We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor to your Saves list
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled ibn El Walid St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Juba, South Sudan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Empty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A huge hotel unfortunately empty of guests. The rooms are comfortable and the pools great places to while away the time between visiting the various sites. The staff were kind and considerate. Given the few guests the various restaurants were all located in the same room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    235
    94
    76
    56
See reviews for
177
241
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms in bad condition from all aspects. Also very dirty ( I was moved to another room after my request, because the first room was full of cockroaches in the bathroom ). I was then moved to a "good" room, with view to the river, but all the equipment was in bad condition (Beds, bathroom, etc).
Better not eat in the restaurant of the hotel I tried to eat fish and had diarrhea problems...
Poor breakfast. Bad manners by the staff.

Unfortunately, I checked only only before travelling to Luxor, so I had no idea about what I would see there. There are other hotels nearby though that are much better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I travelled with my daughter who is 21 on speck to Luxor and fell in to the Hotel at 6 am after travelling all night we were exhausted .They offered us a discount and could not have been more helpful.The pool food is wonderful and the view exceptional I really reccommend it ....I left my handbag in reception,money passports !!! ...doopey me and it was dutifully handed back in tact
The people need the business and it is great value .

Room Tip: Nile View and towel sculptures every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

went there december 2012 for a family holiday

Good points;
Great staff
great tasting food large selection
free gym
clean pools
Really Really nice reception area

Bad points;
some gym equipment a little run down
only 2 CDs where played throughout the whole week
place seamed a little run down

overall thoughts; would defintily go again to this excellent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel itself is dated and in serious need of an overhaul. But, with tourism down in Egypt, that is not likely to happen any time soon. The rooms were small, but the view was magnificent. The beds in our room were very hard and we woke with stiff backs each morning. The technology in the room is extremely dated, but, since we were rarely in the room, it did not make much of a difference. There are NO safes in the rooms which was very surprising to us. The food was average and the breakfasts were the same every morning. After a week it became very monotonous to head down for breakfast. If you stay here, I recommend not having the all inclusive experience because the food is just okay and there are many great restaurants nearby (see PuddleDuck and Jewel of the Nile). There are two pools, one is heated and one is not, which is great because the warmer pool was nice in the morning and the cooler pool was great after a day of exploring in the desert.

But, where the accommodation is average, the service is great. We were very quickly checked in, and when we requested a cot for the room, it was brought to us in less than 5 minutes. The rooms were always immaculately clean. The housekeeping staff was always very pleasant and greeted us every morning. The women in charge of guest relations was very quick to make amends when the pool restaurant staff completely botched up our order, yet insisted that it was our mistake (something that a waiter should never do) and became confrontational when we refused to sign the bill to charge the food to our room. We signed it, but, immediately went to the guest services woman and she immediately removed the charge, reprimanded the waiter (he was retrieved to apologize to us) and gave us replacement food. If that was not enough, she had a fruit basket delivered to our room with beverages later in the day. That was above and beyond our expectations as we only wanted the charge to be removed.

We would stay at this hotel again because the outdoor facilities are very good, and, while it is a bit farther from some of the big sites on the east bank, there is no shortage of taxis and/or horse carriages outside the hotel waiting to take you where you need to go.

If you stay here and want to take a horse carriage, ask for Aly. His station is outside the hotel and he is fantastic. Negotiate a price with him beforehand and pay when you arrive at your destination. He will wait for you and take you back for the same price (re-negotiate before you get back on).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Nile and on the second floor. The second floor has huge balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrary, KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed (wife and I) our 2-night stay at the Pyramisa prior to embarking on a 7-day Nile cruise to the Aswan dam and back. Upon our return we again stayed at the same hotel.
There is free wi-fi in the lobby, which is important to me as the rates in the room (and on the cruise boat) were pretty expensive (56 LS, or about $9, per hour).
We ate the buffet breakfast, which is quite adequate, but opted to eat at the Italian restaurant for dinner. The Italian restaurant is simply cordoned off from the buffet area by screens, but with a menu,. The food was excellent. I get the impression that the building housing the original Italian restaurant is closed because there are very few tourists due to much adverse publicity about Egypt in the news.
In example, we were told that of the 400 cruise boats normally working the Nile, only 35 to 40
are presently in service.
We found no reason that we should not have visited Egypt. There is absolutely no trouble here in Luxor, but it is a good time to visit because the Nile is not crowded, nor are the hotels.

We were lucky to have Dr. Waleed, and Egyptologist, as our guide during the 7-day cruise, as he is much more versed in the history of the ancient tombs and monuments than than is the average tour guide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Twice a year I visit this hotel and the city of Luxor with pleasure, for about 25 years. Once again I'd like to point out that life in Luxor goes on as usual, and is not to compare with Tahrir Square in Cairo. So do not hesitate to visit and book for Upper Egypt, where all is at ease, be sure.
As a result all hotels in Luxor have a low room occupancy. Despite that the Pyramisa Isis hotel in Luxor is clean and in order on every spot. I 've noticed that the dinner buffet is of very good quality, despite the small number of guests. As usual there was a warm and sincerely welcome for me, by all waiting staff members. Wish for them and the hotel more guests and more work!
My next booking for this hotel: november 2013, with all pleasure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street/city side are more noisy, because of the traffic and the mosque prayer calls nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor

Address: Khaled ibn El Walid St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest 5 star hotel directly on the Nile in the heart of Luxor. Most of the large 350 rooms and 100 family suites enjoy panoramic views of the Nile, gardens and 2 large swimming pools. In addition to a heated swimming-pool, resort facilities include Italian, Chinese and oriental restaurants, bar, lounge, children playground and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Isis Hotel And Suites
Pyramisa Isis Luxor
Isis Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.