We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gaddis hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“gaddis hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

have stayed at the gaddis hotel twice now and im staying again in may i found the staff very good manager is brill food really nice i have stayed at nile palace and couldnt wait to go home compared to the nile palace the gaddis hotel is a little gem so friendly and go out of there way to please more like a family i have booked again to go and cant wait to go back see you all in may wish you all good health see you soon lots of love kathy from derby

Room Tip: pick the third floor always do views good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    38
    25
    34
See reviews for
37
63
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this hotel should be very cheap for the standard of it. although the staff are lovely the hotel is not .the roo we had was large but the bathroom was tatty and shower cubicle falling to bits all the wiring bad there was about 5 wires taped together going into a hole in the wall. although there is a pool it looks dirty and gets no sun in two weeks one person had a dip in it it very cold.you get sun on the terrace but bake no no water there the staff were lovely and i had big bucket of water supplied every day if i wanted it to cool off. breakfast was very poor no choice.would not eat there that often.since revolution even the kareoke empty which is a shame because 3 years ago u could not get a seat there,would not stay there again .

Room Tip: we had large room cos hotel was empty we were on side of hotel so didnt notice any noise think end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Gaddis is well situated 15 minutes walk from the Luxor Temple, very handy for the airport and train station, but in a quite area of town, the staff are all very warm and friendly, the twice weekly karaoke is good entertainment, the food is very good and reasonably priced, overall a good budget accommodation, well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansourah, Ad Daqahliyah, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

hello everybody
i am now in gaddis hotel
i want to advise every body to stay here for many reasons
comfortable dealing with the hotel stuff
clean hotel, clean bathrooms
the hotel prices is good for every body and not expensive
food is great and delicious
karaoke party every Saturday and Tuesday and it is funny
disco every Thursday
big thanks for Mr hane the director of the hotel because he is a lovely , understanding pearson and i am happy to be friend with him.
and most important to be careful from taxi drivers and horse drivers ( kalish ) because the kidnapping two kids during my trip .
thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After staying at the Gaddis for 10 days in December I can see why the hotel gets mixed reviews. There is a lot wrong with the hotel, yet if you have the right people in the hotel at the time you stay, you can have a good laugh.

The hotel should really be listed as one star, I have been in many better 2 star hotels.. Usually they are cheap acceptable and affordable. This hotel is all of them, but it does depend on the conditions of your stay and your own nature. If you are a friendly easy going person, you will put up with the troubles of the hotel, you will laugh at them like me. The room was acceptable, yes the showers play up and the room did go a little cold at times, but what do you expect when you pay peanuts.

The staff was hit and miss, sometimes they would be very helpful, sometimes they would turn a blind eye to problems. I found the whole thing quite amusing, it really is like Fawlty Towers. If you are thinking of staying 2 weeks, do choose another hotel. The Lotus is not much more expensive and has a warm bath a nile view, and a warm room.. It also has a better breakfast bar facility. I know because me and my partner moved there for the last 4 days of our holiday.

The only problem with the other hotels, is they lack the interesting people to talk to. I ended up going back to the Gaddis to catch up on the fun. I even sneaked back into the terrible breakfast bar for a cup of tea, don't drink the coffee it tastes terrible. If you are over 60, please do not use this hotel, its ok for back packers and younger people who can deal with the problems better. But you will hate it if you can't get out and about so easily.

The sun terrace is a disgrace.. The main pool area is ok, but always in the shade. I suggest they get reflectors, to reflect light into that area.

I know from listening to others, that their stay at the Gaddis is made worse due to the calleche drivers. My tip while in Luxor, is do not trust a soul, especially any Egyptians, virtually all of them want to con you. I never had much trouble myself, but I have been to Egypt before. You need to be strong and firm, they will take advantage of any weakness or indecision within you. Remember bar in the hotel, you should always pay less for things while shopping in Luxor.. Start at a 1/4 of what you think it is worth in your own country and work upwards.. You really don't need to pay more than 20 odd Egyptian pounds for anything.. Things are really cheap there but people will take you for all you have got. My tip is walk away from anyone who asks more money for anything than you would pay in your own country. Remember you are in poundland, or euroland, not Harrods.. Do not use the calleche drivers unless you really have to.. 5 Egyptian pounds is usually enough for most simple journeys.. 10 Egyptian max.. Same for the taxi's.. Do not pay more than 40 Egyptian for an airport trip or 100 Egyptian for a day trip to the valley of the kings etc.

Try to find people to go on walks or trips with you, you get less hassle, when you have 4 or more. If you are women alone, find some European men, to walk with. Do not trust the Egyptians, they always want something for nothing.. You will meet some nice Egyptian people there, but they only start treating your right when you stand up for yourself. They love a joke, and they can see the ones who have risen above all the hassle.. So take the bull by the horns and do not let people take advantage of you.. Always reflect before you decide on doing anything while in Luxor.

The ones who get the most hassle are the ones who are not easy going, the ones who do not stand strong, the ones who take it all too serious.. The Egyptians are poor people in general, they know no better.. If they did they would lay off people, they will learn in time, by pushing people away.. But don't let that push you away, you just have to change your attitude while you are there, if you wish to have a good holiday..

A quick thanks to those we met on holiday.. Thanks to Peter, Elmar, Elke, San, Margaret, John, Dave, Rodney, Sue and her mom.. Sorry if I forgot anyone, thanks for the laughs.

Don't forget, there is a great pool over the road at the Isis, and the Lotus has a great pool and Hotel down the road.. Have fun!!

Ps.. Don't even bother visiting an Islamic country if you don't like the call to prayer.. Go and visit Spain again, as culture will be lost on you!!

Room Tip: Ask for pool View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

first impression of the Gaddis hotel is bad, the front looks like a run-down shop. doesn't get much better inside. decor is from 1970's, the whole place is grubby and there are safety issues such as a pile of broken beds and mattresses we found on one of the top floor staircases! our shower, bed and backdoor were broken/faulty, which we complained about but nothing was done, we also had to ask for towels and toilet roll on several occasions. Staff are hit and miss, a few were really friendly and helpful, others, not so much...Also the pool is never heated and the sun doesn't reach it, there is disco and karaoke on a Tuesday and Saturday which was so bad it was entertaining. oh yeah, and the minaret next door will wake u up at sunrise, that was fun!
But Luxor is an amazing city so you forget about the bad hotel and we still had an amazing experience out there...just dont stay at Gaddis if you can avoid it, the place needs to be shutdown!!! the Lotus Hotel down the road is a million times better and not much more expensive, wish i knew that before i went! Attatched is a view from the balcony which kinda sums the place up...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a great 2 weeks in Luxor, where we stayed for 10 days at the Gaddis. For the price you pay for Bed & Breakfast it is good value for money. The rooms are clean and most days are serviced for you. My only complaint about the room was the low water pressure in the shower and lack of hot water. We were told to let it run for a few mins and the hot water would come through, but I have to say it was a bit hit or miss. The bathroom floor had a tendency to flood with water, but was immediately looked at when I reported it to the staff. Unfortunately, it did come back. Its a plumbing problem that is not easily rectified.

The breakfast is very basic. But I did enjoy the omlettes and the soft cheese that was available daily. But after ten days this is repetative. My partner had fried egg on toast every day. We were both clucking when we came home..lol Though it all looks very basic, neither of us experienced any stomach problems, so I can vouch for the hygiene of the place.

The staff are the jewel in the crown of the Gaddis. They were always smiling and friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Though there is a nice pool, it is in the shade and never warms up only in the height of summer. So we did feel the lack of sunbathing space. But there are other hotels where you can sunbathe by their pool, for a small fee. They had sunbeds on the roof, but this was also very basic.

The great thing we found about the Gaddis, was that because it is a small hotel, the guests tended to congregate together more and socialise. We made some great friends there, the whole place had a fawlty towers feel about it, which made from very funny moments. We also shared any problems we had, which creates a great bond.

The biggest problem we found at the Gaddis and Luxor in general was the constant pressure from the Kalesh drivers (horse drawn carriages) and the taxi's. There are far more of them then there are tourists, and so the competition for your custom is fierce. They have no concept of personal boundaries and will follow you around constantly wanting you to use them. They don't seem to get we actually enjoy walking!! Watch out for those who agree to a price for egyptian pounds and then change it to english. Be very clear about where you want to go and how much you want to pay, before you climb aboard a Kalesh or get in a taxi. The less people are hassled the more they will use them. This they don't seem to get!

The people are very friendly, but are feeling the lack of tourism since the revolution in 2010 badly. Things are better in the normal shops, but they will start high on prices, so don't be afraid to haggle. I truly hope things improve for them. I will definitely go back. As overall, it was a beautiful place, and we had a very relaxing time, once we had got over the first couple of days of culture shock and into the ways of haggling and understanding what things should cost rather then what is asked. Don't be to shy to ask other people who have been there for a while for advice.

We will definitely go back as there was so much to see and we didn't get to visit everything. The view of the nile is stunning with the valley of the kings in the background, weather was fab and we came home with a nice tan. It was cool at night, so a couple of long sleeved tops is a must. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The hotel has free wifi, connection is best in reception areas and not bad up to the second floor. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.