We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“been 3 times and its the best hotel in Luxor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“been 3 times and its the best hotel in Luxor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have traveled to this hotel 3 times over a number of years.
I can not fault this hotel, it is flawless. It is so clean and well kept.
The room are spacious and well designed.
The pool is on the small side, but a lot of the guests go out and do a lot of trips so its always very quiet.
The courtyard is lovely on a night time, and we often ate at the Italian and Lebanese restaurants which are very well priced, while watching a show that the hotel put on.
I have to say if you are going to go to valley of the kings or other trips, please just ask reception to get you a taxi, and go yourself, because you will save a small fortune.
The taxi driver will stay with you all day if you want. and look after you well.
Dont be scared to go outside into the streets on a nighttime, there are many lovely restaurants for very cheap within walking distance, you will soon get used to the hassle, its best to say "no thanks" and keep walking, don't stop!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive review...
It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel.It was lovely to hear that you thought our hotel was "flawless".Thank you for also mentioning the very good value/standard of restaurants that we offer within the hotel.
It seems that you had a memorable stay with us and we invite you to return for a fourth time!
Kindest regards
Alison
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    407
    107
    50
    26
See reviews for
281
781
95
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed two nights before startign a cruise and had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable, we loved the pool area and the breakfast was great. We were given a courtyard view, which meant we could watch the entertainment from the balcony. The entertainment stops at 10pm so there were no noise issues when trying to get to sleep, though we were woken in the night by the cleaning staff calling to each other as they worked.

But that was our only, minor complaint. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel and would certainly visit again. Tourism in Egypt is very quiet at the moment due to concerns over the security situation, but we had no bad experiences whatsoever during our visit. Staff everywhere went out of their way to make us comfortable.

We wold happily recommend an Egyptian holiday at th emoment, and the Steigenberger is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It was good to hear that you enjoyed your two nights stay with us prior to your cruise.
Thank you for your lovely review.
With regards to the Housekeeping issue: we sincerely apologize and adressed this matter immediately, training the staff concerned to ensure that this does not repeat itself.
We invite you to return for a longer stay with us next time!
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just Love this Hotel, been going here for the 5th year running and will go back again this year, the staff are very freindly, help you in every way. The breakfast is brilliant, the coffee just keeps coming, we take are last cup onto the terrace to see the nile and the West side, the Hotel is very clean, and the shower is great, Even have English Television, in Europe some places don't. The court yard has got entertainment for you as well, so you can have a coffee and relax. Really been spoilt at the Steingberger. Just a great Hotel. We would really miss this hotel as we call it our home.
Cannot understand why people give this Hotel negative feed back, you only have to ask the staff and they will try there best for you.

Room Tip: Every room is a good size, we have had a nile view, and a court room view with entertainment, to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It is truly wonderful that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again for another memorable stay.Thank you for sharing your experience.It really means a great deal to us when our guests leave happy and inspired.We look forward to seeing you again..your second home awaits.
Kind regards.
Alison
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel and our room had a very pleasant view of the patio / entertainment area. We worried initially that it would be too noisy above the evening entertainment area, but this was not the case. The most disappointing thing for us was asking for a double room and being told that there was only a twin room available, despite the hotel appearing not to be booked to capacity. This meant for us that we squeezed into one of the beds each night (they did push the two beds together for us but that ended up with an uncomfortable ridge in the middle) and having space in the room taken up by the superfluous other bed. Apart from this the hotel room was pleasant with a reasonable sized bathroom.

Breakfast was disappointing - everything was OK but nothing stood out as being of high standard, and in fact the stewed filtered coffee was undrinkable most mornings. On a couple of mornings we were seated near the door and were in a cold draught, and so on our 3rd morning we insisted on sitting elsewhere. On one day I ordered poached eggs from the buffet and went to cook some toast in the toaster, only to come back for my eggs to find the chef had served 4 people who had come after me, so my toast went cold while I waited for him to finish their orders and then do mine. Waiters were not particularly attentive at breakfast service and in fact on the morning before we checked out waiters seated other guests at our table twice when we moved away to get breakfast items from the buffet. On the 1st occasion we just took another table as we hadn't started eating, but on the 2nd we told the waiter who had already seated another guest and moved our coffee cups and napkins - he moved the other guest but did not replace coffee cups or napkins until we specifically requested he do so. Tables were not cleaned properly between guests either - neither was cutlery replaced - missing cutlery items were placed with remaining items and place mats were not wiped or shaken clean.

On the day of the appalling breakfast service, one of the customer care representatives happened to ask us how everything was going - we were honest with her and she was very apologetic. The next day we were looked after extremely well by the head waiter at breakfast, who pretty much gave us table service, however, this in itself was a little embarrassing as we were treated much differently to other guests. On the day we left the customer care rep asked whether we had received a basket of fruit as a token of the hotel's apologies but no such basket was delivered to our room.

The pool area is nice with a pretty view of the Nile, and we had a very nice lunch one day in the Thai restaurant. The gym was a fair size; however, we were unable to use the treadmills on 2 occasions due to power cuts. There was a particularly friendly doorman on the front door who always had a nice smile for everyone, and some of the other doormen sometimes smiled too - others sometimes opened doors and sometimes did not.

All in all, this is a nice hotel but we felt it was not worth the $130 per night we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that your experience was not perfect in every respect as we wished it to be.
At the time of the issues during your stay with us we felt that you remained satisfied following your meeting with Management.
We apologize if our waiting staff made you feel uncomfortable when correcting your issues: This was our way of ensuring that you remained happy with breakfast.
We also apologize for the bed situation,if we had been aware of this and that you were so unfortable we would of correced this issue for you immediately.
Unfortunately,we cannt be held responsible for the power cuts in Luxor.
However,thank you for praising our smiling doorman and we apologize if you found any of the staff to be lacking in friendliness.
We hope that these issues will not deter you from staying with Steigenberger in the future.You are welcome anytime
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed over New Year for the second year running and it didn't disappoint. Only 5 hours or so from London to get warmth, sunshine and total relaxation. All the staff we encountered were as friendly and helpful as the previous year. The lads by the pool looked after us well and are very personable. We chose to eat out this year for a change but the hotel breakfast was excellent and it was not a problem when we asked for peppermint tea every morning. We did also partake of the New Year's Eve dinner which is a truly magnificent culinary experience. The setting on the Nile is the perfect place to chill out and the sunsets are wonderful. It is a shame that they are suffering from lack of tourists - we felt perfectly at ease in and out of the hotel. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Nile facing rooms with balconies are worth paying a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and constructine comments.
It was a joy to hear that you enjopyed the New Years celebrations for the second time...
It seems that you found all aspects of the hotel to be of an high standard once again.We strive to maintain a very good service for our guests so that guests like you will keep returning time and time again!!
We invite you to return to us for a third stay in the near future...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel! We went to the New Year's Eve party in the hotel and this made our new year perfect! We enjoyed every second of the party and our stay here. Once again my husband and I were made to feel very welcome by all those who work here! I class this hotel as my second home when I'm in Luxor and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Caroline & Tamer UK

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review.
It was a pleasure to host such a wonderful couple in our hotel once again!
We hope that you will both keep returning to your second home here at the Nile Palace...
We are delighted that you enjoyed the spectacular New Years eve celebrations with us.
Please treasure the memories in your hearts until next time...
Kind regards
Alison
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week in September 2012@the Steigenberger - neither of us could fault anything about the hotel, food , service , rooms, and entertainment.The staff are fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. It is such a pity that more tourists are not visiting Luxor - it is so far away from the troubles of Cairo , it could be in a different country.We are planning a return visit in April as we enjoyed our first visit so much . Cannot wait !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking yourr time to place your comments regarding your one week stay back in September 2012...
It means so much to us that our guests leave satisfied and happy.
Many thanks for mentioning the political situation in Egypt in particular Cairo: we hope that these issues do not deter our future guests from booking a vacation in Luxor as it is so safe and a wonderful historical place not to be missed!
We look forward to your return in April so that we can give you our undivided attantion as you so well deserve
Kind regrds
Alison
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.