We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Philippe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Philippe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Philippe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Hamburg
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

As my partner and I were looking for a hotel in Luxor, we came across this really nice hotel website, the pictures were so well taken that we thought, right thats the one but we were SO WRONG! It's the worst hotel we've ever stayed in! When we got to the hotel everything was 10 times smaller, it was dark and has a rotten egg smell.

Location:
We have to give them a thumbs up for the location, its close to most of the major sites on the East Bank (within walking distance). However, there are many other hotels in the same location.

Room:
The room we had was small and smelly, bed sheets were dirty, balcony door cannot be closed properly. The toilet seat was broken, shower water cannot be controlled to a constant temp.. Fridge was broken, TV and lamp wires were frayed.

Reception:
The reception agreed to help us with a reservation on the overnight train to Cairo so they told us everything is fine & reserved. However, when we got to the train station there was no reservations at all and that screwed us over, as all the trains were fully booked for the next couple of days. Also whenever we asked the reception for help, they wanted to charge us more!

Breakfast:
One word - CRAP! It consists of one boiled egg that was not fresh, one small mini jam, butter and cheap spread cheese. OH forgot, they also provide cheap stale bread.

Other Services:
Internet - extra charge!

I would actually rate this hotel as extremely terrible if I could! I would never come back to this hotel ever, not even if you pay me!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    6
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Where to start?
Checked in at The Philippe with Tour Group. Gf and I were given a twin room which was "changed" into a double. Due to length of phone lead the telephone HAD to remain on the bed (we needed early morning wake-up call). Table in the room had to be moved so that one of us could leave the bed...but that meant the table covered half of the doorway to the bathroom.
We managed to get a room change.
Second room was even worse. Again, small, but, after putting on AC, we managed to get three separate streams of water dripping onto the floor from the ceiling. Took over 45 minutes for a third room to be found...which ended up being the first one again. It was then midnight so we gave up and stayed in it...after re-arranging most of the furniture.
Into bed, and, sheets aren't big enough. It appears that the hotel has no double sheets at all...they simply use single sheets across the bed...and across the body only...your feet dangle out the bottom right underneath the fur-type over-blanket.

Service in this restaurant is absolutely terrible. Other members of the group had to ask for toilet paper four times before it arrived.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We checked one piece of luggage in their secure storage room – when we came back it was gone. We filed a tourist police report for our insurance and the hotel manager lied to police trying to cover-up the hotel’s error. It turned out the bag was taken by some tour group and ended up in another part of the country. We had to pay to get it shipped back to us in Cairo. The hotel would not take any responsibility and we had to pay to get our bag back. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

All I have to say is that from start to end it was a nightmare.

We arrived with our booking voucher, only for the receptionist to claim that he doesn't know anything about our booking through quick rooms. We payed for the night assuming it would be cleared by the next day, where we spent an entire day on the phone trying to sort it out. Still no resolution or contact between the two, Philippe hotel say that we must pay or leave. Our credit card did not work abroad so we had no way to pay for it other than using our spending money- therefore we were stranded in a country with a completely different culture to our own.Thanks to an amazing Thomson tour rep,Gabriel, he convinced Philippe to let us stay till the end of the week and to then pay after,if it was not sorted. However, we decided to pay them there and then with our spending money. Next day, they show us a booking slip they had, with both our names on it through a local company "Wings Tours", and claimed that they couldn't work out the liam kevin hall and cassandra rowan melaniphy on that was infact us!! No other cassandra rowan hall booked in that night i am sure! After all the stress, tears and despair they caused us they then said they would refund our money, altough we had been staying in a superior room so we had to pay extra for that-icing on the cake!!

Whilst we stayed at hotel, there was a powecut purely on our floor, a smoke alarm went off twice I believe, our bathroom shower or toilet constantly leaked leaving floor wet, and our "superior" room over looked an attractive shaft and was dark all day round! A tray with food and dirty plates was left in the corridor for an entire day! The restaurant was always empty when we dined, although the food was very nice. It did consist always of soup, main meal either pork or chicken and melon for desert. Breakfast was not desirable!!

The good aspect of the hotel was that it is in a good location for going to the museums and to the temples, and is along the corniche. However the road it is placed on is next to the calleche drop off point so stinks of horse manure and wee is on the road, so watch out! Beware of the shop owners on the street and never fob them off by saying you will look another day because they do not forget! Swimming pool is nice in the late afternoon but so it would be in any hotel in which you stay I am sure. Really lovely, hardworking

We adopted the hotel mercure around the corner, which had huge pool, lovely restaurant and is also placed along the corniche near the attractions but away from the stinky horses.

So in a nut shell my advice is stay well clear! This really was a horrific experience and can't explain the stress and upset caused. It isn't worth the risk of this happening to you, as you can find much nicer hotels, such as the mercure, for not much more of a cost if you search the right websites!

By the way, Luxor is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Philippe hotel, Luxor, Egypt - marvellous hotel though small in comparison to most.
May 2008
The Phillipe wad a marvellous hotel, the staff very friendly and generous. The food was far better than expexted and the range of dishes varied tremendously. The costs for the evening meals was never in excess of £10 which covered 2 starters, 2 main courses and fruit and drinks. The staff would place your table wherever you wanted it outside next to the rooftop swimming pool and were very attentive. The same must be said about the room service which was always delivered within 10/20 mins equally tasty and very apettising!!
The reception staff were very good and had a very good grasp of the English language and went out of their way to assist.
We upgraded rooms to a balconied one which overlooked the main street at the front of the hotel - it was smaller than the original room but of superior quality and had been completely refurbished withremote control air conditioning. There was no bath but the shower was large and we had hot water any time of the day!!
If anyone is looking for a very cost effective package to Luxor i can fully recommend this hotel for its closeness to all the major sites including the temples and museum, there is a side Nile view from the balconies of the superior rooms. The hotel is very clean, the staff very helpful and the food better than any ive stayed in previously in Luxor!!
I must also mention Jolleys a travel shop in front of the Winter Palace who arranged a 5 day cruise for us from Luxor to Aswan, including all excursions, 5star full board for less than £150 per person. The trip was fabulous, the guide phenomenal and the whole experience beyond our wildest dreams. We recommend this to anyone going to Luxor. We will be having a 7 night cruise next time we go, hopefully in November.
To sum up if you are looking for a hotel that is very inexpensive, clean and rated by ourselves far in excess of its apportioned 3 stars we can recommend the Phillippe!!! We will be staying again in November.
Frank & Dot May 2008

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and location in the centre of Luxor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

As you walk through the foyer area to get to the lifts, you cannot help but be impressed by the display of Egyptian wares. From colorful papyrus pictures, to statues and mosaic art.

The hotel is in a great location, within close walking distance to the Nile or the local markets. Everything that you need is within close walking distance including the Luxor museum.

The bathroom actually had a bath and was quite large compared to some. The rooms (although dated bedspreads) were comfortable, neat and clean.

The food at the restaurant was good as was the art work, paintings and mosaics.

  • Liked — Location - within walking distance to everything you needed
  • Disliked — The dreadful call to prayer at a nearby mosque at 4.45am each morning
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Philippe in Luxor. What can we say?
Excellent value for a budget hotel; it had the service of a more upmarket hotel. Situated in the heart of Luxor, away from the regular tourist hotel area (Downtown) with the temples and museums within easy walking distance, although taxis and caleches had parking areas on the road outside, which led to some hassle from the drivers. This, to us, did not present a problem as hassling is a part of the environment of the town, thus expected.
We went half board, breakfast was continental style with the offer of omelettes, scrambled eggs. The continental style breakfast we found more than adequate. In fact, it sustained us through the day as we found no need to purchase lunch. The evening meals were very good with a varied menu.
Above all, the staff were excellent; friendly, helpful with a true willingness to make our stay enjoyable.
The pool on the roof, though small, was welcoming during the afternoon in the extreme heat and provided an excellent area to cool off and for relaxation, with bar service provided.
We stayed in one of the inner rooms which had no / little daylight but this didn't impact on us very much as we used it only to sleep, shower and change clothes. The air conditioning was very welcome although a little noisy.
We would certainly stay at the Philippe again when we revisit Luxor.

  • Liked — Location, service, cleanliness, food, value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philippe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippe Hotel

Address: Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippe Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Philippe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philippe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.