We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut)

Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut)
Valley of the Kings, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$278*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Luxor Tour from Hurghada
Ranked #18 of 47 Attractions in Luxor
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tomb of King Tut was discovered in the Valley of the Kings in 1922 by Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Small but Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited King Tut's tomb today. Very small but really beautiful paintings and a lovely gold wooden coffin in a stone sarcophagus. To see his mummy was moving. It will be a thing for the kids to tell their friends back home, given his fame. We had the place to ourselves. The paintings have stuck in my mind more than the other tombs we saw in Valley of the Kings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    56
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
462 reviews 462 reviews
228 attraction reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A must see whilst its still open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On our visit our guide talked us out visit it due to it being small and £10 each but wished i had visted it

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One off the bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This tomb has to be paid for separately and is £10 English. Although I knew it wasnot going to be as huge or highly decorated as the ones I had seen earlier in the day, it is a must do when you are in Valley of the Kings. The tomb is very small, but it is the only one that is still the resting place of its owner whose mummy lies in a glass box. I found it very moving

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was amazed at how small the tomb was in comparision to other tombs we had seen. Also surprised at how small the Mummy was. Unbelievable to say we had seen Tutankhamun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magestical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

To see the actual Tomb of King Tutankhamun was one of the great highlights of the holiday. There are just so many wonderful memories.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut) also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of King Tutankhamun (Tut), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.