We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, clean and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Efficient, clean and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in a room with a Nile view. It is well positioned and within easy taxi reach of the main east bank sites and not so far from the West Bank sites.
The room was very clean and the staff were attentive and efficient. It is a little difficult to judge something's about the hotel for it suffered a low occupancy rate at the time we were there.
It has many restaurant and bars, a good pool and if one was particularly slothful there was little need to move out of the hotel.
The rom was very clean and tidy there was plenty of room to relax. The view was very good.
The breakfast choice was extensive and with enough interest for a few mornings. (It does suffer the fate of many Egyptian hotels when it provides bread which by European standards and Egyptian village standards has little taste or texture)
We tried the Italian style restaurant and found it mediocre to poor. (The service was excellent but the food was a little undercooked and the wine overpriced).
It seems to have the feel of a package hotel which I suppose is what happens when a hotel has so many rooms.
We would return if we went back to Luxor but one does miss the features of smaller places.

Room Tip: Nile views are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive views regarding our hotel.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your 3 nights stay with us and experienced wonderful views of the Nile from your lovely room!!
However,we are sad to know that the Italian restaurant did not meet your expectattions .If only you would of highlighted this to us during your stay then we would of taken action to ensure that you left completely satisfied....With regard to the bread at breakfast: we do try our very best to provide a large selection of different breads to suit everyones tastes and we are sorry if you were unable to find the bread that we have in Europe,this would be only possible by means of import....We are also concerned that you felt that our hotel had the package deal feel,we pride ourselves on the class of guests that we are so proud to host and are honored to have lovely guests staying with us regardless on the number of rooms that the hotel has.
We hope that you will return to us,as you mention and thank you once again for taking your time to write a review...
Kindest regards.
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    362
    98
    42
    27
See reviews for
237
700
75
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was a good value for the money, but certainly isn't anywhere near a 5-star property.

The property has a lot of variety, with several restaurants and bars. The only restaurant that was truly outsanding was the Thai restaurant, but the others (Italian, Lebenese, continental and pool bistro) were adequate. There is also a nice pool overlooking the Nile. However, one word of warning -- there was a Nile cruise boat docked at the hotel next door the entire time I was there. The boat not only blocks part of the view, but runs its engine all day and all night. Don't go to the pool expecting a quiet, relaxing experience, due to the noise and occasional diesel fumes (depending on the wind direction).

My room was small, and overlooked the internal courtyard. I would suggest asking for a non-courtyard room, due to the very loud and very cheesy dance shows in the courtyard every night.

The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special.

By far, my biggest complaint was about the service. I realize they are struggling -- Luxor depends on tourists, and the hotel was nowhere near full. I'm sure that fact imacts how much money the staff is making. But they would certainly make more in tips, in my opnion, if they were more service-oriented.

For example, I went to the pool every day I was there. Even though there were bar staff supposedly serving people at the pool, I would literally sit for hours without one person coming by to ask if I wanted anything to eat or drink. There is a walk-up bar close-by, but the hotel's income (and the staff's tips) would be much larger if they would be more proactive about coming around to check on the guests. Even the simple act of putting menus on the tables next to the lounge chairs would probably make a big difference.

All in all, the bulk of the staff certainly didn't go out of their way to make the guests feel welcome or valued. My advice -- provide more service training and put incentives in place to ensure the customer comes first. A smile and a "what can I do for you" attitude would be a huge improvement.

Next time I'm in Luxor, I'll try out one of the other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the internal courtyard. The cheesy (and very loud) nightly dance shows go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for review.From reading your comments it seems that you were not entirely happy with the hotel.
If only these issues that you raised in your review were highlighted to us during your stay we would of made sure that you were made entirely satisfied.For instance, the location of your courtyard room: you mention that you were not satisfied with the entertainment and size,therefore had we been notified of this during your presence in the hotel this matter would of been rectified immediately,as we always do with our valued guests.Also,if your dining experience was not fulfilled then you had opportunities to adress this matter whilst dining to the staff and Guest Relation department when contacted.
We do apologize for the boat issue that you raised: as mentioned previously,the Government are in the process of taking steps to eliminate this problem for us.Whilst a large majority of our guests are not effected by this there are always a few that we can only offer our sincere aplogies to.We will take action to adress the swimming pool and its standard of service there and again it would of been valuable to know about these issues during your stay.
We always strive to make sure that all of our guests leave satisfied and we apologize if you were not entirely happy during your stay with us.

Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This 5 star hotel lives up to its star rating .The rooms are great and the and the service matches the same high standard, Set on the banks of the nile,with a great view of the west bank you can not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your five star review!!
We are delighted and proud to receive your comments about our hotel and the standard of service that you received.
Your review gives us the incentive to maintain the high standards that we currently hold.
Thank you for mentioning once again that our hotel was "faultless"...
We do hope to see you again and invite you back so that we can give you the best standard of service ever.....
Nile Palace awaits your return
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were in a party of 300, on a tour of The Valley of the Kings, and the Temples at Luxor and Karnak. Lunch was provided as a buffet at this hotel. When we arrived we found ourselves in a vast room with minimal decoration, peopled by staff who exploded among themselves at frequent intervals. There was insufficient crockery to serve the guests, leaving us standing in line with no apology. Once at table, many items of cutlery were also missing, resulting only in shrugs from the waiters. The first two courses of food were to a decent standard, but pudding consisted of a selection of cakes. Of these, some were underbaked and had not risen, so were dense in the middle, while every other one was dry. Our experience ended with tables being cleared while guests were still drinking their post prandial coffees, and then very long queues for the toilets allocated to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor.
On reading your review we are very concerned as a reputable five stars hotel about the comments that you write.
You are quite correct informing us of the issue you raised concerning the quality of service of our waiting staff.We will take immediate steps to ensure that re training is carried out in these areas of weakness so that it does not cause any distress to our valued guests in the future.We consider this a well noticed and constructive comment.Please accept our apologies if this spoilt your dining experience with us.
However,on reading your comments regarding our pastry chef, we find your views unacceptable.As you mention,the pastries that you descibe as' not risen' and 'dense in the middle' were infact oriental pastries which are both palatable and of an aquired consistency..
We are instructed and follow the exact requests of the company when catering for overday lunches and on this occasion the puddings/deserts consisted of a dry pastry buffet (without creams/custards/jellies) as per the companies requirements.
Also your comments regarding the function room:
We consider this to be a more than adequate venue to host such a large number of guests,this is a comfortable/ airconditioned environment which proves to be forever popular for many fuctions past and present.We are so proud to have such wonderful places to host our valued guests in.
Regarding the toilet issue:
We cannot give any explanation as to why there was a long queue for the WC....The only logical reasons for this would be that we had,as you mention, 300 dining guests and we feel that on these occasions it is acceptable to have a queue.We are sorry that you had to wait...
On viewing prevous excellent feedback which we receive frequently from our overday lunch events we feel that there is no direct concern regarding the food quality including the companies requested sweet menu.
We strive to maintain the excellent reputation that Steigenberger is so proud to have.
We hope that the remainder of your party enjoyed their dining experience with us.
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's a fantastic hotel - very good value for money. The staff is very good and helpful and the rooms are very clean, spacious and well decorated. We took a Nile view room and were amazed by the size of the balcony, it's easily one of the biggest balconies I've seen in a hotel. The swimming pool is of very good size and is heated so you won't feel a chill if you go in winters. Restaurants provide a good variety and the staff are more than happy to accommodate requests. The evening entertainment is also pretty good, although it can feel repeated after a couple of nights. The only gripe we had was about the spa - it's run by an external company and the service is bit of a let down given the high standard of everything else in the hotel. The location is excellent and there are many eating places nearby. Luxor temple and karnak temple are 5 minutes by taxi. Steigenberger was the highlight of our stay in Luxor and we'll definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite if you want a room with unrestricted views. The standard Nile View rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.We are delighted that you enjoyed your Nile view room with its fabulous views across the Nile....
Thank you especially for mentioning the restaurants,it is so important that our guests needs are idealy met in all the restaurants and we will try our utmost best if there are any special requests.However,we apologize if you were not entirely satisfied with the health club/spa within the hotel.We are so sorry if you felt let down with this.
We are so happy to hear that we were the highlight of your holiday and we hope to see you again.
Kindest egards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having stayed there last year and really enjoyed it we thought to try it again.We were not dissappointed again.Everyone is really helpful from room boy to the managers.It is in a great location near lots of restaurants and shops,especially egyptian tesco where Ashraf is very helpful with anything you want,also no hassel in his shop.Also just across the road is the king tut resturant if you fancy eating out,very clean and excellant food.The nile palace breakfeast is very good with much choice and good service.Must mention Ahmed the room service manager who always asks you if there is anything you want,very very polite.Also there is Alison customer relations manager who also is very obliging,if you want to know about local spices just ask her.
If you want a trip out anywhere I can certainly recommend Hany no1 as a tour guide phone number 002 01001065898 .we have used him many times and always find him reliable and a great guy to be with.Finally I would say that Luxor is a great place to visit,very safe,and the people very friendly,we have been coming here for last ten years and always had a great holiday.Nile palace keep up the good work.Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was lovely to read your constructive review and so happy that you returned once again to us at Steigenberger....
Many thanks for your comments about our staff and the splendid service that you received during your stay.We certainly will keep up the good work as you mention.
Positive and genuine reviews like yours inspire us and give us the incentive to go from strength to strength!
We hope that you will keep returrning and supporting Egypt through these trying times.
It was our pleasure once again to host such a lovely couple in our hotel...
Thank you once again for your kind review....
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just enjoyed a week at this lovely hotel, having decided we needed a break from the endlessly cold weather in Blighty I am very glad we chose this venue as it is pretty close to ideal. It's true that the décor is a little past it's best and some serious investment in a thorough refurbishment wouldn't go amiss, but in these financially restrained times it's understandable that the overlords back in Germany won't want to spend much cash on renovation. Believe me, most of the other Luxor hotels are crumbling away rapidly and in far worse condition than this one.
The beds are fantastically comfortable and the rooms well sound-insulated. There is just about everything the 5-star guest expects, including toiletries replenished twice daily, if required. . I did think it a bit of a shame they don't include tea and coffee facilities, unless you pay extra for them. Fortunately we brought our own with us.
We were very happy with the standard of cleanliness and comfort. Staff were mainly pleasant and willing to help (only the reception manager showed any signs of surliness). The included buffet breakfast was adequate, although the fruit juices left something to be desired. And hot pancakes would have been preferable. Nevertheless, there was sufficient choice and the quality was really good (this from a woman who won't eat halal so self-limits her choice of dishes).
My only 'constructive' criticism is that the restaurants could either charge a little less or offer a nightly set menu, priced in Egyptian pounds. I can't be bothered to convert US dollar prices and only discovered some of the food stations do include a fixed price menu on certain nights after we had checked out. It wasn't very obvious.
Luxor is a city fraught with hazards and this hotel is an oasis of calm and safety.If only they would clear away the touts gathered at the entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review here on Trip Advisor...
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed luxor and our hotel.We are happy to know that you found the hotel to be of excellent five star standards and all the amenities suited your needs.
We will bear your comments in mind regarding the payment in dollars at the restaurants.However, as you noticed following check out, we do offer a special set menu (in Egyptian pounds) which is very attractive and value for money for our guests in our beautiful Lebanese and Italian restaurants over 4 different nights,we apologize if you missed this opportunity.It was lovely to meet you and we wish you the best for your future travells.
We invite you to return at any time..
Kind regards.
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Nile palace is delighted to serve you with the highest quality service provided by the most professional and well trained Staff. Steigenberger Nile palace is branded in July 2007, Steigenberger Nile palace has a superb 304 Nile and patio view rooms, more over than 5 outlets are located to serve you during your accommodation. Enjoy the luxury in the heart of city of temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Venere, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.