We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont discount the charm of the Gaddis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dont discount the charm of the Gaddis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Gaddis. First impressions are not greatest, the Hotel is very dated and all the rooms could do with a lick of paint. The pool is small and doesn't get much sun but its a cool place to relax in the afternoon. However, the good points outway the bad by far, and this hotels major plus is the staff who are all friendly and seem to really get to know you, nothing is too much trouble. My room was cleaned and I was given fresh sheets and towels every day. The food was, in my opinion, really good, and fresh. No English breakfasts here, but there is juice, tea and coffee, as much as you want and salad, felafal, fuull beans and mashed potato on offer as well omelettes, eggs and toast. The evening meals have more variety and as before, are freshly cooked and tasty. The karaoke evening on Saturdays shouldn't be missed and the waiters are all great. Said the doorman deserves a special mention as do all the lovely daytime reception staff. If you are looking for luxury, don't stay here, but for fun on a budget it can't be beaten.

Room Tip: If you are on the main road side you will get traffic all night, if poolside, you may be woken up by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    86
    36
    25
    34
See reviews for
37
63
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'm appalled by the review given by Sammylucy2 as this can't be further from the truth. Strange how his review only came out 3 months after his visit. A grudge with Thomas Cook I can understand but to describe the Gaddis Hotel in such terms is dishonest.
On both of my recent visits to the Gaddis I found the lift to be fine, there were locks to both the main door and the balcony door to a comfortable 'clean' room. Bed linen was changed every day by 4 friendly staff and soaps and shampoos were also provided each day, as were clean towels.
Air conditioning was also fine, as was the shower.
His words contain no truth from what I've seen at the Gaddis in 2 recent visits. I first went there alone in December last year, half board and although the food was nothing to write home about, I found the rooms perfectly OK and the staff fabulous. I enjoyed my stay there so much that I returned with my daughter for 2 weeks end of March, beginning of April. We both had a great time and it's location being away from the centre of Luxor yet within easy reach of all shops, sites, cafes etc made it almost the perfect hotel. I say almost because the breakfast could do with improving. Another problem is the swimming pool that could do with heating.
Now this hotel has an Egyptian feel to it and I find that a welcoming feature as all the other hotels in Luxor could be anywhere. Concrete enclosures with little character.
The Gaddis is a comfortable hotel and in no way should be considered as one with a reputation or one that should be closed.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff at the reception about rooms. Consider that the front of the hotel will have traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Xmas eve and Xmas day , in the most dreadful ,dirty, foul,so called hotel in the word , and I have traveled all my 83 years!,,this appalling place is a extreamly health risk and very dangerous , lift ,unsafe bear wires,no lock on door to room and belcony you are at risk iin the room and your belongings when you are out!"bathroom" filthy shower broken, toilet? Don't ask !! Bed broken huge lumps on very thin dirty mattress ,pillows likewise and imprint of somebody's head on it !! Lights hanging off wall , air conditining unit hanging off wall over door far too huge for the room and held on by string and tape, when on filled the tiny already filthy room with dust and dead flys ! Belive me THIS is true!, I've contacted Thomas Cook who told me its Xmas holiday and they said they could not help as it was Xmas !!!!!!i asked thro my great dispair and tears to be moved ,,they moved me to another dreadful room, ....I left! I borrowed £800 from friends in London and moved into the st George sonesta , dear god ... Heaven! The manager told me that the Gaddis "had a reputation "and"should be closed " since back I contacted Hoilday programms at the BBC and ABTA both are investigating , t cook offered me a full, FULL refund of .....£119!!!!!which they said is what it cost them ,I was charged by t cook in lewisham London £895 for that hotel and half board!! Which gave them ,at great distress to me and huge debt a profit of at least £570!!!!so avoid TCook and at all costs. The dreadful dirty flea pit know at the GADDIS "hotel" I am more than happy to stand by all this statement on oath , you ave been warned!!!! Ray Edwards , London I survived!!!! Just.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Definitely not the Ritz, (a bit old and faded) but fantastic value for money The friendly staff cannot do enough to help. Half-board recommended, the dinner is excellent. Rooms clean, beds comfortable, water hot.That is what we want from an hotel Do visit Luxor, it needs tourists - we had temples, tombs etc. almost to ourselves. We felt very safe. And watched sunset over the Nile from the roof. But do take ear-plugs, there are mosques all round including one right next door, (you don't want to be woken early........ But it adds to local colour). A fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

needs to find what level of service it is offering breakfast vary eggs juice cornflakes if quiet to basic fair if lower paying guests passing through some parts of hotel in need of TLC upgrade to half board food well cooked staff are great and go out of their way to provide good service i would not hesitate to use this hotel again handy for public ferry to west bank stayed in a single room need to flexible to use the toilet i stayed for 4 weeks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wow where do I start. This is my first ever review. I thought I would write one after my holiday as I rely so much on the reviews of other people before I book.

We were on a budget and wanted a last minute holiday and this place came up in a cheap package. I was fully aware of the below average reviews this place got.

So we landed at Gladdis March 2013 to find a disgusting apartment with 2 bedrooms and 5 beds made out of the cheapest wood and 1 inch mattresses. We asked to be moved as there was 2 of us not 5! They moved us to another room which was a little better but not much.

I have taken pics of this room. Please remember this is actually the best room in the hotel - we viewed 5 before picking this one.

The food was disgusting and cheap. The staff were bloody crazy. Offered drugs by many of them. ALL expected a tip for NOTHING.

Room Tip: Demand a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Okay, so it could do with updating but this hotel is friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who made sure you felt completely at home. The food was delicious and extremely reasonably priced, and the bar was charming with it's 'modern day pyramid' decor (It was also serving cocktails on a buy one get one free basis).

Entertainment was fun and flexible, with ex pats and locals joining together with the hotel guests for dancing and singing.

The service was better than many a five star hotel I have stayed in, with the further advantage of being friendly but not intrusive.

Position was great, A short walk down to the banks of the Nile, and easy access to the temples and West Bank (I took taxis recommended by the hotel staff and was able to negotiate very realistic prices for a half day or day of driving around wherever I wished to go).

Thank you Gaddis staff for everything!

Will be staying there again, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.