We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor to your Saves list
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just come back from a 5 day trip to Cairo & Luxor.The hotel in Cairo was terrific and truly deserved the 5 stars. Impeccable furnishings, service, location and food. The Steigenberger Nile palace, probably did warrant 4/5 stars 9 years ago when it was built, it does not meet that standard today. it is an out and out tourist hotel catering for the masses. The rooms are tired and the decor throughout the hotel could do with freshening. We only had breakfast there so I can’t comment of the lunch or evening meals available in the many restaurants scattered around the hotel. Breakfast was OK. There was evening entertainment, which appeared to be the same local dance troupe each night, we never watched but just saw as we passed through the open square in the middle of the hotel each night. Finally we left at 5:45am on our last day, so we settled our bill the previous night. On leaving the hotel the next day we were told that we hadn't settled our bill, despite us having the paid invoice from the reception from the previous night. If you want a very large hotel, in the middle of the main tourist area in Luxor, which puts on average entertianment each night, with a wide selection of restaurants, this is for you, but it is not 5 star. PS fabulous view across the Nile though, if you get a Nile view room.

Room Tip: Choose a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your extensive review here on Trip Advisor.
All your comments have been taken seriously and if we are able to improve in any areas we will do so.
Regarding your issue with the reception:
It is our hotel policy to kindly ask our guests if they have any outstanding items owing on their bill prior to departure. (Even though the final bill was settled previously) This was not intended to upset you in any way.
We hope that you will return for another stay with Steigenberger and enjoy more memorable views of the Nile.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    383
    105
    45
    26
See reviews for
261
746
88
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights in the Nile Palace last month and would definitely stay there again if we go back to Luxor. First of all we'd need to say that the antiquities to see around Luxor must be the greatest in the world in quality and quantity. This hotel is on the banks of the Nile and you can take a felluca from the edge of the hotel pool area. The food in the restaurant is fantastic and the staff are charming and helpful. There is free entertainment each evening, although it is pretty much the same every evening and you tire of it early in your stay! I'd recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Luxor.

Room Tip: Get a Nile view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind and supportive comments regarding our hotel. It was our pleasure to host such a wonderful couple and we hope that you do return in the future to experience more of Luxor’s antiquities!
Special thanks for mentioning the quality of the service n the hotel, your review/feedback is very important to us…
Steigenberger Nile Palace awaits your return!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from another week at the Nile Palace.What a shame there were so few people there- it is a really lovely hotel right on the bank of the Nile. Attentive staff which meant we were always so well looked after. Delicious buffet breakfast with terrific choice of dishes, breads, salad and fruit, but as so few guests no buffet in the evening. However, a good choice from a set menu and we had all 3 starters each time! Food beautifully displayed and presented. Our 3rd visit and we would recommend to anyone.
But poor Egypt - a huge reductions in tourists means not enough income for an area which is so tourist based. For us it meant that the sites were not crowded so we could really enjoy them BUT the local people are desperate for money which resulted in a return to the hard sell. It was particularly evident at Edfu and for the first time in 12 years, it was almost threatening. Other sites had sellers who just wanted to sell something - many have not sold anything for days.
We had a local taxi man every day - Mr Fish - who took us anywhere we wanted and was unfailingly helpful and looked after us well. Find him right outside the front of the hotel - just call out Mr Fish. He took us to Edfu, Dendera and of course Karnak, Hatshepsut & Valley of the Kings but do go to Ramasseum and Medinet Habu as well, the last 2 are currently very quiet so great opportunity to immerse in the history.
Just up the road and around the corner from the Hotel is Arkwrights-Open all ours - for water, drinks sandwiches etc. A few doors away, Tutti Frutti, delightful small cafe for tea, coffee and lunch and evening meals too. Indeed there are plenty of restaurants if you are bed and breakfast.
Luxor is a brilliant base to immerse yourself in the whole historical life of the country - go soon and enjoy

Room Tip: worth paying for a side Nile view- try to get on the rooms numbered 0-31 side of the hotel to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My Egyptian husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice and we're coming back on boxing day. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by hotel staff with a drink and we were also helped with our bags. The room we were given had a beautiful view of the river nile and hotel garden and pool. The room was cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels and the bathroom was spotless. The staff are very professional and helpful and will go out of there way to help you with anything you need, these guys work very hard!. From the cleaners, waiters, mangement and security we were made very welcome.

The breakfast buffet was very nice with lots of choice. We also had our tea and coffee topped up at our table. We had our lunch by the pool and had good service from the pool staff. The food was nice and fresh.

The pool was nice and refreshing to swim in and there was plenty of sunbeds around the pool. The hotel does provide towels around the pool.

From reading other reviews for this hotel I feel that I need to mention in the defence of the hotel that when we stayed here the electricity did go out once but it wasn't the hotel at fault as the electricity went out all over the city, not just the hotel and it was resolved very quickly.

The hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Luxor city is amazing and the temples are breathtaking!! This country needs the tourists back, don't be afraid to come to Egypt as it's very safe. I've been back here three times since the revolution and had no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
What fantastic news that you are coming back to us on Boxing Day!
It was lovely to host such lovely guests in our hotel.
It was reassuring for us to know that the food/room/friendly service gave you the reason to stay again with us!
Thank you for your understanding regarding the power cut in Luxor. This affected the entire city and we thank all our guests for being so patient during this time…
We hope to give you a memorable Christmas and consider you two of our treasured guests !
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had stayed in Luxor twice previously, and the Nile Palace represented all the positive points of these earlier visits to different hotels. We felt it was an excellent combination of modernity and tradition, our Nile View room was spacious and comfortable and all the staff we met were helpful and friendly. Good choice of food, we thought the quality was good. We also felt the hotel is well run, and noticeable effort has been made to add colour and interest in the public areas. Good swimming pool, pleasant gardens and overall superb value. The number of guests at what is a dire time for Upper Nile tourism tells its own tale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
It was our pleasure to host valued guests like yourselves in our wonderful hotel once again!
Thank you for your positive and kind review which encourages us as a hotel, and Luxor as a tourist destination to go from strength to strength….
It appears that you found our hotel to be as excellent as ever and we hope to see you in the near future for a fourth stay in our fabulous five star hotel!!
You are now a member of our Steigenberger Nile Palace family...
Thank you for your photograph attachment, it is most appreciated.
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When I was planning my trip to Luxor, my expectations were high in regards to that hotel, I imagined it's the best hotel in the city or let's say one of the best, but when I arrived I realized that this hotel doesn't deserve to be a 5*, even by the Egyptian classification.

Below you can find the negative notes about this hotel in regards to the facilities:

The lobby and the rooms are small
Upon arrival there was no electricity in my room even for a couple of times during my stay
No slippers, no bathrobe, no iron and board, no coffee machine available
AC is very noisy, had to turn it off to be able to sleep
The curtains are full of stains and torn
Old fashion room design; small T.V, phone, etc.

Negative notes about this hotel in regards to the service
Most of the staff are not professional, nobody smiles, nobody recognize or greet me and inappropriate verbiage.
Lack of information, I approached the reception and concierge couple of times inquiring about the local area and happenings but nobody helped!
Delay of service, as per their standards it OK to wait for 30 mins. to get a wine bottle opener!

At the end I'm just not satisfied about my stay in this hotel although I LOVED Luxor!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking the fountain, Italian and Lebanese restaurants... Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Ayman Sallam,
Thank you for your extensive and interesting review here on the Trip Advisor website. We are surprised to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. The many issues that you raised are of great concern to us. May we express our points of view on the issues that you have raised:
Luxor often experiences power cuts but these are temporary and soon rectified. Most guests (including Egyptian and European visitors) visiting a developing city such as Luxor sympathetically understand this (as mentioned in recent reviews) We feel that all our guests were well cared for during this inconvenient time. We are very sorry if this upset you or your schedule in any way.
With regards to the iron and board: House keeping department is contactable direct from your room telephone, where you can request an iron and board which will be brought to your room immediately. We do not store iron/board in the rooms (as per health and safety issues).
With regards to the slippers and bath robes: It is our policy to provide only the superior rooms with these items. It Appears that your room was a standard courtyard view (room 538) However, there would be absolutely no problem in providing guests who specially request these items.Again if these items had of been requested then you would of received them immediately.
Regarding a coffee machine: we provide tea and coffee making in the rooms at a supplement in the paying superior rooms, also we have several bars within the hotel where delightful beverages can be obtained…
More of a concern to us as a reputable 5 stars hotel is that you mention that our staff do not smile/give information or are welcoming. This must have been an isolated/unusual observation from your side and we apologize if you felt this way.
Looking at all the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor regarding our friendly and attentive staff, we feel that we have no concern towards this issue that you raised. We strive to maintain excellent customer care at all times.
We wish you well in your future travelling and we are happy that you found Luxor to be an amazing place!!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Steigenberger Nile Palace is a wonderful hotel. Spacious, well appointed rooms - kept immaculately clean. Highly recommend it as a place to stay. Propoerty is fabulous and staff was wonderful.

The food is a very different story. The food was sent back due to tast, the service was terribly slow and we ultimately walked out of the Italian restaurant. Perhaps we should have selected a different location - but it was so poorly done...

Room Tip: Make sure you face the Nile -- and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review. It seems that you were entirely satisfied with all aspects of the hotel except our Italian restaurant.
We do apologize for the issues that you raised and would have appreciated more feedback about your experience dining there prior to your departure. This enables us to improve; we hold an excellent reputation in restaurant standards and service within the hotel and if we are made aware at the time then we will go to great lengths to ensure that our guests are not dissatisfied in any way and the problem can be rectified.
This appears to be an isolated case and we do convey a belated apology to you.
We do hope that this will not deter you from staying with Steigenberger in the future and we invite you to return for another holiday with us at any time.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.