We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but needs refurb.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but needs refurb.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I have just had another great stay at the Sonesta, depite the obvious difficulties. The only downside was having to eat in more than I would have because the banks were closed and we needed to put the meals on the bill.
The breakfasts are brilliant but the restaurants are not that good and over priced for the quality of the food. I much prefer eating out in the many nearby restaurants.
A great deal of money has been spent in recent years on extending the hotel upwards. It's a shame that some of that money was not spent on refurbishing the rooms up to floor 5. Each room I was in had a faulty balcony door lock but it was fixed immediately I informed reception.
As a previous reviewer has said, we had to change rooms so that the electric supply could be cut off to the higher floors. the chandelier was also switched of, which was a bit depresssing.
I tried the spa for the first time. The staff were excellent, but this is also one place that really does need attention. It is grubby in places, the showers and the steam room in particular.
Other than that, everywhere is kept very clean and it one of the most welcoming hotels I have ever stayed in. I would always recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Luxor.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
518
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We are just back from here after the unrest.

Overall the hotel was as expected however have a few things which were wanting.

When we went to use the pc in the business centre we noticed that there were 17 messages waiting in the outbox including ones headed " help stuck in luxoR".We pointed this out to the manager that a password was needed to send the emails and lot of emails waiting but she didnt seem to be bothered.

Due to the lack of guests we were all moved to one floor but when we were moved we were moved to rooms with electric sockets hanging out the wall and the safe not working.

People smoking in the next table at breakfast is a bit much too.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel is on a very busy road but the rooms are all on the sides or facing directly on to the Nile. Rooms are large and comfortable with good sized bathrooms. Very clean. Balconies are rather small, only room for 2 chairs and side Nile view rooms (the majority) either get no sun (northside) or all day sun (s. side). North side rooms overlook the water/sewage works, but fortunately no smell, and south side rooms overlook a large hole in the ground. S. side rooms had better views down the Nile, quite stunning. There are some Nile facing rooms, at extra cost and if a really amazing view is important, upgrade to one of these. Food was plentiful, but rather boring, especially breakfasts and the Egyptians don't seem to be able to cook beef without it going tough, but the pastry cook deserved an award, absolutely gorgeous. Service in the Serapis buffet restaurant a little off hand at times. There is a Japanese and an Italian restaurant in the hotel and Nobles Bar - which tries to look like an English gents club - the measures and the prices certainly match. The poolside bar and snack bars did not display menus, we had to ask but the service in the pool area was very good and the overall location, leading directly down to the Nile is superb. Reception were very helpful and arranged a chaffeured car for a day out at reasonable price. The pool is heated during the winter months to a pleasant 28C. There is an extra charge of $35 for tea/coffee making facilities in the room for a week. Laundry is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

we have just returned from a week in luxor during which the Egyptian uprising began. First off -Egyptians, especially in luxor are a warm and friendly bunch -However the same can not be said for the staff of the sonesta st George. The problems started on arrival, with staff refusing to speak to or greet us ,consistently rude and dishonest -seriously so considering messages about our personal safety were at stake. They could not be bothered to help you in ANY way, either it getting you a cab or advising you even looking at you was an effort.They couldn't be bothered to check for messages or pass on information . The more senior the staff the ruder and more aloof and dishonest they were.The hotel itself is trying awfully hard to be grand but expect it to be shoddy- dirty bathrooms , broken fridges and fixtures and fittings etc.The food is edible but bland and disappointing (apart from Egyptian themed nights) however the standard of hygiene in the restaurants was good as was the pool. I really wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone, we spent as little time there as possible. I'm complaining to the Sonesta company because I feel the staff's dishonesty is something above and beyond what you would expect even from a bad hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed for one week in this hotel recently. I have never felt more spoilt, pampered and important for a very long time! All the staff are so attentive from Reception, restaurants, poolside, room cleaners - without exception, service was excellent. Had a side room Nile view and it was fantastic to wake in the morning and see the balloons floating above the West Bank, and in the evening watch the feluccas out on the water. Admittedly, if you wanted to look for faults, there is some building work going on next door to the water treatment buildings - but they do have the Egyptian people to deliver a service to as well as to tourists! We didn't hear any noise from the building works and it was interesting sometimes to sit on the balcony and watch the 'Egyptian way'. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday, centrally located, beautiful views over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings, and with it's own pontoon where I was collected by a boat to go to the West Bank. Thank you Sonesta, fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were told we had a side Nile view in this hotel-what they ommitted to say was that that also included a view of the very unattractive waterworks.We requested another room and were offerred one where the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming.Finally after complaing again we got a room very close to the front of the hotel with a good view,however I think the number of these rooms were limited.Overall the staff were pleasant and helpful but I was astounded when we asked them to ring and book a restaurant for us as we could not get through they refused to do so saying they promoted only their restaurants.This is not what I would class as 5 star service.I was also surprised that they still allowed smoking in the dining room.Overall an ok hotel but I think they have room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Unlike the Jolie Ville (maratime) where the wi-fi is free in the rooms and public places, at the Sonesta you have to pay to use the wi-fi anywhere in the hotel - 33le per half hour which you have to use up within 24hours or it expires. In my case it cut off after only 20 minutes.

Also I emailed the hotel about two weeks before I was due to arrive to make sure that we had a no smoking room and they didn't even reply.

On the positive side it's what you expect in a five star hotel of this type. The breakfast orange juice was freshly squeezed before your eyes, there was the usual range of breakfast food. But no scrambled eggs in a big silver dish? The queue for cooked to order eggs always seemed to be long and they could do with a second egg chef and a couple more burners. Twice I took some Egyptian flat bread and it was as hard as a frisbee.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, the room was a good size etc. There was a kettle in the room for tea and coffee. But, the TV didn't have BBC world - only CNN which is strange as there were a lot of English people staying and hardly any Americans.

Sorry Sonesta but you'll have to have free wi-fi to get me to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.