We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family & Friends visit to the West Bank, Luxor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Merenptah

Tomb of Merenptah
Valley of the Kings | West Bank, Thebes, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 78 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tomb of the 19th-Dynasty pharaoh Merenptah, son of Ramses II, features beautiful reliefs of Isis and Nephthys and a steeply-inclined corridor leading to the burial chamber where the sarcophagus still rests.
Luxor, Egypt
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Family & Friends visit to the West Bank, Luxor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a tomb not to be missed, very impressed by everything, the size, artwork and depth of the tomb. it,s amazing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangi, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BIG tomb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

you can see the ancient sculptures and paintings allover the tombs, it's great we've been there. one of the best in valley of the kings

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“definitely go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

brilliant experience . i only heard of it when my guide told me about it but so glad went. Highlight of the west bank. Think i preferred it to karnack

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tomb of Merenpath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were advised to visit this tomb and the Tombs of Ramses 4 and Ramses 9. All 3 tombs were well worth visiting. Be warned there is no photography allowed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One of the best tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The death chamber in Merenptah's tomb is huge and incredible. If this one is open make sure you visit it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Merenptah also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Tomb of Merenptah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Merenptah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.