We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, intelligent helpful staff, great facilities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, intelligent helpful staff, great facilities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel has it's own 24 hour guard and a metal detector which instantly gives you a sense of personal security as well as security of your belongings. The lobby is very big and roomy.
It is located in quiet street where you can get some rest from the constant beeping of vehicles in the traffic. You can purchase water, soft drinks or beer at any time of day or night at Egyptian prices. Laundry service is well organised and no different in price from business's in town.
Right next to the hotel are 4 different banks ensuring that you can withdraw funds. Just across the street is KFC so fear not if you're not familiar with Egyptian food. Tours organized by the Gaddis Hotel are very competitive(I checked in town). The rooms are clean and fully functional. Hotel receptionist will come up to the room and double check that your A/C unit is in good order and you TV reception is OK. Hot water is plentiful and the bathroom has a very good design ensuring you don't have to tread on the wet floor. City center is walking distance away and you won't get hassled on the way there. WiFi is free.

Damo from Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: Area is quiet so all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    89
    36
    25
    35
See reviews for
37
63
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Luxor is very quiet at the moment, but the (somewhat reduced) staff at the Gaddis go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. All service comes with a smile, and nothing is too much trouble. I am glad I returned there, and will continue to use the Gaddis as my base whilst in Egypt.
Luxor was calm and I never felt unsafe: the people are genuinely welcoming. A thoroughly enjoyable trip without the crowds!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Returning to Luxor this September held a few surprises. The lack of tourists has caused the closure of many restaurants and shops. Fortunately those that are open are if possible, even more welcoming, the deals we found made us a bit embarrassed at the cheapness of things.
Felt totally safe despite what our foreign office says
We had less 'hassle' out and about town
At the Gaddis almost all the amenities were there despite a much reduced staff.
I had thought the masseur was not working there any more but he said hello on our last day, but after we had spent all our energies, shopping at the souks.
Our room was spacious and well equipped. Loads of hot water for a long shower.
All in all a wonderful holiday.
We loved the pictures in the room so much we tried to buy one, but were told no.
The pool was a great temperature.
The shirts I had washed and pressed came back immaculate and softer than they have ever been.
The staff went well beyond being helpful.
The two for one cocktails are great value if a bit 'samey'
The local ex-pats appeared to support the local animal charity night karaoke, as did several of the friends we had made in Luxor
My favourite non alcoholic beverage is now their wonderful hot lemon.

Room Tip: This time I stayed in 115 which is a very spacious double room, It is far away from the core of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhni Novgorod, Nizhegorodskaya obl., Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

it was very nice to spend two nights here, great attention and good service, safety place,there was a hot water,nice brakfast ,clean room,clean bathroom,internet was very good, good experience, they have a good karaokee too,good location for the important places to visit

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was there during the 2013 protest unrest, so this review will probably not reflect the "normal conditions" state of this hotel.

It felt like we were the only people there. The lights were all off in the lobby and hallways at night, I assume to save power since....we were the only people there. Given the difficult circumstances for the hotel and in the country, I had a great experience. The staff were friendly and the room was just fine with air conditioning, a small balcony, a small tv, and the usual mid-range Egyptian hotel quirks. The location was great. Easy to walk around downtown and central to everything. There were adorable geckos in the outdoor breezeways.

We were only there one night and the breakfast in the morning as excellent especially given that...we were the only people there. They served bread, juice, coffee/tea, eggs, cheese, etc.

Don't know how much it cost because it came as part of a tour package. Probably worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The title says it all. I was there during the conflict and there weren't many guests. The staff were always helpful and on the look out. The bar out the back is crazy cool! The drinks were 2 for 1 and the decor is really cool. Food was reasonably priced for a hotel and yum. Bottled water was cheap. My room was huge and it had the nicest shower in Egypt during my month stay.

The pool was usually occupied with local kids learning to swim. I went in once with them on the side and watched. I think it is great that hotels for wealthy tourists can open up to locals so I didn't mind and almost preferred it was there for them rather than me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'm currently staying here and honestly is hard to think about Cairo, Luxor is such a small city with an incredible charm, and astonish culture and history. In the hotel I was able to swim in the pool (very small, but yet clean and in the shade) after a hell train ride and rest on a clean spacious room while being right next to downtown and 2 minutes walk from the Nile broad walk. Staff is friendly and curious, I liked that they want to know about they're guests. I am traveling Egypt at a very tumultuous time, and I forgot about it all in here. If you are on a budget yet your want more this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.