We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amon Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Amon Hotel Luxor
Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a 2-day felucca trip from Aswan, we stayed in this nice hotel, calm (for a change in Egypt!), the garden is charming and the home cook food is good (1st day was excellent, 2nd day was so-so). Staying on the West bank is a great choice to avoid the hassle and enjoy a village atmosphere. Rooms have AC, balcony. Mohammed is very nice and we had great discussions about Egypt and tourism. We rent 2 bikes to visit the temples from the hotel. The free wifi is faster than most places in Egypt. We recommend to stay in this hotel where we finally feel relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    43
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
58
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful charming hotel with a beautiful garden. We spent 6 nights there, most of them with our four family members and the experience could not have been better. The hotel is clean, comfortable, cool (AC and fans in each room) and very friendly and helpful. Ahmed and Mohamed welcomed us like friends. They arranges tours with excellent drivers and guides. The location is perfect, minutes' walk from the Nile and boat taxis across to Right Bank of Luxor, and a short drive to the magnificent Valley of the Kings, Queens, Tombs of Nobles, etc. The food is delicious. Our impression was that anything one wants can be arranged in a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. I would never stay anywhere else if I went back to Luxor. The Hotel Amon makes us want to return.

Room Tip: The rooms with private bathrooms and little balconies are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family and I spent four days at Amon Hotel, and it was a delight from start to finish. All the staff were caring, and helpful, the rooms were spotless and air conditioned, and the food excellent. The garden courtyard was tranquil and relaxing, a perfect refuge after hours looking at the sights. It is ideally located on the West Bank, a few minutes walk to the river and the ferries to the East Bank, and of course not far from all West Bank sites. Mohamed organised our daily sightseeing trips, and nothing was too much. We met his charming family and showed much hospitality. A perfect family run hotel that I really recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies and each seemed as good as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My mother and I enjoyed our stay. Ahmed and Mohamed made us feel very special. The garden and views were priceless. A perfect location for exploring the region. The garden was such a relaxing place to unwind and to have a cold drink. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Great photo ops from the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location, incredibly warm and thoughtful welcome, very nice garden. A must in Luxor.
A very good base to visit the area. Modest and authentic. This family hotel will be a great occasion to discover local hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Amon Hotel in March 2013, my 3rd time at this hotel.
The hotel is in an excellent location on the West Bank, a few minutes walk from the ferry & close to all the West Bank monuments & tombs.
I absolutely love the beautiful gardens at the Amon. Such a pleasant place to relax.
All rooms have balconies overlooking the garden & there is a roof top area with views to the Theban Hills.
The owner Mohammed, his father Ahmed & all the staff are lovely, friendly people. Nothing is a problem no matter what you need.
Trips, tours, taxis, transfers, local information can all be arranged.
The hotel has free WiFi & air conditioning.
I will always stay at The Amon Hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on the much quieter West Bank, conveniently located. Very clean room with very hot shower. It's a great value & I especially enjoyed the peaceful garden, after all the hassles on the other side of Luxor. Didn't use their services & ate meals out except for breakfast, which is included for single rate of $32. Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amon Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.