We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday I ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
Gesirat El Bairat West Bank Luxor | West Bank Luxor, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spent 10 days in this hotel in Luxor recently and the whole experience was one of friendliness, hospitality and fun. From the views of the Nile, from the rooftop bar/diningroom and the bedroom window, to the novelty folded towels each morning, everything combined to make me want to go back as soon as possible. In fact I've started saving! This holiday is not for those who want sun, sea and sand, but to experience the real Egypt, go to Luxor and if you do, go to the Nile Valley hotel.

Room Tip: The new rooms are more spacious and overlook the pool, but the older rooms look out onto the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    69
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
46
69
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have just spent ten days at the Nile Valley Hotel on the West Bank in Luxor. This is a family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. There is nothing more pleasant than sitting with a cool glass of wine in the rooftop restaurant, watching the constant activity on the Nile. My friends and I felt welcome and comfortable amongst an excellent team of staff and their creative talents with towels have to be seen to be believed. Their creations made us laugh every day. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter but do not have a view of the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had a great week at Nile Valley hotel.
The hotel is clean and quiet (luxor west bank is a lot more quietter than east bank). It has a nice swimming pool that we used every day.
The restaurant on top of the hotel have a nice view on the Nile.
The staff and the boss are really friendly and helpful.
If I go back to Luxor, I will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having stayed at most hotels on each side of the Nile over a 20 year period, I had always overlooked the Nile Valley Hotel, much to my regret now!
What a fantastic place, very clean, great rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant for breakfast and meals overlooking the Nile.
Has a nice swimming pool area, secluded and great sunbathing area, my only negative would be the very cold water temperature, but nevertheless great for cooling down.
I did try eating at other places but could not find anything better than the rooftop for quality, price and of course the view.
I had a view of the street/ferry and was fantastic for watching normal Egyptian life go by each day, including the odd camels passing each morning.
Other rooms face the pool area and looked very nice and have the sun all day.
Only a minute walk to the local ferry where you can easily cross to the east bank for 10p, another nice way to see Egyptian life and the ferry runs constantly day and night.
One great thing about the hotel is that they have a system of a communal tip at the end of your stay, so no need to tip individual services, just wait until the end of your holiday, makes things easier that way.
I would have no hesitation about staying here again and have already recommended to friends and family.
Should anyone want details of private tours etc, just PM me.
Can't wait to go back.
Thank you Nile Valley.

Room Tip: Street room for viewing everyday life, but don't have sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having stayed there for one month, my husband and myself cannot praise this hotel enough. We were in one of the new rooms in the new block,it was large ,spacious ,very clean, and had the most spectacular view from our balcony.We ate most days on the rooftop restaurant and found the food execelent and good value. If we required anything at all the owner Hamada or his wife Karin was there to help or organise for us. The staff are all helpful and polite.they also have a superb swimming pool Witch is kept spotless. So anyone wanting to stay on the West Bank (where most of the temples etc are) look no further than the Nile Valley hotel, for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Nile Valley Hotel is, without a shadow of a doubt, the best hotel in Luxor.
I have been travelling twice a year to Luxor now for 8 years. After two years of sight seeing on the West bank and having stayed in the other so called 4* hotels on the tourist east bank side we took the decision to try a hotel on the west side living with the true Egyptions. It is, without doubt, the best decision we made. We have stayed countless times in the Nile Valley Hotel where Hamada and Karen do their upmost to ensure your every need is catered for.
The staff, the food, the rooms the views, the atmosphere and THE PRICE!!! its all excellent. Anyone who finds something to moan about would be being picky in my opinion.
Yes you dont always have a shower mat in your bathroom and you may just have to walk over donkey poop in the streets without a sign to warn you of this but my goodness, this is Egypt at its best, in the best location with the most wonderful people.....not convinced? then go try it and you'll soon be writing a 5* review
Enjoy

Room Tip: If you want to see what goes on during the day or night get a street room. If you want peace and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great time here. Very good service and information, a clean, confortable room, we had a big room in the new part of the hotel. Great location, very kids friendly. The only minor point was that the pool was unheated, but even then... the fresh dive was great! In addition: the restarant of very good as well. No reason not to go here...

Room Tip: Bigger rooms in the new part. Great to do a cycling trip in the afternoon, even a bike woth kids cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#7 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#6 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant

Address: Gesirat El Bairat West Bank Luxor | West Bank Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family hotel centrally located 2 minutes from the local ferry on the west bank,at the street that leads to the attractions such as the colossi of Memnon and the Kings Valley. The hotel has 26 rooms all equipped with bathroom, AC, TV and telephone.Swimming pool with sun beds. Roof terrace restaurant with views of the Nile and Temple serving local and International dishes, beer and wine.Free wifi for hotel guests, pick-up service, travel desk, washing and ironing service, internet cafe, lift, 24 hrs. front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nile Valley Hotel
Hotel Nile Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.