We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed for one week in this hotel recently. I have never felt more spoilt, pampered and important for a very long time! All the staff are so attentive from Reception, restaurants, poolside, room cleaners - without exception, service was excellent. Had a side room Nile view and it was fantastic to wake in the morning and see the balloons floating above the West Bank, and in the evening watch the feluccas out on the water. Admittedly, if you wanted to look for faults, there is some building work going on next door to the water treatment buildings - but they do have the Egyptian people to deliver a service to as well as to tourists! We didn't hear any noise from the building works and it was interesting sometimes to sit on the balcony and watch the 'Egyptian way'. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday, centrally located, beautiful views over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings, and with it's own pontoon where I was collected by a boat to go to the West Bank. Thank you Sonesta, fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
518
62
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were told we had a side Nile view in this hotel-what they ommitted to say was that that also included a view of the very unattractive waterworks.We requested another room and were offerred one where the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming.Finally after complaing again we got a room very close to the front of the hotel with a good view,however I think the number of these rooms were limited.Overall the staff were pleasant and helpful but I was astounded when we asked them to ring and book a restaurant for us as we could not get through they refused to do so saying they promoted only their restaurants.This is not what I would class as 5 star service.I was also surprised that they still allowed smoking in the dining room.Overall an ok hotel but I think they have room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Unlike the Jolie Ville (maratime) where the wi-fi is free in the rooms and public places, at the Sonesta you have to pay to use the wi-fi anywhere in the hotel - 33le per half hour which you have to use up within 24hours or it expires. In my case it cut off after only 20 minutes.

Also I emailed the hotel about two weeks before I was due to arrive to make sure that we had a no smoking room and they didn't even reply.

On the positive side it's what you expect in a five star hotel of this type. The breakfast orange juice was freshly squeezed before your eyes, there was the usual range of breakfast food. But no scrambled eggs in a big silver dish? The queue for cooked to order eggs always seemed to be long and they could do with a second egg chef and a couple more burners. Twice I took some Egyptian flat bread and it was as hard as a frisbee.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, the room was a good size etc. There was a kettle in the room for tea and coffee. But, the TV didn't have BBC world - only CNN which is strange as there were a lot of English people staying and hardly any Americans.

Sorry Sonesta but you'll have to have free wi-fi to get me to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011 via mobile

So delighted to pull up to hotel and discover we were staying there viewed west bank of Nile so nights were gorgeous because the mountains are lighted service was great and hotel very clean. It's older but elegant with very good beds and linens and nice bath rooms. And the price is excellent. Spa was so so and exercise facilities Not good but if these aren't important, stay here. Restaurants and bar in hotel very nice with good options including Egyptian choices.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Having read some of the recent reviews I cannot believe that these people have even been to the Sonesta we are acquainted with. We went 7 years ago when my wife particularly wanted to go to the Sonesta, I went reluctantly but when we returned home we immediately rebooked for the following year and this we have done every year since, we started by going for two weeks, then three weeks and now this year we are going for four weeks. We have always found everyone from the General Manager Mr. Samir Azer down to the lads who clean the rooms cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. Over the years we have made many good friends and we all meet up every year. The ages range from 6 weeks to over 80 years of age. Some of the comments regarding the cleanliness in the strreet because of the horses I don't understand because it is now not allowed, I found it no worse than the roads in the U.K. We can walk round Luxor any time day or night which is something I wouldn't do in the U.K.. So in conclusion , get booking into the Sonesta you'll love it. Bill Woodward

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed between 12th-19th January, 2011 Bed n Breakfast, within side Nile view standard room with my wife. All the hotel staff were an absolute joy and the standard of service was first class. The room was spacious, well laid out, decor of a high quality with a lovely view from the balcony over to the west bank of the Nile. This provided some great views of the various sunsets during our stay.
We used most of the Restaurants during the week all were reasonably priced, the food was of high quality with good service / attention from the waiters and managers.
Outside pool was heated, spotless with nearby hot-tubs available until just before sunset every evening.
The workmen were in the process of replacing the green covering on the large pontoon and sun lounge area to the rear of the hotel but this was a very minor inconvenience.
This was our first visit to Luxor and taking everything into account the Sonesta St George will be the hotel we will be returning to later this year ( we visited and used the facilities at the other other 4* and 5* hotels in the area ).
Tips...
1. Take Bank of England notes with you and cash them at the hotels bank you get a much better exchange rate than you do in the UK with no commission.
2. If you don`t mind a bit of a hassle book your excursions after you arrive with the locals they end up being much cheaper and you are given a more personal touch.
3. Arkwrights supermarket is nearby and much cheaper for bottled water etc. which can be kept cool in your rooms mini-bar ( fridge ).
4. Email the hotel prior to arrival as they are now providing taxi / limo transfers to and from the airport for as little as 60Le ( about £6 )
G&SL

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Date :8/11/10
After a week of doing a Nile Cruise we enjoyed very much our one week stay at the Sonesta. The Reception with its amazing chandellier spread luxury. The room and bathroom were very spacious and spotlessly clean so was the rest of the hotel. .The beds were a joy to sleep in as I am a back sufferer. Towels were changed twice daily. The large sun terraces which extended into the Nile, as well as the Swimming pool were excellent which made up for the small balconies. Towels and sun loungers were provided free of charge. The service around the swimming pool area were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the lovely views of the sunsets, the Cruise Boats and Felucca's which were passing by.
Evening entertainment was on a low key and could do with quite some improvement. We were on a B&B basis as eating out is very cheap, good and safe. For a fillet steak we paid £7.00. The breakfast buffet in the Hotel was excellent and plentiful. They catered for every nationality.
Restaurants like the LANTERN, PUDDEL DUCK, MAXIME, 7 DAY'S 7 WAY'S and JEWEL ON THE NILE were tried and tested and highly recommendable.
There was also a supermarket in one of the side streets opposite left from the hotel, run by a british women "ARKWRIGHT" were you can have a sandwich made up and prices are excellent.
The weather was hot during the day and warm during the night there was no need for a cardigan.
And, be aware you will get hassled, pretend to be german and say just "NEIN" (pronounced NINE) meaning no. Don't be drawn into a conversation unless you want to buy anything. Don't even say "No thank you" - leave british politeness at home. Haggle down to at least 1/2 of the starting price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.