We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately ruined by lack of tourism” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Souks (Market)

Souks (Market)
Luxor Center, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Shopping in Luxor
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unfortunately ruined by lack of tourism”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Souk is great, but sadly i recommend waiting til Aswan souk or the Khan el-Khalili (bazaar district) in Cairo. Shopping is more expensive, and hassling is a major problem here. You can't simply walk away without the shop owners following and pestering you. Unfortunately Luxor was our first stop in Egypt and we weren't prepared for the people - still - leave your shopping for Aswan and Cairo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lots to choose from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

there is so much to choose from trinkets to clothes to bedding its endless the hassle is awful so just take deep breath and carry on breathing lol

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I loved visiting souks.I visited almost every evening as we were only 10 minutes walk from souks.
Lots of hassle but I personally enjoyed it and you can grab some good bargains but only of you have idea about prices.A good variety of souvenirs and cheap gifts if you are looking for some friends, family etc.I loved the silver products there.
The prices are usually more than half the price so say half of the price for whatever the shopkeeper says and then bring it down from there.
Be firm and have a price in mind & then stick to it.
You will find a very delicious mango Juicr shop in there too. Spices are at very reasonable prices as compared to here in the UK.
I would say enjoy the experience although my husband was not very keen on being hassled so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Pretty Much the Same...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you visited the Khan al-Khalili, then you should have no issues navigating this souk. There are the exact same types of shops selling the exact same items, although I've heard they are cheaper in Luxor. I visited in March 2012, so the tourist numbers were not as high, which meant I could get a good deal, but there was also a lot of hassle

Don't be put off by the hassle, just ignore the shop keepers and keep walking. I would recommend not touching anything. If you do, they think you want to buy it and then the hassle begins. It is a fun experience, depending on your mind set and how you approach the souk. Don't let any of these fools ruin your holiday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunston, Gateshead
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dont be put off. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The souk is an experiance not to be missed. Everything you want from holiday gifts to all your spices can be got from here. Yes a lot of the wares on offer are tourist tat there are however loads of great bargains to be had. I get all my spices from here for a fraction the cost in the UK.
As the title says dont be put off by the hassle. The people are very friendly and will haggle with you down to the last piastre. Dont be scared to do this as it is part of the culture and expected.

At the end of the souk you come to a crossroads. Left takes you down to the Nile, right into Luxor and stright on into the local market. This is a real eyeopener and great to see. If you are brave enough and dont mind the hustle and bustle continue on. I loved it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souks (Market) also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Souks (Market)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souks (Market), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.