We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fayrouz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Fayrouz to your Saves list
El Fayrouz
Gezira el Bairat, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent garden Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We didnt stay at the hotel but the garden restaurant was recommended to us and we went several times. Its located about 5 minutes from the ferry and is not easy to find but its signposted down a side street on the left hand side of the main tourist road. It is definitely worth making the effort to find it though.
The food is cheap but there is a varied menu and it is always well cooked. The beer is also cheap (about £1 a bottle). The atmosphere is relaxed and you never feel rushed to eat.
One thought we did have about the hotel was that it seemed to be very close to a minarette and would probably have bothered us, but we're light sleepers.
It is located in the middle of what seemed to be a poor area but dont let that put you off. But the restaurant was great and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the hotel El Fayrouz during our trip in Egypt and we were very happy with our choice. Probably we'll stay there again, the next time we go to Luxor's West bank.

It is a nice hotel with nicely decorated, spacious and (most important!) clean bedrooms, at a very moderate price. I don't think you can't find cheaper in this category. The location is also great since once you step down the ferry you don't need to take a taxi to reach it. It is not a luxury hotel: if you need a TV or WiFi or a fridge or a minibar in the bedroom, then it is not for you (go rather to Luxor's East bank). There is no lift. If you need a hairdryer, bring your own. There is no shower curtain in the bathroom thus indeed it's difficult not to spill water all over the place: bring slippers. The towels are all of different colours, but they are clean and that's what matters to us. There is internet access and WiFi in the lobby if you can't live without them. It's not free but the price is negligible.

We almost always ate at the hotel's restaurant and it's another very positive point of this hotel: very good (if you like Mediterranean/Egyptian cuisine, like we do) and cheap. The breakfast was a good surprise too as we had read somewhere that some hotels would offer only bread and jam - here we also had omelets, pancakes, etc.

The staff and the hotel manager were always extremely friendly and helpful. They even took the trouble to replace the two single beds in our room by one large bed ! We also hired the hotel's taxi for several days because the service and the price were very good (compared to the deals that friends of ours managed to negotiate with other taxis at the harbor).

There is a mosque nearby thus indeed some people might not like the noise but for us that was not an issue (except when the muezzin was singing out of tune ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beber x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We absolutely recommend the El Fayrouz hotel to those who like to have a pure, basic but very friendly hotel on the west bank of Luxor Nile area. We enjoyed staying at the hotel for a week. Employees are informal but know exactly your characteristics, they know your room number and registrate informally but exactly your food and beverage. Rooms are good especially taking into consideration the low prices. The Garden behind the hotel reflects the great atmosphere, open fire places contribute to and the varied menu options complete the facts and figures of this nice hotel. Employees are not asking for, but deserve your (tip) appreciation!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good (with our friends we had four different rooms) but a room with balcony at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unlimited07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really great service, nice nice people who work there for sure - sweet, can't do enough. Food in the beautiful backyard (really - you could chill there all night or morning) is good if a bit pricey. pretty towers and sunny rooftops with lovely views. Rooms: we crashed pretty hard from jet lag, so I can't tell you all the details, but they must have been pretty good if we crashed that hard. Perhaps not 100% clean, but I don't care.
It's on the other side of the river from Luxor proper, which I really liked, because it's more of a village (and I thought Luxor itself was a dump), but you do have to take a boat (fun!) and deal with the worst touts in the world on both sides (think: spitting at you). It is down a little alley which might be intimidating at night on first glance, but is actually populated with very nice families.
I recommend it for sure. The people who run it want you to have a great experience there - I think it's easier to get fleeced in luxor than anywhere else in Egypt, and you will feel very comfy here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shwade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I loved the garden restaurant here. The food is excellent. If you stay on the West Bank of Luxor, this is the place to eat as the other restaurants/hotels do not serve food this good. The place is hard to find though. It is next to the Shehrezade Hotel and this hotel has a road sign at the alley way where it is located but Fayrouz is not sign posted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasminka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The owner greeted me so kindly, the garden restaurant lives up to its reputaion, the room was nice, clean & welcoming.

I enjoyed having chats with Sayed in the evenings, the staff all spoke highly of the owners and you could tell that they took great pride in their jobs and where they work and it shows.

Overall I think this was the best place I stayed at in Egypt, the West Bank is the way to go ,

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanotto04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here after a recommendation from a friend and was so glad I did.
The price is cheap beyond belief and the rooms are clean and very well maintained. Air conditioner and fan in the room got me through the heat of June. There is no TV but it was not needed and I am so glad it wasnt there. Spent the evenings in the beautiful garden restaurant reading and watching the cats fight.
The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is down a dodgy looking laneway but it is very safe and the locals are friendly. Just watch out for all the men begging you to take a felucca or taxi as you walk to the ferry. The ferry to the East Bank is very easy to use. Only 1LE and just pay this with confidence that you know how much it costs and you wont have any problems. The hotel can arrange cars for day trips to all the local sites for a very good cost and the drivers are very friendly. They also arranged a hotel pickup which was reasonably priced as well. The hotel is on the West Bank which is much quiter and nicer than the East but you do have less restaurants and facilities however the ferry runs 24 hours (so I was told) so no problems to go over for the evening.
Only disappointment with this hotel was that I was not feeling well before I arrived so I was not able to eat more of the amzaing food in the garden restaurant. Had some for the last two days before I left and it was so good. Breakfast was huge and more than I could eat but they could improve the coffee by getting rid of the Nescafe sachets.
I will definitely be back to this gem and will recommend it to anyone who is going to Luxor and anyone else who will listen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micewillplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#8 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#6 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#4 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.5 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#24 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fayrouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fayrouz

Address: Gezira el Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Fayrouz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fayrouz Luxor
El Fayrouz Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing