We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our stay at the Steigenberger Nile Palace was cut short by 1 week due to recent troubles but the staff at this hotel made our visit very enjoyable. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel after visiting Luxor on 5 previous occasions. The room was clean, breakfast was great, and each & every member of staff were friendly & professional. The Thai restaurant is a must. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Luxor

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Firstly we would like to apologize for you having to cut your stay with us short. due to the unrest in Egypt, the travel companies put their clients’ safety first, thank you for your understanding. We thank you also for choosing your holiday in Luxor once again and supporting Egypt and we invite you to return for another interrupted stay later on. It was lovely to know that you found our staff professional and friendly and the breakfast great. We always appreciate nice comments about our hotel!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    407
    107
    50
    26
See reviews for
281
781
95
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

So we stayed at the Steigenberger for a week and were very impressed with the hotel, restaurants and everything it had to offer.

Hotel: The hotel is currently not busy which was nice for us as we were on a romantic break and it felt that extra bit special and exclusive. Even though the occupancy rate was low the standards were kept to the 5* standard.
We upgraded to a front nile room and I must say it was well worth the extra as the view of the Nile and the Valley of the Kings was unbelivable.

Food: The food was very good. We mostly used outside restaurants in the evening mainly due to being cheaper however the food within the hotel was great when we did eat in. We ate in the Thai, Italian and the Poolside Bar.
Thai was very good and authentic which surprised us. We only had lunch in the Italian and tried the Pizza. Only thing I will say is we were disappointed this was towards the end of our stay and we couldnt return to try more. The pizzas were the best I have ever had. Poolside bar provided large portions of decent food at a good price.
Breakfast was amazing and the choice was huge.

Negative - The ice cream was way too expensive. We paid 460LE (about £4.60) for 3 small scoops of ice cream. We only did this once and like most things within this hotel you are better off popping next door to buy your stuff as things are up to 4x the amount in the hotel.

Not sure if the Feluca boats at the back of the Hotel are run by the Hotel or are independent but if you use them please dont trust them. Having explained that they are run by the hotel and having Nile Palace painted on them we trusted the staff here as we had good experiences with all staff within the hotel. This was a mistake and we were hassled by these just like we were hassled outside on the street. The man (Arafat) would stand at the top of the steps waving at you and even send waiters over to get your attention. He would then beg for money for his ''hungry child'' and try to sell you trips to the market.

Staff: All staff within hotel were great. From pool staff, restaurant staff and bar staff everyone was friendly. They provided excellent service.

Tips: Take Sterling as the exchange rate in Egypt will be much better. We got around 9.6 in UK but got 10.7 in Egypt.

Highly recommend Nile View.

Expect to get hassled when you go outside the hotel. Unfortunately my wife struggled with this and it made her feel unsafe and intimidated. Its a shame as we would have spent and browsed so much more if we were allowed to explore without the hassle.

Loved Steigenber and Luxor's sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive heartfelt review. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your romantic break with us. Thank you for mentioning the excellent standard of service that you received.
However, we sincerely apologize regarding the issue near the swimming pool with the felucca man.We will look into this (as we always do) so this does not make a re-occurrence to any of our guests.
We are glad that you loved our Steigenberger hotel and would like to invite you back for another romantic break with your lovely wife…
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Where can I begin.. The hotel is outstanding!! Beautiful views of the Nile..
The staff there cannot do enough for you.. Breakfast is excellent with so much to choose from such as toast, cereal, egg station fresh fruit and meats. You will never be short of tea and coffee soon as your cup is empty there over offering you more!!
The pool staff are lovely and offer to put your umbrella shade up when you require it, along with the pool bar staff offering snacks and drinks during the day!!
Get used to saying no thankyou when you leave the hotel.. We got tricked on the first day by a man with a horse and carriage who claimed he saw us at breakfast and made our breakfast when in fact this was not the case!
I recommend awkrights supermarket, as the 'Asda' next to the hotel charges 26 Egyptian pounds for its drinks whereas awkrights charges 5!!!!!
The doormen are kind and helpful always smiling all day every day! I can't really write much more as we were due to stay for 2 weeks but it was cut short to 1 week.. I suggest when going to this hotel not to book with thomson probably best to stick with Thomas cook or other agencies as Thomson blow all government issues out of proportion leaving the guests no choice but to leave this wonderful hotel and country!
I will be returning to this hotel but NEVER again with thomson :) it is definitely a 5* hotel!!
Guest Relations manager Alison is also a credit to the hotel any problems and she gets them
solved as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
It was a delight to receive your review.
It was a shame that your holiday had to be cut short by one week, we hope that next time you will stay longer and the situation will improve in Egypt. Luxor is a beautiful city with lovely people and I am sure will become one of the top holiday and tourist attractions once again…
Thank you so much for mentioning all aspects of the hotel especially the breakfast and its extensive range of choices. Our talented chefs are eager to please everyone and it is important for them to offer a variety of delights to accommodate all of our guests needs. Thank you also for mentioning our lovely doormen and Guest Relation within the hotel. Your comments are well appreciated and this gives us the incentive to keep providing excellent and friendly services to our treasured guests!
We are looking towards a promising future and we are so happy that guests like you are supporting us.
Thank you once again
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at the Steigenberger Nile Palace in Luxor was excellent. We were greeted by a friendly hostess who showed us around and answered any questions. The hotel had appeal to all ages - we were travelling with three generations. I would recommend it very highly.
Marilyn from Canada

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you in our hotel and also good that you mention that it suited your needs travelling with different ages.
Thank you for mentioning our friendly Guest Relation/Hostess. We always like to make our arrival guests feel welcome and train our staff well in this.
We hope that you will come all the way from your lovely country of Canada to visit us again in the future…
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel only for one night while on a two day tour of Cairo/Luxor but we had a lovely stay and both said we would return. Our room was a twin and very nice, clean. Breakfast was great and the staff could not do enough for us even with in being 06:30, once we had breakfast we sat a was amazed by the view of the Nile and West Bank. Thank you to the staff at the hotel and we will see you soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and the wondeful photographs!!
It was a pity that you did not stay longer with us and we hope that you will return for a longer stay in the future.We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff here at the Nile Palace...We await your return so that you can once again enjoy the fabulous views across the Nile..
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I went to Luxor with my husband with an open mind having read several reviews about the place and more importantly The Steigenberger Nile Palace hotel where we stayed for seven nights. I would highly recommend the Steigenberger Nile palace hotel to all my family and friends and to anybody who is looking for a Five Star hotel. There is a wonderful ambiance about the hotel, very much customer focused with staff always willing to go that extra mile.

The reception and Guest Relation Desk;
Both the above areas are well managed with staff on hand to assist you with any questions or queries that you may have as well as offering any advice if required.
The rooms;
The rooms are very clean and well maintained with cleaning staff ensuring that clean towels are delivered twice a day. I would very much like to thank Ahmed who looked after us very well.
The restaurants;
The hotel has a fabulous choice of restaurants to eat at, ranging from the Nubian restaurant, Thai, Italian and Lebanese. The quality of food and service is absolutely amazing which one can’t fault in anyway. Mr Abdul Khaleq the Beverages manager is an asset to the Steigenberger Nile Palace hotel. It is clear that Mr Khaleq has the knowledge, expertise and experience focusing on customer expectations and needs when planning and maintaining the beverage and food area.

We would very much like to say a ‘Big Thank you’ to Khalid (waiting staff)who looked after us very well in the Nubian restaurant and is an asset to Mr Khaleq and the Steigenberger Nile Palace hotel. The Chef’s were great too who also went that extra mile and who were always willing to personalise your meal, accommodating to one’s taste which exceeded our expectations, which I would also like to thank the Chef’s as well.


Thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.It means such a great deal to us to receive positive feedback regarding our restaurants.Our F & B Manager,as you mention,always cares about our guests needs,interacting with our guests consistently to ensure complete satisfaction.This is so important to us as a five star establishment..
Thank you also for mentioning our talented chefs which we are so fortunate to have who go extra lengths to ensure that our guests palliatable tastes are met.I am sure that your comments will be highly appreciated!!
We hope that you will return to our beautiful country of Egypt in the future and stay with us once again...
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldenzaal netherlands
2 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The first time I came to Luxor it stole my heart. This beautiful city, full of history, the Magic Nile, the kind people and lovely weather. For many years now I travel as a single woman to Luxor and I feel safe, there has never been a moment that I felt not safe.Just be interested in the country and the people, give them a littlebit of time and a smile and you get so much back. Go and find out for yourself.

The Steigenberger Nile Palace hotel stole my heart too. If you are looking for Quality and service with a smile, then this is the place to be.The atmosphere is warm and the whole staff will be there for you to be sure you have a wonderful time.

The reception and Guest Relation Desk;
If you have a question, a problem or in need of something they will help you in any way they can. Thank you Veronika for your time and kindness and ofcourse all of your colleagues !!

The rooms;
I would advise a nilview room, the view is breathtaking.
All the rooms are large, with a lovely interior and very clean.
Thank you cleaning staff !!!

The restaurants;
There is a great choice of restaurants, Thai, Lebanees, Italian and the Nubian mainrestaurant.
All of them have a very high quality of food. The excellent chefs will give you the best experience for a breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Thank you chefs for all the outstanding meals !!!
Thank you waiters for the finishing touch to serve these meals with a smile !!!
Thank you Michael you have made my breakfast the best start of the day with your smile, humor and a flower !!!

The pool;
A green area, a lot of flowers with a nice and very clean pool.Great sunbeds and a free towelservice.Thank you Ahmed for the extra service and ofcourse all of your colleagues !!!
The Tropicana poolbar serve tasty lunchdishes if you want to stay by the pool.
Try the chikcken/curry sandwich.

The Steigenberger Nile Palace also gives her guests the service to use free WIFI in the
loungebar area. If you want WIFI in all other areas and use internet in your room you pay.
They can give you a special offer.

It is not possible to put all the names of the staff in my review but my thanks go`s to all of you.
Mr. Hesham ( Residence manager) thank you for everything. Your energy, kindness and tranings inspire your whole staff to be motivated, to keep the Quality and Service on a high level.
Warm greetings from Mariska ( from Holland )

Room Tip: I advise to take a nileview room, the view is breathtaking !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
What a brilliant review!!
May we seize this opportunity to thank you so much for mentioning all of the departments and the quality of service there.We are proud to have such lovely staff in our hotel and we are always delighted to receive positive feedback.Imparticular,thank you for your outstanding comments concerning our restaurants.Iam sure that your comments will not go un noticed by the staff mentioned....
We hope that you will return so that we can 'steal your heart too' once again!!
Thank you
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.