We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Philippe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Philippe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Philippe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was OK - I wouldn't stay again, although the staff seemed nice enough (even if I'm not convinced that pasta is a traditional Egyptian dish.....)
tired room decor with old furniture and carpet, and seemingly only twin bed rooms as my husband and I weren't offered a 'large bed' as we had been in other Egyptian hotels. Bathroom was clean,and the pool area was was reasonable and a good size.
The hotel is a bit jammed in amongst other buildings - so our bedroom windows looked out into another hotel, and the hallway windows looked into another building being renovated (and a large pile of old bathroom fittings). The hallways are very poorly lit, and the breakfast poor too (hard boiled eggs and bread in our 'breakfast bag'). But I understand from people joining our tour group in Luxor that compared to other hotels in the area it was in a good and quiet location. And if you're out and about sightseeing, and just sleeping there, clean and a reasonable bed is all you need after all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Sorry to say this hotel, which was probably excellent in its day is now in a sad decline. The lobby and hallways are poorly lit, even though there are light there, no doublt to save costs. The room was acceptably clean, but tired, with torn carpets and a view of a wall. Even though there were only a handful of us staying, breakfast was no where to be seen, even 20 min after the official start time. The table cloths were stained and the breakfast rudimentary. We wouldn't recommend it, even if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The staff at the Philippe hotel could not do enough for us. They were curtious and friendly,nothing was too much trouble.Of course it is not a five star hotel, and things do go wrong from time to time,particularly with the small family hotels,but this should not worry the season traveller. If you are the type that likes to be pampered in a luxury hotel,and pay rip-off prices for food and drink then the Philippe is not for you! My overall praise goes to the waiter George who made our stay most enjoyable,nothing was too much trouble, and he spoke excellent english.If you want a small friendly hotel without the frills,then you will enjoy the Philippe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

As my partner and I were looking for a hotel in Luxor, we came across this really nice hotel website, the pictures were so well taken that we thought, right thats the one but we were SO WRONG! It's the worst hotel we've ever stayed in! When we got to the hotel everything was 10 times smaller, it was dark and has a rotten egg smell.

Location:
We have to give them a thumbs up for the location, its close to most of the major sites on the East Bank (within walking distance). However, there are many other hotels in the same location.

Room:
The room we had was small and smelly, bed sheets were dirty, balcony door cannot be closed properly. The toilet seat was broken, shower water cannot be controlled to a constant temp.. Fridge was broken, TV and lamp wires were frayed.

Reception:
The reception agreed to help us with a reservation on the overnight train to Cairo so they told us everything is fine & reserved. However, when we got to the train station there was no reservations at all and that screwed us over, as all the trains were fully booked for the next couple of days. Also whenever we asked the reception for help, they wanted to charge us more!

Breakfast:
One word - CRAP! It consists of one boiled egg that was not fresh, one small mini jam, butter and cheap spread cheese. OH forgot, they also provide cheap stale bread.

Other Services:
Internet - extra charge!

I would actually rate this hotel as extremely terrible if I could! I would never come back to this hotel ever, not even if you pay me!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Where to start?
Checked in at The Philippe with Tour Group. Gf and I were given a twin room which was "changed" into a double. Due to length of phone lead the telephone HAD to remain on the bed (we needed early morning wake-up call). Table in the room had to be moved so that one of us could leave the bed...but that meant the table covered half of the doorway to the bathroom.
We managed to get a room change.
Second room was even worse. Again, small, but, after putting on AC, we managed to get three separate streams of water dripping onto the floor from the ceiling. Took over 45 minutes for a third room to be found...which ended up being the first one again. It was then midnight so we gave up and stayed in it...after re-arranging most of the furniture.
Into bed, and, sheets aren't big enough. It appears that the hotel has no double sheets at all...they simply use single sheets across the bed...and across the body only...your feet dangle out the bottom right underneath the fur-type over-blanket.

Service in this restaurant is absolutely terrible. Other members of the group had to ask for toilet paper four times before it arrived.

Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We checked one piece of luggage in their secure storage room – when we came back it was gone. We filed a tourist police report for our insurance and the hotel manager lied to police trying to cover-up the hotel’s error. It turned out the bag was taken by some tour group and ended up in another part of the country. We had to pay to get it shipped back to us in Cairo. The hotel would not take any responsibility and we had to pay to get our bag back. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

All I have to say is that from start to end it was a nightmare.

We arrived with our booking voucher, only for the receptionist to claim that he doesn't know anything about our booking through quick rooms. We payed for the night assuming it would be cleared by the next day, where we spent an entire day on the phone trying to sort it out. Still no resolution or contact between the two, Philippe hotel say that we must pay or leave. Our credit card did not work abroad so we had no way to pay for it other than using our spending money- therefore we were stranded in a country with a completely different culture to our own.Thanks to an amazing Thomson tour rep,Gabriel, he convinced Philippe to let us stay till the end of the week and to then pay after,if it was not sorted. However, we decided to pay them there and then with our spending money. Next day, they show us a booking slip they had, with both our names on it through a local company "Wings Tours", and claimed that they couldn't work out the liam kevin hall and cassandra rowan melaniphy on that was infact us!! No other cassandra rowan hall booked in that night i am sure! After all the stress, tears and despair they caused us they then said they would refund our money, altough we had been staying in a superior room so we had to pay extra for that-icing on the cake!!

Whilst we stayed at hotel, there was a powecut purely on our floor, a smoke alarm went off twice I believe, our bathroom shower or toilet constantly leaked leaving floor wet, and our "superior" room over looked an attractive shaft and was dark all day round! A tray with food and dirty plates was left in the corridor for an entire day! The restaurant was always empty when we dined, although the food was very nice. It did consist always of soup, main meal either pork or chicken and melon for desert. Breakfast was not desirable!!

The good aspect of the hotel was that it is in a good location for going to the museums and to the temples, and is along the corniche. However the road it is placed on is next to the calleche drop off point so stinks of horse manure and wee is on the road, so watch out! Beware of the shop owners on the street and never fob them off by saying you will look another day because they do not forget! Swimming pool is nice in the late afternoon but so it would be in any hotel in which you stay I am sure. Really lovely, hardworking

We adopted the hotel mercure around the corner, which had huge pool, lovely restaurant and is also placed along the corniche near the attractions but away from the stinky horses.

So in a nut shell my advice is stay well clear! This really was a horrific experience and can't explain the stress and upset caused. It isn't worth the risk of this happening to you, as you can find much nicer hotels, such as the mercure, for not much more of a cost if you search the right websites!

By the way, Luxor is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philippe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippe Hotel

Address: Dr Labib Habashy Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippe Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Philippe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philippe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.