We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only one extra that we paid for here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Ramses VI

Tomb of Ramses VI
Valley of the Kings | West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 79 things to do in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The key feature of this tomb, which was originally built for Ramses V and expanded by Ramses VI during the 20th Dynasty, is its vaulted astronomical ceiling with a double image of the Goddess Nut swallowing the sun.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
582 reviews 582 reviews
262 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“The only one extra that we paid for here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We skipped the tomb of king Tut (extra £100 pp) at the advice of most, but decided to pay extra for Ramses VI (extra £50 pp). Really not very different from the other 3 that we saw (#8-11-14) with similar motifs and carvings. Perhaps a little bit grander and better preserved, or it could be the psychological impact of having paid extra that makes me say that.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    25
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best tomb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There are 3 tombs included in the entrance ticket, King Tutankhamun and Ramses 6 are not included and you need to pay extra to visit. We were told that Tutankhamun was not worth the extra, but Ramses 6 was. The colours are still bright after the thousands of years, there is a man inside who will point his torch and explain things if you do not have a guide 10 LE will keep him happy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth the extra money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Tomb of Ramses VI is one of 2 tombs in the Valley of the Kings that is an extra on top of the main ticket. It is an absolutely incredible tomb. The paintings are well preserved, the colours vibrant. Most visitors pay to go into King Tut's tomb rather than this one, however, Ramses VI is by far the better of the two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tomb of Rameses VI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well lit, beautifully preserved wall decorations.. We were lucky in that there were very few tourists so we could have it almost to ourselves.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Paid 50 Egyptian pound extra to see in side, but it was worth every penny. The hieroglyphics and vivid colours on the walls and ceiling are breath taking, they truly are.... Enjoy :-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Ramses VI also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Tomb of Ramses VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Ramses VI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.