We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location on Nile is biggest plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location on Nile is biggest plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a typical international style hotel. Absolutely no complaints but also nothing memorable.
After having been touring for 15 days the hotel was very relaxing located on the banks of the Nile.
The hotel is about 15-20 minute walk from the centre but it is a pleasant walk along the corniche.
With tourism down there is a lot of pressure to choose one taxi or horse drawn carriage over another operator.
We found the taxi's e.g. Mr Fish and Mr Chips located outside the hotel were honest and there was no pressure.

Room Tip: Nile side rooms are significantly more expensive but are obviously more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday following your tours of Egypt.
As you highlight in your comments,we hope that the tourists levels will improve in the near future.As we are post revolution here in Egypt ,the situation should improve,God willing.
We hope to have the continued support from guests like yourselves as Luxor is a safe and beautiful city filled with masses of historical delights...
We invite you to return for another holiday should your travels bring you this way again!!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    377
    102
    42
    26
See reviews for
255
735
82
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in February 2013. Couldn't be happier with the choice. The hotel looks really nice, the room was both great and a great deal (it didn't have a Nile view, which would be even better), everyone was nice (which is apparently a constant, at least *within* the hotel premisses, all around Egypt), and the breakfast was very tasty. Watch out for the happy hour at the hotel bars - the view over the Nile at sunset in their balcony is something else...
The only issue I would point out with the hotel is that it's a 15-to-20 min walk from the town centre. Not that that's bad in itself, but it always implies having somebody trying to sell things to you (or just overpaying for a taxi) on the way there - which is something particularly true of Luxor, one of the places most affected by the loss of tourists due to the current political/economic/social unrest - not that any of this unrest is visible as one walks around the city, which I did, for miles and miles, either during the day or at night.
In short, unless there was an even better deal at another 5-star hotel nearer to the centre (and that would always depend on the hotel in question), it's hard to think of a better place to stay in Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
A review like yours is so encouraging for the team here at our beautiful Steigenberger Nile Palace.It appears from reading your review that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. It was delightful to learn that you took advantage of our special offer 'happy hours' in the bars within the hotel.We offer this to our guests so that they may relax or 'chill out' undisturbed on our panoramic Nile lounge bar terrace and absorb the breathtaking sunsets across the river Nile...
It was reasurring for us to read that you understood and sympathized with the situation in Egypt at present regarding the unwanted 'hassle'.However, this did not seem to spoil your ventures outside the hotel as you mention.
We are pleased that you made the best choice of staying with us at Nile Palace!!
We invite you to return at any time...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for 2weeks from 30th Jan 2013 and had a wonderfully relaxing stay. The staff are attentive, polite and very helpful and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. we had requested a Nile view room and got just that - room 321 has great view of the Nile and is west facing so great for sunsets too.
Also requested breakfast in room day after arrival as my Wifes birthday and this was tremendous "feast" - followed later by a cake which was a lovely touch.
Pool area is excellent & spotlessly maintained by Ashraf - a lovely guy always happy to chat and make sure you are comfortable.Just like all the other staff we encountered !!
Alison & Veronica on Guest Relations Desk extremely helpful and knowledgeable and daily room service ensured room kept spotlessly clean with daily sheets/towels change.
Breakfasts were very good with a great selection - including Porridge - which was extremely good. Dinner was slightly dissappointing for those of us on half board as the hotel was less than 49% full so dinner was a set menu albeit with some choice it was not up to standard of the buffet. We did howevr get a 40% discount in the on-site Italian & Lebonese restaurants which were good.
Would ( in fact already have ) recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: Rooms from 10 to 25 on each floor will have best views of sunsets over Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.It really means a great deal to us when our guests leave happy and inspired.
Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff,it is always a pleasure for us to receive a positive review.I am sure that your comments will be more than appreciated.
It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the arrangements that we made for your wifes birthday breakfast feast! I am sure that these wonderful memories of your holiday will stay with her.
It was our pleasure to host such a lovely couple in our hotel and we would like to meet you again sometime in the future...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is good and has a good deck over the Nile. Swimming pool is also good and the internal hotel square has night shows with egyptian culture. There are also 4 types of restaurants inside the hotel. Breakfast is average. It is not a bad hotel, rooms are clear and service is good. However, it is time to have a refurbishment in the hotel because it is becoming a little bit old. It is conveniently located in the main avenue, but going out is difficult because sellers will not give a break (but it is all over Egypt).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It was very kind of you to place your review on Trip Advisor.Thank you for mentioning all the amenities that we offer including the restaurants/entertainment.We are glad that these met your expectations.
However, we are sorry you feel that the hotel is in need of refurbishment and if we can improve in any areas we feel appropriate we will do so.
It seems that you understand and sympathize the hard times (post revolution) that Egypt is suffering by your comments regarding the attention received outside of the hotel.
We invite you to return at any time and enjoy another weeks stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel and it was a fantastic bolt-hole from the tourist sites.
The room was attended twice a day and we felt really special staying here.

The staff were helpful, friendly and respectful which was so important as I was on my own with my young daughter. Breakfast was a fantastic spread of many different tastes, overseen by Mohammed who was charming. The pool is on the bank of the Nile, with a terrace view to the Valley of the Kings, the pool attendants were always helpful, and Ashraf particularly remembered us by name.

We ate dinner in the Italian and Thai restaurants and always enjoyed the food. There is a show every night, which was ok, but loud if you want to get an early night. We didn't move room as my daughter enjoyed watching the show from our balcony and we found we were so tired we could sleep through it!

Top tip: we found a gem of a taxi driver outside called Oscar, with car 15. You can ask the hotel to call him. He was very respectful and totally reliable with very good english, we used him every day.

Room Tip: A room with Nile View would be brilliant. Patio room means overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.
We are very happy that you and your daughter departed from the hotel with fond memories.
Special thanks for mentioning 'Mohamed' in the Nubian restaurant and 'Ashraf'' at the swimming pool.
We are very proud to have such lovely staff in our hotel which is often highlighted here on the Trip Advisor reviews.
We strive to maintain excellent standards of service and appreciate your comments very much.
We hope that you both return to enjoy another wonderful stay with us.
'Thank you' for staying with us.it was our pleasure to host you in our Steigenberger Nile Palace hotel!
Kindest regrds
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent the most marvellous two weeks in January at your hotel - all the staff without exception were extremely polite and friendly and would go out of their way to make sure any needs you might have were met. The quality of service really was outstanding.
We ate in both the Lebonese and Italian restaurants within the hotel where the food and service were excellent. We had a few dietary needs and Omar, the assistant Executive Chef came to see us personally and so he could cater accordingly which was amazing.
We had booked a nile view room which did not disappoint. The room was very spacious and had a huge balcony with a beautiful view of the boats on the Nile and the Valley of the Kings in the distance.
A wonderful holiday - thank you to everyone.

H. Smith

Room Tip: Nile view rooms are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It was extremely nice to receive your kind and positive comments.
Thank you for mentioning our staff and the oustanding service they provided for you,it was a pleasure to read!
We are so happy that you enjoyed the food in the restaurants and the service from our very talented Chef Omar there.
Your wonderful comments encourage us to provide only the best proffesional services to our guests past and present.
We certainly hope that you will return for another two weeks stay with us to relax and enjoy the beautiful views and the individed attention that you so well deserve!!
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWEngland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Nile Palace for a week , bed and breakfast, in a partial Nile view room. The hotel is large but beautifully designed and fitted out with sweeping staircases, wide and airy public spaces and everywhere faced with marble and granite.The enclosed courtyard is quite unique reminiscent of an Austrian castle internal courtyard or even a chateau, and entirely separate from the horseshoe shaped Nile facing terraces. The pool is open yet sheltered from the breeze and is ideal for sun bathing and swimming.
Our room was adequately large and well appointed with a very comfortable queen size bed. The room was well serviced and cleaned daily. The partial Nile view , to the south and west in our case, is also entirely adequate without the expense of the larger full Nile view rooms. The furnishings are begining to show their age but are still in good condition.
The Nubian restaurant provides a varied and comprehensive choice for breakfast and coffee is constantly topped up by smiling , courteous staff. The evening set menu is 5 courses with a mixture of cuisines and is good value at 130LE. The meals are always beautifully presented. We only experienced one buffet , Indian, but Indian it wasn't. The food was still entirely acceptable, some courses very tasty but it was less good value than the set menu.
The A La Carte restaurants are all very well worth a visit: a good standard Italian, an interesting Thai with the best view table in town and a Lebanese with good cold and hot mezzes but less authentic main courses.
The entertainment will depend upon your taste. Every night in the courtyard there are dancers, the inevitable and less than authentic belly dancer, group choreography loosely based upon traditional Middle Eastern dance and a whirling dervish type dance which is actually very good indeed.
The staff were outstandingly friendly , courteous and responsive. There was none of the hassle described aby another client on this page, far from it, the staff were attentive without being intrusive once.They never sought tips and went out of their way to be helpful.
The only drawback to this hotel is the 2 cruise boats moored next door. They were there for 3 days out of 7, diesel engines continuosly running with the inevitable diesel smoke , fumes and noise, making the south end of the river terrace unusable at times.

Room Tip: Avoid the street facing rooms and if you go for a courtyard room book those on higher floors. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review .It appears from reading your brilliant review that you enjoyed you one week stay with us.Thank you for mentioning in detail our fabulous restaurants and the service that you experienced throughout the hotel.It was a joy to know that you thought that all of our staff were so polite,courteous and responsive...
However,as you mention we do have to adress any negative comments on Trip Advisor by our loyal guests to maintain the excellent name that Steigenberger holds and also to prevent any reoccurance,
Our guests are very important to us and their satisfaction and our loyalty to them comes first.
It was a pleasure to host you in our hotel and we do hope to meet you again sometime in the near future!
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Nile palace is delighted to serve you with the highest quality service provided by the most professional and well trained Staff. Steigenberger Nile palace is branded in July 2007, Steigenberger Nile palace has a superb 304 Nile and patio view rooms, more over than 5 outlets are located to serve you during your accommodation. Enjoy the luxury in the heart of city of temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.