We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Amon Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amon Hotel Luxor
Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely garden and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in Amon hotel for three days. The hotel has lots of good features like a lovely garden, clean rooms, clean toilets, hot water through out the day and a nice restaurant as well. The owners (both father and son) are very friendly and helpful. I would say it is a very reasonably priced hotel for all these features.

The hotel is situated in the west bank, so it is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the east bank. Still this place is only 5 mins away from the local ferry to the east bank. The ferry is inexpensive and you can easily rent a bike and explore the city and its monuments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    41
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
58
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel Amon at Louxor, west bank, on the way to majestic Deir el Bahari is a haven and heavenly with garden and kind staff. A visitor can explore Luxor from this hotel easily and you may benefit from the best driver Azar who shares happily his live and knowledge of the many sites, anicent places on the east and west bank. The hotel is a lovely private space with internet access, comfortable and relaxing rooms with balconies overlooking the garden. You can socialize in great living rooms as well as the seating in the open garden central to the 4 storey hotel's wings. The chef is excellent, each choice is great: simple salads to traditional baked meals such as Mousaka, and the fish is marvelous!! Your preferences and any health concerns can be met. Yes I welcome the opportunity to return and enjoy this great place and good people many times to come!!

Room Tip: I like the double so have a roommate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is a real peace haven. This was my second stay at this hotel and, as my egyptian trips get better and better (the more you learn about the country, the sights and the customs), the stays at this place also get better and better. Extremely friendly owner and staff, but that has already been stated elsewhere. They will go at great lengths to accomodate the guests, and others too I guess. Ideal location to venture out into the countryside or to visit the nearby tombs. Also close to the ferry crossing (at 1 eg. £) with mooring just in front of Luxor temple. No swimming pool but if this would be necessary (felt less doing that this time in February), there should be a couple of places where you can do this on the West Bank. You could spend all week, or even more, on this side of the nile and not even miss the big tourist resorts on the other side. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in a flat nearby and found this hotel restaurant on an evening walk. The garden restaurant is beautiful, very clean and private, the staff are friendly attentive and caring, and it is a place to head for without hesitation. The food is freshly cooked, very good and well priced - the set meal is a bargain and for 2 people there was enough for 4! Don't be put off by its position down an alley - it's very safe with families pleased to see you, and it's away from the constant traffic and horns on the main al gezira road.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent one month at this hotel, and we loved it, we didn't want to leave. Set on the West Bank in a quiet street it is ideally located for all the sights. Ahmed and all the staff do a wonderful job to make your staff as pleasant as possible, nothing seems to be too much trouble. Garden where you take your meals is so peaceful and calm, a lovely place to sit and read or chat. If you need to know anything Ahmed is the person to ask. He will even give you a lift if you need to go somewhere. Food is excellent, we tried other places to eat on the West Bank but ate more at the hotel. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and have already told them that all being well we will be back next year. Ann and Abdelhamid. Jones.

Room Tip: I don't think there is much difference which room. We were on the first floor of three on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is a charmer.

Things that made me smile:
-Relaxed floor plan, each floor had its own sitting area and there were places around where one could be seen sipping tea.
-Tile floors and wooden doors. Our room had a balcony, as did most it seemed.
-The garden courtyard. It is very well planned and it is where you will meet interesting people and eat. The meals were reasonably priced.
-I was worried from the one star reviews posted in 2008, that the owner and son would try to sell me on the tours, which he gratefully did not. They respected my decisions and didn't pressure me. I did end up booking a balloon ride through the hotel and it probably cost a little more because they are charging markup, but I did it as a nod to my time there.
-They had free wi-fi when I was there. It faded in and out a lot, but it did that in other places in Egypt as well.

Things you won't find:
-A television, and you don't need it.
-It isn't in the posh, touristy neighborhood, which was great. I didn't feel un-safe at any point either. It is close(er) to the Valley of Kings/Queens.
-The town of Luxor...This hotel is on the west bank, so you have to take the ferry to get to the city square of Luxor, which is only (at the time of writing this) 2 LE, or rather to say very cheap. Having distance between you and the city square is not a bad thing, in my opinion and crossing is 10 minute easy journey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Amon Hotel is a gem. Set on the West Bank of the Nile, it has a tranquility and ease that provides the perfect refuge from manic Luxor. Ahmed, the manager, is a gracious gentleman who is always able to help, no matter how small the request. The hotel has a beautiful garden and wonderful food. If you are arriving by train do not get a cab, walk to the ferry, it's much cheaper and you also get a magical view of the Nile. My wife and I are looking forward to going back, I have been to a lot of hotels over the years, and all over the world, this is one of the best.
Nathan & Phyllis R. London

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, Director of Sales at Amon Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review
we hope to see you again in Amon Hotel

with kind regards

Khaled
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#12 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amon Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.