We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great stay with some nice touches.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Overall a great stay with some nice touches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First impressions are so important, and they impressed me. The hotel was kind enough to give us 2 rooms with an interconnecting door (without being asked), a little thing but it made our 7 night stay easier and more flexible. I loved our rooms with Nile view balconies; I would never get bored of watching the Nile and the valley of the Kings at sunset with the call to prayer echoing over the water. A Nile view room is very worth it. If you take a side view room ask for a room on the right hand side (if facing the Nile) as the hotel is horseshoe shaped and it will block your own view of the Valley of the Kings however it will still be a great view. Bring mini binoculars too as you can see a lot - even Queen Hatshepsut's temple - from the hotel if the sunlight is right.
We ate at the Lebanese which was excellent and they kindly let one of our party have Italian from the other restaurant, I guess this was more accommodating because there was a lack of tourists? The meat and fish in the Lebanese was excellent. The Italian was reasonably good. The cafe food was good too. Our favourite by far was the Thai restaurant, it looks over the Nile, has a Thai chef and lovely staff. They also offer the menu as pool snacks during the day. We also ate at 2 of the pool bars and this food was well cooked too. Overall food was very reliable and catered to most family tastes easily. Not quite enough variety to keep us interested for a week tho.
Breakfast was good, good choice and a eggs station for omelette and such.
(As an aside we also ate at the Sheraton, they welcomed us, offered us a discount on the buffet. The food was excellent with some traditional Egyptian dishes and they have a chef station making you dishes while you wait. We also ate at the Isis they have Italian and Chinese restaurants but because if the lack of tourists they'd move all the seating into a single main restaurant. It was cute that they'd laid out separate sections of tables in Chinese style and Italian style so you still got the 'flavour'.
We also had afternoon tea at the Winter Palace which was a nice experience but a little overrated. )
We'd normally go to more local restaurants but we had my parents with us and were given lots of dire warnings about Egypt-belly even by our Kuoni Rep so we played it safe.
As with many other reviewers we used taxis: Mr Fish and his 'nephew' Mr Bob. Always courteous and helpful.
For water turn left out of the hotel and there is an excellent, clean little supermarket just next door.
The bank at this hotel is not 24 hour but we did manage to use it a few times during the day. There is a pharmacy in the front if the hotel too. There is wifi but only in the pool, patio and bar areas.
I took the tea tray at £25 for the week, extra cups meant we shared it between the 2 rooms, it was well stocked and always replenished with extras if you needed.
We also took a felucca ride from the hotel, pre-agreed time and at a standard rate per hour, no haggling for once. If you get the chance, go with Captain Ash, he's a funny, knowledgeable and eloquent man, we learned a lot and had a lovely time.
My only real complaint is that the hotel on the left next to this one allows the large cruise ships to moor on its banks, this meant out first 3 days were plagued with diesel fumes and a constant vibration and rumble from the constantly running generators, it really did take the edge off our experience. My boyfriend found this particularly troubling and difficult to sleep. It also spoils the poolside atmosphere even though it doesn't block the view. I'm told such mooring is not actually permitted and is done outside the law, the Nile Palace should do more the get it stopped.
I would happily return to this hotel.
My other Egypt review is of Le Meridien Pyramids at Giza.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
What a lovely review!!We are extremely pleased that you had a memorable and excellent stay with us.It is always a bonus for us to receive constructive comments regarding the staff and service.From reading your extensive review we feel that you had a lovely stay with us.Thank you for mentioning our restaurants in the hotel.As always, we are proud of our talented chefs who provide fantastic dining options.We always like to ensure that all of our guests are individually catered for and happy with their dining arrangements throughout their stay.
We aplologize for the cruise boat issue that you raised in your review:We are really trying our very best to resolve this problem.As mentioned previously on Trip Advisor we are currently working with the Environment agency to try and move the boats.
It seems that you enjoyed the holiday with your parents and we hope that you will return sometime in the future....Nile Palace awaits you!!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    380
    104
    44
    26
See reviews for
257
739
85
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just came back from an excellent holiday in Luxor staying at the Nile Palace hotel. I was a little worried before going with regards to recent trouble in Cairo but I need not have worried at all. The town was a little quiet as others must have had similar worries but what a mistake!! The hotel was excellent the staff could not be more helpful and the location and services were top class. The main restaurant overlooks the Nile and breakfast was particularly good with a wide range of different foods and attentive helpful staff. Don't be put off going to Egypt it is a great place and this hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: I chose a room overlooking the inner square of the hotel (rather than a Nile view room) where restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It was nice to know that you felt very safe in Luxor despite the recent troubles in far away Cairo.
We are also delighted that you found all aspects of our hotel to be of an excellent standard.Thank you inparticular for mentioning the very good breakfast choice that we provide,we really do try to accomodate everyones needs/tastes.
It is so important that guests like yourselves leave our hotel with nothing but good memories and so important to us that all the comments are positive concerning our staff and service provided.
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had great trip to Luxor in February- particularly helped by this relaxing hotel - breakfast was a really good range of choices while sitting looking over the Nile. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff more than willing to help with anything. I've never written a review before but was prompted by the situation in Egypt putting people off - don't let it. This was a great holiday and an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Nile are more expensive but a great way to start and end the day. My friend ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It was a pleasure to hear that you experienced a great trip and stay with us at Steigenberger.
Thank you for placing your review here on Trip Advisor .We hope that future guests will read your comments and take into account that Luxor really is a safe and wonderful place to visit!
We hope that you will return and enjoy more of the memorable views of the Nile.
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel on the nice, great views, rooms, food, entertainments and memories. I will go back one day and I will stay here.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a typical international style hotel. Absolutely no complaints but also nothing memorable.
After having been touring for 15 days the hotel was very relaxing located on the banks of the Nile.
The hotel is about 15-20 minute walk from the centre but it is a pleasant walk along the corniche.
With tourism down there is a lot of pressure to choose one taxi or horse drawn carriage over another operator.
We found the taxi's e.g. Mr Fish and Mr Chips located outside the hotel were honest and there was no pressure.

Room Tip: Nile side rooms are significantly more expensive but are obviously more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday following your tours of Egypt.
As you highlight in your comments,we hope that the tourists levels will improve in the near future.As we are post revolution here in Egypt ,the situation should improve,God willing.
We hope to have the continued support from guests like yourselves as Luxor is a safe and beautiful city filled with masses of historical delights...
We invite you to return for another holiday should your travels bring you this way again!!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in February 2013. Couldn't be happier with the choice. The hotel looks really nice, the room was both great and a great deal (it didn't have a Nile view, which would be even better), everyone was nice (which is apparently a constant, at least *within* the hotel premisses, all around Egypt), and the breakfast was very tasty. Watch out for the happy hour at the hotel bars - the view over the Nile at sunset in their balcony is something else...
The only issue I would point out with the hotel is that it's a 15-to-20 min walk from the town centre. Not that that's bad in itself, but it always implies having somebody trying to sell things to you (or just overpaying for a taxi) on the way there - which is something particularly true of Luxor, one of the places most affected by the loss of tourists due to the current political/economic/social unrest - not that any of this unrest is visible as one walks around the city, which I did, for miles and miles, either during the day or at night.
In short, unless there was an even better deal at another 5-star hotel nearer to the centre (and that would always depend on the hotel in question), it's hard to think of a better place to stay in Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
A review like yours is so encouraging for the team here at our beautiful Steigenberger Nile Palace.It appears from reading your review that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. It was delightful to learn that you took advantage of our special offer 'happy hours' in the bars within the hotel.We offer this to our guests so that they may relax or 'chill out' undisturbed on our panoramic Nile lounge bar terrace and absorb the breathtaking sunsets across the river Nile...
It was reasurring for us to read that you understood and sympathized with the situation in Egypt at present regarding the unwanted 'hassle'.However, this did not seem to spoil your ventures outside the hotel as you mention.
We are pleased that you made the best choice of staying with us at Nile Palace!!
We invite you to return at any time...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for 2weeks from 30th Jan 2013 and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. The staff are attentive, polite and very helpful and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. we had requested a Nile view room and got just that - room 321 has great view of the Nile and is west facing so great for sunsets too.
Also requested breakfast in room day after arrival as my Wifes birthday and this was tremendous "feast" - followed later by a cake which was a lovely touch.
Pool area is excellent & spotlessly maintained by Ashraf - a lovely guy always happy to chat and make sure you are comfortable.Just like all the other staff we encountered !!
Alison & Veronica on Guest Relations Desk extremely helpful and knowledgeable and daily room service ensured room kept spotlessly clean with daily sheets/towels change.
Breakfasts were very good with a great selection - including Porridge - which was extremely good. Dinner was slightly dissappointing for those of us on half board as the hotel was less than 49% full so dinner was a set menu albeit with some choice it was not up to standard of the buffet. We did howevr get a 40% discount in the on-site Italian & Lebonese restaurants which were good.
Would ( in fact already have ) recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: Rooms from 10 to 25 on each floor will have best views of sunsets over Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.It really means a great deal to us when our guests leave happy and inspired.
Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff,it is always a pleasure for us to receive a positive review.I am sure that your comments will be more than appreciated.
It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the arrangements that we made for your wifes birthday breakfast feast! I am sure that these wonderful memories of your holiday will stay with her.
It was our pleasure to host such a lovely couple in our hotel and we would like to meet you again sometime in the future...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.