We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saint Joseph Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Joseph Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Danish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Almost all Joseph Hotel room facing Nile and the valley of King , Sunday morning can see big balloon on top of western bank while every evening can see light show on the King valley just from your room balcony.

Hotel location is perfect ,room is clean and cheap , food is OK but much better than other average.

The horse man outside Joseph Hotel no.39 with white horse, he is a little be crazy guy , he just drive the horse and wagon into the old -narrow-traditional-market, that is something ! Many thing I got the direct contact to Egyptian people in good way !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    81
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
39
99
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very friendly running by a Christian family. The hotel is a little dated but clean and welcoming. The rooftop pool is very good and the views over Luxor and the Nile are breath taking. The food is OK but better quality fare can be found in the plethora of restaurants in the immediate vicinity

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here with a friend early jan.iv been going to luxor for about 10 years and this was my friends first time.
we decided to stay here as it was cheap and in a good location.
cant really fault it the staff were friendly the rooms were cleaned daily and it was in the centre of great restaurants and shops.
the breakfast left a little to be desired.cold pancakes and not alot of choice but if you like egyptian sausages then your alright.
there was quiet a lot of hassle on the doorstep from the kalesh guys but by the 3rd day they had realised they wernt going to get anywhere with us as we just walkd past and ignored them.
all in all a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited luxor for the first time this week and chose to stay here as it was practically the only hotel avaliable to accommodate 4 people.
The hotel states it has 24hrs access to wifi all over yet we could only access the interent downstairs in the reception lobby. When we asked the man at the reception why it did not work in our rooms he seemed disinterested and told us he didnt know and it didnt matter.
The rooms were very basic and were cleaned everyday by a very nice and honest cleaner. (We left some personal belongings in the room on our day of departure and he came to the lobby to find us and return it). You get what you pay for (very little) with these rooms and I would describe them as some where just to lay your head.
The hotel was supposed to have a no smoking policy and had a smoking room in the lobby which hardly any one used and just smoked endlessly in the reception room where you had to sit to use the Internet. Our room on arrival also stank of smoke and the halls and stair ways constantly smelt strongly of ciggerate smoke. When we explained to the reception man that one of our party members had bad asthma and we did not like breathing in constant second hand smoke he told us that there was nothing he could do. - why have a policy? !

The food in the upstairs resturant was very cheaply priced and nice. The roof top is very basic and the swimming pool unheated.
The restaurant down stairs was average/bland/never hot, but had excelent service of an evening.
Avoid the breakfasts! Very bland strange tasteless combinations of food and we waited over 45 mins 3 out of 5 mornings for a boiled egg. On our 5th out of 7 days we noticed a strong smell.of smoke in the strictly "non smoking" resturant during breafast, and could see directly into the kitchen two chefs with ciggerates hanging out of their mouths with ash falling everywhere whilst they were cooking requested omlettes and eggs. We did not have our breakfast here after that during our remaining days.

The staff at the reception were incredibly unhelpfull and at times just rude.

Out side the hotel is a taxi rank for both cars and carrages. As soon as we stepped our of the door we were harrased and followed non stop every morning noon and night and when we declined their services were sworn at and insulted. It even got to the point where taxi men where opening the hotel main door and shouting at us inside. Due to this rank being outside the noise is 24/7 of constant car bibbing, men arguing and shouting and because of the dual carrage way it is on the corner of, cars are constantly turning here.

We also noticed that there is some kind of police head quarters or prison facing which some times made us feel uneasy as there seemed to be a constant flow of prision vans entering and men being dragged out.of the vans and into the building.

On a good note the hotel is in a perfect location to some lovely restaurants; the puddleduck, pizza roma etc and has a well priced english supermarket on the same road. It is within a 20 minute walk of the luxor temple and the souk market which was handy rather than paying out money for taxis or carrages.
We will be returning to luxor in the next few months to visit more historical sites but will not be staying here again as I feel it was the main thing that let our holiday down.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Basic accommodation and amenities but overall had a pleasant stay and lots of sights and things to do.
Hotel was clean and tidy except smoking areas were not adhered to. Staff were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

love this hotel. its so relaxed and the staff are so friendly. food is ok. location of hotel is almost perfect.have enjoyed two holidays there. the rooftop pool is really nice (dont care if its not perfect). nice rooms. value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I hated this hotel for quite a few reasons.

Firstly, it is essentially a non-smoking hotel and I think that they should just come out and say so on their publicity, instead of having guests find out for themselves after they have made a booking. Down in the public lounge they even have a small glass room set aside for smokers to go into - a bit like being in an overseas airport departure lounge smoking area.

Secondly, you are not allowed to consume ANY food or drink that is not purchased inside the hotel. This includes ALL public areas - the swimming pool and sun-deck area included - not even a bottle of water. Guests who are caught consuming their own food and/or drink are subject to a spot fine or 500 EP - and I have reported this fact to the Luxor Tourist Office. The Menu on the roof terrace was exorbitantly expensive.

Thirdly, the wi-fi was not working for four of the five days that we stayed there and the staff had a nonchalant attitude towards this situation. I was working with friends in the USA on ballots of the US election and this down time was a major disappointment to me.

I will never go back to the St. Joseph hotel. It was a most repressive and miserable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjoseph30, General Manager at Saint Joseph Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Firstly, according to the ministry of tourism no smoking is allowed in closed areas like the reception and restaurant. the hotel decided to makes the smoking room that is equipped with air filter and air conditioner the same as international standard for people to smoke in so the guest don’t have to go outside the hotel especially after the revolution. If the guest is in the room, he/she can smoke in the balcony.

Secondly, according to the ministry of health guests are not allowed to bring food from outside to control the hygiene in the hotel and the guest’s health due to the fact that it might be contaminated and contain bacteria.

Thirdly, the WI-FI control is out of the hotel's hand. The WI-FI router was working but there was no internet coming from the company especially if there is a lot of log on the internet network throughout Egypt.

we welcome any observation and complains to improve our service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Joseph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.