spend enough time in the room to make it worth $20/night more for the Nile View, but street view would be too noisy.
It worked out fine, except the room got a bit warm, and putting the thermostat on the coolest setting didn't seem to help, but opening the door exposed us to more noise and smoke (people can smoke in the lobby).
We spent some time at the pool, which was even nicer than it looked in the pictures. The gardens are also nice.
Breakfast was decent, with a good variety of hot and cold foods.
Note: They charge 40 Egyptian pounds/half hour to connect to their internet (wired or wireless), but if you head down Television St a few blocks away, you can use an internet cafe for 2.50-5 pounds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    282
    90
    37
    14
See reviews for
158
307
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Iberotel in november and had a great holiday. Its the first time we have stayed all-inclusive, and it really did save us alot of money. The staff are, as I say fantastic! They are very helpfull and cheerful. We felt sad for the people of Luxor, it was supposed to be one of their peak tourist times and yet was very quite in terms of tourist numbers. Please go, its history and people are amaizing, and there is nothing more beautiful then listening to the call to prayer overlooking a moonlit nile.
Its the second time we have been to Luxor. The first time we stayed in the Sheraton and it was summer. Too hot and too far out of the centre of Luxor. At the Iberotel we were given side rooms which meant we could sit and look out over the nile whilst also getting to look at what was going on on the road - very entertaining at times!
The entertainment of a night is, as it is in other hotels in Luxor, low key. The man who sings and plays keyboard does a great job in the bar, without being too intrusive. Basically you are up early to see the sites so dont need the full on entertainment of other holiday resorts.
Go!!

Room Tip: Side rooms give you the best of both worlds, good nile views and road/roundabout view. We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunset060, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just returned from Iberotel on 9th January and had a really good time.
Rooms:
As requested we were given a nile viewand worth the extra. We were in room 510 so had the benefit of a nile view and a part view of the Corniche. Enjoyed watching the police check cars.
Entertainment
Didnt enjoy singer at all would have preferred some background music instead. Didnt expect anything as Egypt very low key.
Staff
Brilliant and very friendly. A few in particular stood out such as Ali in the restaurant, the bar staff on a night time and the pool lad. Particular mention has to be made to Mr Mahmoud the manager on the front desk for all his help, really appreciate it.
Hassle
A fair amount of hassle as there are very few tourists about so everyone desperate for business.
Would love to go back.
Thank you to everyone at the Iberotel for a fabolous holiday, thanks for the birthday cake as well

Room Tip: Ask for room 510 or 511 for the best of the both worlds. Nile and street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent one week in Iberotel and was very satisfied. The rooms are just all right but the surroundings are excellent. Very nice garden and very nice pool area placed on the Nile! There are several restaurants on the hotel and the food is all right. Staff all over the hotel are absolutely kind and service minded.

Room Tip: Wifi is NOT free and I recommend you ask for a room close to a hotspot if you want to use the wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited the iberotel back in September, great all inclusive deal,friendly staff and a good location. Quiet, we easily met everyone staying in the hotel over ten days, be prepared to bump into everyone at dinner,the pool and on excursions. If you're thinking of staying here, there's a great guy moored by the pool, calls himself Craig David (Mohammed) he's great fun, organised all our trips at easily half price, so go see him!
Hotel was nice and clean, make sure you get a room that's outward facing, oddly this hotel does have some that face the inner courtyard, no idea why they'd put you there while its so quiet, but you never know.
Many guests we stayed with complained at the food offered on buffet, maybe it's the age gap but at 25 there wasn't anything in there I disliked. While you're there go check out the right side of the buffet. Most nights there's a chef just standing there, he's there to cook and serve things to order, so get in there at breakfast and dinner!
Pool food was great, staff down there are really good, being kind will get you extras and better service..trust me.
Outside the hotel the usual cluster of local sellers will trail you down the street, persist with whatever you're doing and don't be rude! Past a certain point they will eventually leave you alone. Be aware that they all know each other, so giving away details of good deals you've had elsewhere as a deterrent will cause trouble for someone else.
Locally, Luxor temple is very good, watch out for the guys sitting around inside, they'll take you aside to show you odd inscriptions for small change, on the whole if you have a guide of any kind, whether you paid or just met someone and tagged along, locals will leave you to it. If you're alone or with your partner, they move in. It's worth mentioning that although we had a great time, these guys will use every trick in the book and every emotion available, guilt, sadness and even anger to get you to part with some money..as soon as you do, they change and walk off. If you don't and you see them off, they'll pick up where they left off next time they see you, hold your nerve!
Do the balloon ride, visit the valley of the kings, see the markets, go with Craig and swim in the Nile. You will love it all once you relax! Oh and whatever they tell you, it's worth half..even if they smash it on the floor, half. If you pay full, I guarantee you'll see it two days later at market..and you'll want to throw it then!

Overall a great hotel made better if you're willing to venture out, something you can even do with the staff if you befriend them :D Have fun!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud A, Front Office Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it's very good .
The best thing about this hotel is that the service is amaaaazing all the staff is very polite and the Food is good. There are nice resturants and a nice bar ,

Its a wonderful hotel and you will Like it for sure and not forgetting that the hotel is cheap Comparing with otherhotels in the same level .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud A, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been visiting the Iberotel, Luxor since I was 13 years old and in the last 12 years I have probably been back about 7 or 8 times. I would never stay anywhere else in Luxor, this place is a complete home from home.

The swimming pool of this hotel is like nothing else I have ever experienced, it's a floating platform on the river nile, so as you lay sunbathing you are right on the nile. It's great to lay there and watch the world go by.

I've always stayed in a nile facing room, this is fabulous because every night you can watch the sun disappear behind the mountains. In the day you can see the temple of Hatshepsut nestled between the mountains. It's hard to spot it but it's incredible that you can see this from your balcony.

Iberotel is a great location within luxor, turn left and you are just a 15minute stroll from the Luxor temple. Wait outside your hotel for 1 minute and you will have a taxi driver jumping at you to take you anywhere you wish. The prices are very cheap, don't be afraid to negotiate. If you want your driver to take you there and back, they will wait for you.

Really cannot express how much I love this hotel.

Room Tip: Always book a Nile facing room, best views from floor 4 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud A, General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Luxor to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards” Tripadvisor certificate of excellence, zoover award & recommendation, travel gold award, ISO 14001, prize from holiday test “seal of quality” by Resien.de and Regional winner check safety first award for maintain the highest level of health & safety standard in the region”. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvement in 2013.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and your feedback.

Mohamed Hassan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.