We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valley of the Kings

Valley of the Kings
Luxor City, Luxor, Egypt
Improve this listing
Visit Valley of the Kings like an insider
Private Tour
$64*
and up
Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the...
Ranked #3 of 78 things to do in Luxor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This desert valley contains the ancient burial ground of many Egyptian pharaohs. Among over 60 royal tombs is the famous Tomb of Tutankhamen that was found in pristine condition.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice tombs but I expected more. It sucks that they do not let you bring you camera to the site. I understand banning photography inside the tombs but in the valley I think is an exaggeration.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,469
    449
    109
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one not to miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

go prepared with water and sunhats! An experience of a lifetime especially with an enthusiastic and well informed guide.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

You are just open mouthed at everything it's brilliant, take guide its essential, he will get you through the tour with all the info you need.
Don't accept torches or cardboard from the men at the gates they are just after money and you don't need them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“history at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

a must see, it takes your breath away.ask at the kiosk which ar the best tombs that are open this saves time. no photos can be taken now,ashame but just pay for 3 tombs and enjoy,king tuts 100 egyptian extra

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleased we went.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were in two minds whether to go or not after visiting the wonderful Valley of the Artisans, after talking to our guide we decided to go, we're glad we did. We saw 4 tombs, Ramesses IV, V, VI & IX, all were amazing in their own way and it was a good selection showing different quality and stages of finish.
On our visit, Sept, we had each tomb to ourselves with maybe another couple entering as we were leaving. The only downside to this was the caretaker of the tomb would tag along usually only pointing out something which was obvious anyway, we would give them a small tip and ask them nicely to leave us alone. We bought a great book, for very little, from one of the vendors outside as we arrived, picturing many of the tombs which was great as no cameras are allowed anywhere on the site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of the Kings also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Valley of the Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley of the Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.