We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Overlooking the Nile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location Overlooking the Nile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located on the Nile at Luxor this well appointed hotel ticks most boxes. Our room was attractive with spacious bathroom and quiet air conditioner, unfortunately Tea and Coffee making services were not supplied, but can be obtained at extra cost. The pool area offers panoramic views across the Nile to the West Bank. There are Italian, Lebanese, Thai and Nubian restaurants in the hotel. We ate at both the Italian and Lebanese restaurants, the food was great and the prices reasonable. Each night a show of belly dancers and whirling dervishes can be viewed in the central courtyard. Internet and Wifi are available at a charge 100 Egyptian pounds for 24 hours. Next door at the Lotus Hotel foyer you can use their internet at 10 E Pounds for 30 min.There is a small mini mart and small Tesco near by. Neither display prices, however they charged pretty much the same prices as elsewhere. Across the road from the hotel and about 30 metres to the left there is a side street, just past Tesco's you will find Goan Restaurant. The food and drink are very good and the prices about a third less than in the hotel. Immediately opposite the hotel is a lane, a short distance down this lane is the Aboudi Bookstore. This is an excellent place to purchase books or trinkets with none of the usual sales pressure.

Room Tip: There are Central Court Yard rooms and Nile View rooms. The central courtyard is very attractive ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
We always appreciate reviews from all over the world and it was a pleasure for us to host you in our hotel.
Thank you for stressing the quality of our in hotel restaurants. May we mention that they are very popular and convenient with our guests; we have a wide choice to suit everyone’s needs. We are very proud to have excellent service and outstanding chefs there that will try to please at all times.
Should your travels bring you to Egypt again from Australia we hope that you will stay with Steigenberger for a second time!
Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    371
    100
    43
    27
See reviews for
247
714
81
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Smithfield, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a perfect hotel for relaxing after visiting the ancient ruins of Egypt!
Everything you need to relax can be found there a wonderful outdoor pool, courtyard tables in a beautiful open air center court, even a tennis court on the roof. The service is exemplary and the accommodations comfortable. Don't forget to check out the Italian restaurant .The mushroom soup there is the best mushroom soup I have ever had!

Room Tip: The rooms looking in to the courtyard have pretty patio. Or you may wish a view of the NIle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review.
It seems on reading your review that you found all aspects of the hotel to be of an excellent standard.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the antiquities and the history that Luxor is so proud and fortunate to have.
We welcome you back at anytime to our wonderful hotel in a beautiful city!!
Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. It was in great location with a view of the valley of the Kings from our Nile view room. Very spacious , rooms clean but disappointedly one has to pay for the usual complimentary tea and coffee. Hotel quite empty and restaurants looked bereft!! great pool area and all staff very helpful. Would definitely recommend it to others spending a few days in Luxor

Room Tip: Nile view perhaps 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to know that you found the location ideal for your two nights stay with us…
We apologize if you were offended about the charge which comes with the tea and coffee making facilities.
Thank you once again for recommending our hotel and we are sure should you return to Luxor that you would stay with us again, maybe for a longer pried next time…
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our first experience of this great hotel, towels changed more than once a day if you wish, staff all very friendly especially the front doorman, always a wave and nice welcome after a long day sight seeing. Gym good free open 8 am till 7 at night so plenty of time to get your workout in lol, decent equipment easy to use.
We were on bed n breakfast which was vast with plenty of choice to suit all tastes, plenty of choice in hotel with italian, lebonise and thai and english food available.
We had a room with view over the courtyard and hardly heard the show if the patio windows were shut, it was a very large twin room with two queen size beds.
We found a good local taxi service was Mr Fish with lots of local knowledge and we can highly recomend a newly opened resturant/cafe in karnack called Jana good food at a good price.

Room Tip: twin room beds plenty big enough for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It was a pleasure for us to receive such positive comments regarding your stay with us. Your comments concerning our staff will be conveyed to them and they will be appreciated.
We are also delighted that you experienced an excellent first stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning the hotel gym, this is free to all of our guests and available daily.
We invite you to return for a second stay and we will make it as memorable as your first!!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel is ok, BUT:
No free wifi, no wifi at all in the rooms
The breakfast is miocre, the orange juice is instant drink and there is no water unless you pay for it.
The inner rooms are very noise until 22.30 at least.
The hotel doesn't have a parking

This canot be a 5- star hotel even in Egipt.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to place your opinions here on Trip Advisor.
We apologize if you were upset by the internet charges. As explained previously, we provide an outstanding service with the support of Iban one of the best internet providers here in Egypt along with a 24 hour accessible business centre available to all of our guests.
We take into consideration the orange juice at breakfast comment and will improve as and where possible.
With regards to the car parking facilities: we have private parking for our guests upon request. Parking directly outside the hotel for long periods is not a safe and legal option for our guests. .
Should your travels bring you this way again, you are more than welcome to stay with us again…
Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Returned to this hotel after a previous stay, the standard is just as high as before, very friendly and helpfull staff. Above all clean and bedding changed regurlarly, very important if staying more than one or two nights. We stayed half board, the food was very good especially the nights with a set menu. Our only complaint was the old cruise boats belonging to the hotel next door, who were moored so the noise and fumes faced the Nile Palace. Apart from that looking from our balcony at the Nile, the sunsets and Hatsepshuts? temple was fabulous! The travel rep in the hotel was very reliable and understood what we wanted. (There Alison, good enough?)

Room Tip: Any rooms overlooking the Nile are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your prompt and fabulous review!
It was our pleasure to host a wonderful couple like yourselves in our hotel. We hope that you will keep returning, as now you are considered two of our treasured guests….
Many thanks for your opinions on our restaurants and the set menu (special offers). It is always good for us to receive positive feedback which gives us the encouragement to go from strength to strength…
Also, your comments about our Thomas Cook travel desk assisting you with your tours.
We truly hope that you will return for a third time.
Steigenberger Nile Palace awaits you!!
Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Steigenberger hotel is very centrally located. The rooms are clean, comfortable and a decent size. My favourite was the fact that we had a balcony. My least favourite was that our room overlooked the courtyard which is very full in the evenings and has a nightly show from 8 - 10 pm making it difficult to get to sleep anytime before 11 pm (we had a small child with us). We also were shocked that internet was not included and in fact was quite expensive. Given that we were also making travel arrangements for the next part of our trip we found this quite annoying.

We had breakfast included in the rate. There was a good variety and it was quite good. The best part is that it has a terrace where you can have breakfast overlooking the nile.

There is a travel agent on site for a few hours each day. This was quite convenient and the rates seemed to be the same as any service offered by an outside agency.

There is a pool and a gym but we did not make use of these due to tours. We also want to recommend two great restaurants close to Karnak temple: Jana restaurant and El-Hussein restaurant. These places had wonderful egyptian food and were very reasonably priced. We highly recommend them.

Room Tip: If you want it to be quiet, do not pick a room over the courtyard/patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Your valued comments will be taken into consideration and as always we will improve in any areas of weakness.
With regards to the internet charges: We provide a 24 hour business center which provides internet at a cost which is compatible for a five stars hotel. We have immediate support if a problem arises with connection alongside support from Iban an excellent internet provider in Egypt.
Thank you for mentioning our Thomas Cook desk which catered for your tours, as mentioned previously here on Trip Advisor, this is a safe and reputable company to travel with.
We hope that you will stay and enjoy another holiday with us some time in the future.
Best regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#4 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Nile palace is delighted to serve you with the highest quality service provided by the most professional and well trained Staff. Steigenberger Nile palace is branded in July 2007, Steigenberger Nile palace has a superb 304 Nile and patio view rooms, more over than 5 outlets are located to serve you during your accommodation. Enjoy the luxury in the heart of city of temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.