We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the Nile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Luxor
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jewel of the Nile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful three days in Luxor. When we arrived, walking into the lobby area made us realize that we were walking into a luxury hotel! Our room overlooking the Nile was spectacular - the sunsets were amazing! The staff was very helpful and friendly, restaurants excellent and the feeling was great! I highly reccomend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It is lovely to receive comments from our guests worlwide especially from your fabulous city of New York!!
You seem to have experienced a very good stay with us and we are very pleased that you thought our hotel was of excelllent standards.
We hope that you will return one day should your travels bring you back this way.
Thank you once again...
Kind regards.
Alison Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    371
    100
    42
    26
See reviews for
247
715
81
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

During our stay in Hurghada we decided to book an overnight trip to Luxor with “ Tours From Hurghada.com”- already reviewed on a separate review – the hotel is GREAT hotel and the staff are very friendly, very clean and big rooms, the breakfast is SUPER. We really wish we could spend more time there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking your time to write a review here on Trip Advisor.
We hope that next time you will stay with us for a longer period.
It was a pleasure to know that you found our hotel to be of excellent standards especially the fantastic breakfast buffet provided by our very talented chefs...
Thank you once again
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from beautilful Luxor to cold UK, had the best time. Only let down was Steigenberger Hotel. We found after 4nights the hotel likes to promise guests everything they ask for only to charge and deceive their way to leave their guests out of pocket!
At the bar (the only area where there's free wifi), there is a glass display of an assortment of desserts. We asked staff if the display dishes is what we would get or a fresh one, we were told fresh. After ordering 6 different desserts, needless to say they were far from "fresh". The glass display was now suspiciously empty. After complaining and sending several of the desserts back, the waiter now had a very unhappy face and he called a duty manager over. After trying miserably to convince us they were freshly made, he went away and returned with two chefs in top chefs hats and clothing, appeared and advised us they were going to make us fresh desserts. (By this point it had almost been 90 mins since we sat down).
They would not accept no to dessert for an answer and eventually went away and returned within 6minutes with the kind of quality dessert we had initially thought we had ordered. Much improved second time round. I could not understand why they didn't serve the fresh ones right from the start like we had requested and had been promised. Instead, we lost faith in their integrity and after much time wasted, we eventually got the quality we wanted. I can only think they do this in hope that no one complains and they manage to sell the display cakes which have probably been there for a long time. (Just to give you an example, my raspberry cheesecake with raspberry purée was hard and the purée was so dry it looked like paint had dried on the plate.) I felt that if they could, they would have pulled the wool over our eyes. Not just on this occasion, but on many others.
No basic amenities to the rooms for example - a kettle for hot drinks. After thinking they must have forgotten to put one in, we ordered one through reception and it came. Only after did we find out we were being charged £5GBP for it PER DAY! I'm sorry but even Travelodges have kettles.
Loved Luxor, hated Steigenberger. Avoid unless you have zero standards/ expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review.
We are extremely sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. With regards to the incident in the hotel bar area which you mention in your review: Disciplinary action has been taken with the parties involved so that this does not occur again to our valued guests. However, as you mention in your review, the issue was promptly and efficiently dealt with by our talented chefs whom we are so proud of. The chefs took action immediately the information was passed to them and rectified the situation almost immediately. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive the fresh deserts in the first instance.
With regards to the kettle request: In the event of a guest requesting a kettle for tea and coffee making purposes, we always explain that there would be a charge for these daily facilities. It is normal and informative procedure to inform the guest of this and we apologize if you misunderstood that there would be a standard charge. We are presently doing research at the possibility of providing our guests with this facility without a charge in some of our room types. This may be implemented in the future, as to ensure our guests satisfaction.
We hope that you will return Egypt and visit our beautiful city of Luxor again.

Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at the Nile Palace on our last ten successive visits to Luxor. That in itself is high recommendation. We find it to be simply the most friendly and welcoming hotel that we have stayed in anywhere and after one or two visits the staff remember you, from Salah and Mohamed on the door to housekeeping your room and the attentive pool attendants.

The rooms are large and comfortable, with four foot twin beds and around six foot doubles. The views across the Nile from the front Nile View rooms are to die for and many a happy hour can be spent watching life on the river and beyond.

If I have a criticism it is that the lighting, particularly in the bathrooms, is less than adequate for the ladies to apply their make up. That aside we really enjoy going to the Nile Palace and hope to return again very soon.

Room Tip: I always prefer to be higher in an hotel so floors 3, 4 and 5 would be recommended. Front Nile View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive review.
It is always lovely to have comments from our regular guests concerning their stay.
We always remember our guests and make them feel welcome in their second home here at Nile Palace.We hope to see you again as you are such a lovely couple...
We hope that the weather in England is not too cold for you,The Egyptian sunshine here in Luxor awaits your return!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

we have just returned to the UK, after experiencing a wonderful two weeks in egypt. The first week we had an all inclusive week on the boat MAJIC 1, and it really was majic. It is very difficult to add to the reviews about either the weeks, cruise or the following week at the STEIGENBURGER hotel. We needed a week of rest, as the trip on the boat had involved a few early morning starts to visit various sites (all fantastic). We had read the reviews about the hotel, and it more than lived up to our expectations. The staff at the hotel are some of the best staff I have ever encounted. Nothing was too much trouble, and all with the most amazing smiles, and pleasantness. The egyption people are some of the niceset people I have ever met. They exude charm, and are a delight. We opted for a superior room overlooking the NILE. It was a very good choice. The views and location of our room (223) were just amazing. The egyptians need the tourists, as business has been hit, by the problems encountered in CAIRO. It is totally safe in luxor, and for us we experienced a new culture, and history of a country that we intend to return to, hopefully this year. Our information about the cruise and the hotel, had been gleaned off the trip advisor reviews. The hotel is exceptionally clean, room huge, it was well worth paying for the upgrade to a superior room. Breakfast excelllent, and the Italian restaurant in the hotel very good. We stayed on a B'B basis, and ventured out literally across the road for several evening meals. The LANTERNS,DEANO,S, THE PUDDLEDUCK ETC all very nice and reasonable. Please visit this wonderful, busy, chaotic city, and see life in all its rawness. THEY NEED THE TOURISTS, !!!!!!! Lorraine and Terry Collins.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the nile, are fantastic. Upgrade to a superior, and you will not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It is with delight that we read your kind review.
Thank you for mentioning the safety issues concerning Egypt,especially Luxor.
It is lovely and inspiring to know that you enjoyed the kindness,hospitality and cultural experiences that our beautiful city of Luxor offers.
It seems that you are now addicted and we truly hope that you will return,as you mention, and become part of our vast family here at Nile Palace.....
Many thanks for your heartfelt review...
Kind regards
Alison Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a dream hotel, beautiful location, amazing decor, attention to detail, swimming pool literally on Nile River. Massive choice for breakfast. Attentive staff, but not overly. Disappointed that a kettle for tea facilities would be an extra £5 per nite:( Evening entertainment between 8 and 10pm every night, including folkloric dancing, bellydancing, tannoura/ whirling Dirvish. 3 nice restaurants and overlooking a stunning courtyard with fountain.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a Nike view room, and on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
What a lovely review!!
Thank you so much for taking your time to write on Trip Advisor.
It was lovely to hear that all aspects of the hotel (including the beautiful breakfast buffet and entertainment) were of excellent standards.
We do hope that you will return to your "dream hotel" in the future...
Nile Palace awaits you!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice welcome,Clean and tidy with staff attentive to all our needs. We enjoyed our 3 nights along with the great breakfast,swimming pool and varied choice of restaurants and shops on site. Staff called us every day to ask if all was ok, nice touch. Entertainment every night in central atrium.great view of river Nile. It was just a shame some large cruis boat was docked next to our hotel with it's engine running Monday to Wednesday spewing out fumes. If possible this should not happen close to a supposed quiet restfull pool area. Otherwise a great place to stay. Will I return . Yes I will.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments here on wonderful Trip Advisor...
Special thanks for mentioning the staff which we are so proud to have...
It seems that you were happy with the food and all services that the hotel offer.
We apologize with regards to the cruise boats which have become quite a nuisance to our guests...The goverment are in the process of taking steps to resolve this problem so that our future guests are not effected,our guest satisfaction is so important to us and we really are tryng to resolve this issue.Despite this, it seems that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you sometime again in the near futrure.
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Nile palace is delighted to serve you with the highest quality service provided by the most professional and well trained Staff. Steigenberger Nile palace is branded in July 2007, Steigenberger Nile palace has a superb 304 Nile and patio view rooms, more over than 5 outlets are located to serve you during your accommodation. Enjoy the luxury in the heart of city of temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.