We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere fantastic staff!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments to your Saves list
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere fantastic staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room very basic but comfortable a lot better than last hotel in Aswan. Pool is very clean though surrounding amenities needed to be updated. Good view of sunset over the nile from roof. Staff very accomodating and friendly. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    96
    43
    27
    39
See reviews for
42
66
76
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of my 10-day tour of Eypt c/o Habibi Tours. The hotel is located in the central part of the town near the temples (a 15 to 20-minute walk to Luxor Temple) with a convenience store and an ATM right beside it.

My room was on the 2nd floor and had a pool view. Although I was traveling solo, they gave me a room with twin beds, but that was no issue at all for me, since I could always use the extra bed as a space for dumping all my clothes, etc.

Like I always say, if you're paying and traveling budget, expect budget. I wouldn't call the Gaddis Hotel completely run-down though; in fact I was very happy with it even though it was part of my budget package tour of Egypt. It didn't look totally budget for me. Although it was a bit old, it was still clean and comfortable. It had good A/C, a decent bathroom, and clean sheets. The wifi connection is excellent, although I think if your room is on a higher floor (say, 4th floor and higher), the wifi wouldn't be as strong. This was the case for my tour group mates who stayed on the 4th. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, but I can't really complain, since I'm not a big breakfast kind of person.

The staff here was really friendly and lovely during my stay--especially the waiters at the hotel restaurant who gave me and my tour group mates a good laugh. You can tell that they were all eager to please. Food at the restaurant is also excellent and well-priced; you don't really need to look for food options nearby since the restaurant food was tasty enough. (They had the best beef shawarma I've ever tasted in my life!) When I checked in in the afternoon, I was so tired that I just ordered room service at dinner time, and the hotel offered the same price for room service as they would have if you had gone down to eat at the restaurant.

Just a few 'cons':
- The hotel is situated right beside a mosque, so expect to be woken up at around 4 am during the call to prayer. Some people may really hate being woken up like that, but I considered it part of the experience of being in an Islamic country, and didnt really mind, so I went right back to sleep.
- The moment you step outside the hotel, your senses are assailed by strong whiffs of horse dung due to all the horse-drawn carriages parked on the street. But this is all minor compared to the hassle you get from the carriage drivers eager to get you as a customer. I think Luxor has more aggressive vendors/drivers than Cairo; at least in Cairo, I could comfortably walk around the downtown area and not be hassled at all. In Luxor, the market vendors and the carriage drivers were pretty hardcore. I didn't feel comfortable enough to walk outside and see the temples at night, because of them. I was relieved to discover at least that the people at the hotel souvenir shop and at the convenience store beside the hotel were nice and respectful.
- I don't recall seeing any safe inside the room, so just as a precautionary measure, I brought my valuables with me and didnt leave them inside the room.

I noticed that majority of the negative reviews on this hotel are from those living in first world countries and I totally understand where they're coming from--as Egypt, being a poor country and all, can indeed come as a culture shock to them. As someone living in a third world country and as an individual who works in an international nonprofit organisation and does field work, I've seen hotels/hostels/inns with far, far worse conditions than Gaddis. I didn't feel like I was robbed of my money while I was staying at the Gaddis, because I had a great time, and the hotel was comfortable enough. And when you pay budget, you just need to manage expectations, that's all.

So if you're not a budget traveler and if you're used to first world living conditions, then I would recommend that you look for 4-star or 5-star hotels while in Luxor. But if you like to have a low cost vacation with an open mind, Gaddis Hotel can be right up your alley.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors have good wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

have stayed at the gaddis hotel twice now and im staying again in may i found the staff very good manager is brill food really nice i have stayed at nile palace and couldnt wait to go home compared to the nile palace the gaddis hotel is a little gem so friendly and go out of there way to please more like a family i have booked again to go and cant wait to go back see you all in may wish you all good health see you soon lots of love kathy from derby

Room Tip: pick the third floor always do views good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this hotel should be very cheap for the standard of it. although the staff are lovely the hotel is not .the roo we had was large but the bathroom was tatty and shower cubicle falling to bits all the wiring bad there was about 5 wires taped together going into a hole in the wall. although there is a pool it looks dirty and gets no sun in two weeks one person had a dip in it it very cold.you get sun on the terrace but bake no no water there the staff were lovely and i had big bucket of water supplied every day if i wanted it to cool off. breakfast was very poor no choice.would not eat there that often.since revolution even the kareoke empty which is a shame because 3 years ago u could not get a seat there,would not stay there again .

Room Tip: we had large room cos hotel was empty we were on side of hotel so didnt notice any noise think end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Gaddis is well situated 15 minutes walk from the Luxor Temple, very handy for the airport and train station, but in a quite area of town, the staff are all very warm and friendly, the twice weekly karaoke is good entertainment, the food is very good and reasonably priced, overall a good budget accommodation, well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansourah, Ad Daqahliyah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

hello everybody
i am now in gaddis hotel
i want to advise every body to stay here for many reasons
comfortable dealing with the hotel stuff
clean hotel, clean bathrooms
the hotel prices is good for every body and not expensive
food is great and delicious
karaoke party every Saturday and Tuesday and it is funny
disco every Thursday
big thanks for Mr hane the director of the hotel because he is a lovely , understanding pearson and i am happy to be friend with him.
and most important to be careful from taxi drivers and horse drivers ( kalish ) because the kidnapping two kids during my trip .
thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After staying at the Gaddis for 10 days in December I can see why the hotel gets mixed reviews. There is a lot wrong with the hotel, yet if you have the right people in the hotel at the time you stay, you can have a good laugh.

The hotel should really be listed as one star, I have been in many better 2 star hotels.. Usually they are cheap acceptable and affordable. This hotel is all of them, but it does depend on the conditions of your stay and your own nature. If you are a friendly easy going person, you will put up with the troubles of the hotel, you will laugh at them like me. The room was acceptable, yes the showers play up and the room did go a little cold at times, but what do you expect when you pay peanuts.

The staff was hit and miss, sometimes they would be very helpful, sometimes they would turn a blind eye to problems. I found the whole thing quite amusing, it really is like Fawlty Towers. If you are thinking of staying 2 weeks, do choose another hotel. The Lotus is not much more expensive and has a warm bath a nile view, and a warm room.. It also has a better breakfast bar facility. I know because me and my partner moved there for the last 4 days of our holiday.

The only problem with the other hotels, is they lack the interesting people to talk to. I ended up going back to the Gaddis to catch up on the fun. I even sneaked back into the terrible breakfast bar for a cup of tea, don't drink the coffee it tastes terrible. If you are over 60, please do not use this hotel, its ok for back packers and younger people who can deal with the problems better. But you will hate it if you can't get out and about so easily.

The sun terrace is a disgrace.. The main pool area is ok, but always in the shade. I suggest they get reflectors, to reflect light into that area.

I know from listening to others, that their stay at the Gaddis is made worse due to the calleche drivers. My tip while in Luxor, is do not trust a soul, especially any Egyptians, virtually all of them want to con you. I never had much trouble myself, but I have been to Egypt before. You need to be strong and firm, they will take advantage of any weakness or indecision within you. Remember bar in the hotel, you should always pay less for things while shopping in Luxor.. Start at a 1/4 of what you think it is worth in your own country and work upwards.. You really don't need to pay more than 20 odd Egyptian pounds for anything.. Things are really cheap there but people will take you for all you have got. My tip is walk away from anyone who asks more money for anything than you would pay in your own country. Remember you are in poundland, or euroland, not Harrods.. Do not use the calleche drivers unless you really have to.. 5 Egyptian pounds is usually enough for most simple journeys.. 10 Egyptian max.. Same for the taxi's.. Do not pay more than 40 Egyptian for an airport trip or 100 Egyptian for a day trip to the valley of the kings etc.

Try to find people to go on walks or trips with you, you get less hassle, when you have 4 or more. If you are women alone, find some European men, to walk with. Do not trust the Egyptians, they always want something for nothing.. You will meet some nice Egyptian people there, but they only start treating your right when you stand up for yourself. They love a joke, and they can see the ones who have risen above all the hassle.. So take the bull by the horns and do not let people take advantage of you.. Always reflect before you decide on doing anything while in Luxor.

The ones who get the most hassle are the ones who are not easy going, the ones who do not stand strong, the ones who take it all too serious.. The Egyptians are poor people in general, they know no better.. If they did they would lay off people, they will learn in time, by pushing people away.. But don't let that push you away, you just have to change your attitude while you are there, if you wish to have a good holiday..

A quick thanks to those we met on holiday.. Thanks to Peter, Elmar, Elke, San, Margaret, John, Dave, Rodney, Sue and her mom.. Sorry if I forgot anyone, thanks for the laughs.

Don't forget, there is a great pool over the road at the Isis, and the Lotus has a great pool and Hotel down the road.. Have fun!!

Ps.. Don't even bother visiting an Islamic country if you don't like the call to prayer.. Go and visit Spain again, as culture will be lost on you!!

Room Tip: Ask for pool View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#8 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#32 of 58 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
1.4 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.