We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Luxor
bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Five star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This 5 star hotel lives up to its star rating .The rooms are great and the and the service matches the same high standard, Set on the banks of the nile,with a great view of the west bank you can not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your five star review!!
We are delighted and proud to receive your comments about our hotel and the standard of service that you received.
Your review gives us the incentive to maintain the high standards that we currently hold.
Thank you for mentioning once again that our hotel was "faultless"...
We do hope to see you again and invite you back so that we can give you the best standard of service ever.....
Nile Palace awaits your return
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    371
    100
    43
    27
See reviews for
247
714
81
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were in a party of 300, on a tour of The Valley of the Kings, and the Temples at Luxor and Karnak. Lunch was provided as a buffet at this hotel. When we arrived we found ourselves in a vast room with minimal decoration, peopled by staff who exploded among themselves at frequent intervals. There was insufficient crockery to serve the guests, leaving us standing in line with no apology. Once at table, many items of cutlery were also missing, resulting only in shrugs from the waiters. The first two courses of food were to a decent standard, but pudding consisted of a selection of cakes. Of these, some were underbaked and had not risen, so were dense in the middle, while every other one was dry. Our experience ended with tables being cleared while guests were still drinking their post prandial coffees, and then very long queues for the toilets allocated to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor.
On reading your review we are very concerned as a reputable five stars hotel about the comments that you write.
You are quite correct informing us of the issue you raised concerning the quality of service of our waiting staff.We will take immediate steps to ensure that re training is carried out in these areas of weakness so that it does not cause any distress to our valued guests in the future.We consider this a well noticed and constructive comment.Please accept our apologies if this spoilt your dining experience with us.
However,on reading your comments regarding our pastry chef, we find your views unacceptable.As you mention,the pastries that you descibe as' not risen' and 'dense in the middle' were infact oriental pastries which are both palatable and of an aquired consistency..
We are instructed and follow the exact requests of the company when catering for overday lunches and on this occasion the puddings/deserts consisted of a dry pastry buffet (without creams/custards/jellies) as per the companies requirements.
Also your comments regarding the function room:
We consider this to be a more than adequate venue to host such a large number of guests,this is a comfortable/ airconditioned environment which proves to be forever popular for many fuctions past and present.We are so proud to have such wonderful places to host our valued guests in.
Regarding the toilet issue:
We cannot give any explanation as to why there was a long queue for the WC....The only logical reasons for this would be that we had,as you mention, 300 dining guests and we feel that on these occasions it is acceptable to have a queue.We are sorry that you had to wait...
On viewing prevous excellent feedback which we receive frequently from our overday lunch events we feel that there is no direct concern regarding the food quality including the companies requested sweet menu.
We strive to maintain the excellent reputation that Steigenberger is so proud to have.
We hope that the remainder of your party enjoyed their dining experience with us.
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's a fantastic hotel - very good value for money. The staff is very good and helpful and the rooms are very clean, spacious and well decorated. We took a Nile view room and were amazed by the size of the balcony, it's easily one of the biggest balconies I've seen in a hotel. The swimming pool is of very good size and is heated so you won't feel a chill if you go in winters. Restaurants provide a good variety and the staff are more than happy to accommodate requests. The evening entertainment is also pretty good, although it can feel repeated after a couple of nights. The only gripe we had was about the spa - it's run by an external company and the service is bit of a let down given the high standard of everything else in the hotel. The location is excellent and there are many eating places nearby. Luxor temple and karnak temple are 5 minutes by taxi. Steigenberger was the highlight of our stay in Luxor and we'll definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite if you want a room with unrestricted views. The standard Nile View rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.We are delighted that you enjoyed your Nile view room with its fabulous views across the Nile....
Thank you especially for mentioning the restaurants,it is so important that our guests needs are idealy met in all the restaurants and we will try our utmost best if there are any special requests.However,we apologize if you were not entirely satisfied with the health club/spa within the hotel.We are so sorry if you felt let down with this.
We are so happy to hear that we were the highlight of your holiday and we hope to see you again.
Kindest egards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having stayed there last year and really enjoyed it we thought to try it again.We were not dissappointed again.Everyone is really helpful from room boy to the managers.It is in a great location near lots of restaurants and shops,especially egyptian tesco where Ashraf is very helpful with anything you want,also no hassel in his shop.Also just across the road is the king tut resturant if you fancy eating out,very clean and excellant food.The nile palace breakfeast is very good with much choice and good service.Must mention Ahmed the room service manager who always asks you if there is anything you want,very very polite.Also there is Alison customer relations manager who also is very obliging,if you want to know about local spices just ask her.
If you want a trip out anywhere I can certainly recommend Hany no1 as a tour guide phone number 002 01001065898 .we have used him many times and always find him reliable and a great guy to be with.Finally I would say that Luxor is a great place to visit,very safe,and the people very friendly,we have been coming here for last ten years and always had a great holiday.Nile palace keep up the good work.Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was lovely to read your constructive review and so happy that you returned once again to us at Steigenberger....
Many thanks for your comments about our staff and the splendid service that you received during your stay.We certainly will keep up the good work as you mention.
Positive and genuine reviews like yours inspire us and give us the incentive to go from strength to strength!
We hope that you will keep returrning and supporting Egypt through these trying times.
It was our pleasure once again to host such a lovely couple in our hotel...
Thank you once again for your kind review....
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just enjoyed a week at this lovely hotel, having decided we needed a break from the endlessly cold weather in Blighty I am very glad we chose this venue as it is pretty close to ideal. It's true that the décor is a little past it's best and some serious investment in a thorough refurbishment wouldn't go amiss, but in these financially restrained times it's understandable that the overlords back in Germany won't want to spend much cash on renovation. Believe me, most of the other Luxor hotels are crumbling away rapidly and in far worse condition than this one.
The beds are fantastically comfortable and the rooms well sound-insulated. There is just about everything the 5-star guest expects, including toiletries replenished twice daily, if required. . I did think it a bit of a shame they don't include tea and coffee facilities, unless you pay extra for them. Fortunately we brought our own with us.
We were very happy with the standard of cleanliness and comfort. Staff were mainly pleasant and willing to help (only the reception manager showed any signs of surliness). The included buffet breakfast was adequate, although the fruit juices left something to be desired. And hot pancakes would have been preferable. Nevertheless, there was sufficient choice and the quality was really good (this from a woman who won't eat halal so self-limits her choice of dishes).
My only 'constructive' criticism is that the restaurants could either charge a little less or offer a nightly set menu, priced in Egyptian pounds. I can't be bothered to convert US dollar prices and only discovered some of the food stations do include a fixed price menu on certain nights after we had checked out. It wasn't very obvious.
Luxor is a city fraught with hazards and this hotel is an oasis of calm and safety.If only they would clear away the touts gathered at the entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review here on Trip Advisor...
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed luxor and our hotel.We are happy to know that you found the hotel to be of excellent five star standards and all the amenities suited your needs.
We will bear your comments in mind regarding the payment in dollars at the restaurants.However, as you noticed following check out, we do offer a special set menu (in Egyptian pounds) which is very attractive and value for money for our guests in our beautiful Lebanese and Italian restaurants over 4 different nights,we apologize if you missed this opportunity.It was lovely to meet you and we wish you the best for your future travells.
We invite you to return at any time..
Kind regards.
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I arrived at The Nile Palace Hotel on the 10th of April. Checking in was very easy and efficient. We were delighted by our partial river view room as by the time we got there the sun was just setting which was awe inspiring. We then went down to have our meal in the Lebanese restaurant and the food was absolutely out of this world, they even gave us the best birthday cake we had ever seen as I explained to the receptionist Alison that it was my wife's 40th birthday treat the holiday. We went on to eat in the same restaurant 5 more times. The waiter Amr gave us an Egyptian lesson every day which was fun and the chef thanked us every day for eating his food. The manager was very pleasant too. The Italians on the opposite side of the Atrium is very good as is the Nubian restaurant where you also get breakfast. Days by the pool are excellent, Ash always is there for you and takes great pride in the clients as well as the pools which are spotless. The place is a real beauty with the most helpful and polite charming staff you could wish to meet. The word no is not an option to these guys they are eager to treat you as a friend and to help you out any time. It is true Egypt has had its changes but you wont see any problems in Luxor, the locals love the tourists and they just need you to support them by going back to,Luxor or going to see it if you have not been. We had never been before but we will be back next year. So much to do and to see and on your relaxing days the Nile Palace is just what you need to put your feet up in such good weather. If you do go out there's a really nice guy called "Mr Chips" (Alaa Yasin) sits across the road from the hotel entrance who will take you to anywhere in a very nice taxi at a good price and wont hassle you into anything you don't want to do. He took us to his uncles restaurant Jana which was out of this world with gardens and fountains and really great staff, the food was excellent there too. For boat trips speak to Alex the Thomson rep about Said as he and Jasmine the tour guide will look after you on tour, we even had a nice lunch served to us on the boat on the Nile after a nice visit to many places which was really nice. All in all Luxor is a great place to go and no better place than the Nile Palace to look after you while your there. Support the locals they deserve it and i cannot recommend the Nile Place to highly as it was simply superb.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a partial river view room, they are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your Nile Palace experience review...
Thank you also for mentioning the efficiency of our staff whom we are so proud to have and we are delighted that you had a brilliant birthday celebration stay with your wife...
It was inspiring to learn that you enjoyed our famous Lebanese restaurant and we hope that the memories of your holiday with us at Steigenberger will stay in your hearts forever!
We hope that you will return next year as you mention in your review and become part of our family here at the Nile Palace...
We await your return to give you the very best service once again!!
Thank you for supporting us and also for your constructive comments about the lovely people of Luxor and their Egyptian culture.
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is excellently located in central Luxor and provides an easy base to visit other shops and restaurants. Do not be fooled into thinking you can't leave the hotel after dark, as we were told when we arrived. As long as you are as sensible as you would be in any other big city you won't have any problems. The breakfast has a wide variety of cuisine on offer. We ate twice at the pool bar where you got nice food but it is over priced for Egypt. The Lebanese restaurant was excellent and we actually ate twice here.

We had a superior room which meant tea making facilities were included and our room overlooked the Nile which meant for fantastic sunset views. The room was spacious and cool and had a fridge for keeping bottled water cold. It is worth getting this from the supermarkets for 1/5 of the price of the hotel and keeping it in your fridge. We also did this with a bottle of duty free from the plane which meant we could have a few sundowners on our balcony!

We also had a visit to the spa in the resort. Compared the the UK the prices were about half what we would pay, but not sure how it compared to other places in Luxor. However the treatments were lovely and the staff were really professional. The spa was a bit strangely laid out and we were walking across hall ways in our towels to get from treatment rooms to the sauna, but as we were the only people in there it wasn't a problem!

Staff around the resort were generally helpful and friendly, obviously all for baksheesh, but this is par for the course in Egypt. A bit disappointing that as we left and paid for the one item we had had out of the minibar the receptionist tried to over charge us. We're not sure why, but I had the price list which was in the room and argued the point with him.

All in all, a relaxing haven from the hurly burly of Luxor and the pool is a great place to cool off after a morning of visiting temples and tombs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review and for the title which descibes our hotel as 'beautiful'....
We are very happy that you were satisfied with your superior room with the wonderful panoramic views of the famous Nile.
However,we are disappointed that you thought that the service provided within the hotel was for the purpose of obtaining baksheesh.As a reputable five star hotel and taking into consideration the previous excellent comments here on Trip Advisor regarding our staff we feel very sad that you felt the staff were generally friendly and helpful for this reason...
Regarding your issue about the reception and the minibar: This issue has been adressed and has been dealt with accordingly.Please accept our sincere apologies if this upset you .The reason may have been a misunderstanding with the room service and reception and was not intentional, as you mention in your review that you 'were not sure why'.. Despite the issues that you raised in your review it seems that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed your time at our healthclub/spa.Thank you for mentioning the staff there and the lovely services that you received.....
We certainly hope that you will return at some point and enjoy more sundowners and the best sunsets in the world !!
Kind regards.
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Nile palace is delighted to serve you with the highest quality service provided by the most professional and well trained Staff. Steigenberger Nile palace is branded in July 2007, Steigenberger Nile palace has a superb 304 Nile and patio view rooms, more over than 5 outlets are located to serve you during your accommodation. Enjoy the luxury in the heart of city of temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.