We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saint joseph hotel - a good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saint Joseph Hotel to your Saves list
Saint Joseph Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“saint joseph hotel - a good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A good price for what you get, the hotel is clean and pool service is excellent, the only down side was the breakfast which I did not think was of the a good standard, although the roof top food is excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice and will always use when I go back to luxor. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Due to it being a small hotel you don't get locals having access because they are stopped at the reception. There is a small pool on the roof top which is adequate and nice being only available to guests. There is a small restaurant bar also on the roof for poolside stacks and drinks. I only go bed and breakfast but full board is available. The breakfast is a buffet style and the chef makes excellent omletes. It is not in the busy area so you have to walk 5-10min to luxor centre, but there are horse carriages along the outside that are very reasonable. If you want a pleasant, basic and reasonable priced holiday Saint Joseph hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Nile view are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

just got back from luxor for my third time normally i stay at the el luxor hotel a wonderful hotel so i have been very spoilt this year it was a last minute thing booked 2 weeks before i went as the saint joseph was in a place i knew and was very well situated for getting and also very cheap i opted for it well you got what you paid for it was kept clean everyday the food was basic but ok the roof top bar restaurant served great food the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel was in a perfect place for getting around by foot so there is money saved there so if you want to go to egypt and your on a budget its the perfect place on the down side the hotel is a bit tired and shabby but as i said clean the pool area i would say is the biggest let down up on the roof not very big and not much room for sun bed only about 10 also the men with there horse and carriages park outside and the hotel allow the men to sit on the hotel steps so you do get bullied each time you leave the hotel

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quieter but you lose the view of the nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas_tindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have be to Luxor around 25 times and allways stayed at the st Joseph hotel
The staff are allways polite and will help in anyway they can ! reception staff are a bit up themselves ! but dont let that influence you into thinking rest of staff are the same,
The food is good in the restuaraunt, And on the roof they will make you anything you want, had to show them what beans on toast was lol but they did it for me,
was ill one day and the staff could not be more helpfull even the cleaner made me a drink of lemon tea see if that helped, the roof staff gave me some toast as i couldnt eat anything,
The rooms are cleaned everyday and the cleaners never ask you to leave the room they will wait till you go out to get it done, On the roof you have Motto the manager great bloke and the bar staff / waiters Coco, Anger, George all great lads, the roof bar will stay open as long as your spending money ! not just sitting with glass of water, Don't forget even tho your on holiday ! they still have homes to go to ! travel agent once wanted us go stay at the Sonesta st, George 5* we said no cant be doing with 10 bob millionairs an snobs who think they are above you ? so if you want cheap hol nice hotel an staff ? stay at St Joseph's

Room Tip: ticked fitness and spa terrible ! cos not got one ! hahaha
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Granville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The St Joseph Hotel Luxor have a lovely location across the street from the Nile which allows you to enjoy your stay in Luxor as pleasant and comfortable as possible . The Hotel is magnificant and enables you to watch the sunset and enjoy quiet evenings . The choice was perfect and helps you to visit Luxor with great pleasure .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mihaela1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just stayed for a week at the St Joseph Luxor. I was a bit trepidatious having always stayed at the Steigenberger Nile Palace but really needn't have been.
On arrival the staff were very welcoming and although the hotel does have seem a bit dated and the decor a bit worn around the edges, it was very clean and the room perfectly adequate for our needs. After settling in we realised what a bargain we had. The rooftop bar and restaurant is great any time of day - for sunbathing or watcching the sun go down over the west bank.
Good location for restaurants and all in all a great place for a break.
We would definitely go back for a winter break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The St Joseph is a small, unassuming hotel across the street from the Nile. The decor is a little dated and the layout reminds me of the hotel my grandparents used to own in Cliftonville in the 1970s - perhaps that's why it felt so comfortable! The staff are friendly without being over the top and nothing is too much trouble. We had a triple room which was spacious, the beds were comfortable and our small balcony looked directly across the road to the Nile - fantastic sunsets! This isn't the sort of hotel to spend all day lounging around in as facilities are limited, but it is a great base for exploring all the sites which are within easy reach. The rooftop pool is quite small, but warm and not at all busy. I visited with two children during school holidays and we were the only family there. We did meet a lovely group of retirees who spend each winter here - great for some tips and info on travelling about the area. (I learnt that by wearing a black headscarf when out and about I wouldn't be accosted by hawkers, it sooo worked!) The restaurant is more than adequate with a decent choice for breakfast. They usually offer a meal plan when you arrive if you want to eat all your meals there, and I wish I'd taken it up. None of the other nearby restaurants came close. Who knew Aubergine Casserole was so wonderful! If I have one complaint, it is that there is very little sound proofing, which in a city where the car horn is used more than the brake, is a little disturbing. All through the night and day, non stop parping! I would suggest maybe some ear plugs. All in all, a comfortable, friendly and welcoming place to stay when visiting one of the most amazing historical cities around.

Room Tip: West facing rooms are noisy as they face the main road, but the view of the Nile and sunsets far out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeezy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#8 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#20 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Lotus Luxor Hotel
#28 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing