We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still up top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“still up top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed again in june once again top service from all in this hotel, its always good when you can say no problems time after time ,the pool boys just get on with there jobs helpfull as usual ,restaurant staff are just as obliging ,any problems quickly sorted out by management,we were picked up at airport by moustafa king kong private day tours who we use all the time highly recomended for politeness and reliability usually parked near sonesta .A restaurant/bar worth trying is bar 2000 the Esquire bar,Issac and ezra do amean fish and chips ,also one of the best luxor salads. will be back when things get back to normal Our friends stayed at the hotel a week later at the hotel on our recomendation and were very impressed and will go back again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear rig1Yorkshire,

We are happy that you a re a repeated guest at our hotel , we are working hard to keep our standards and even to upgrade it in order to satisfy you and all our guests. We will be waiting for you when things calm down in Egypt for another lovely stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    352
    107
    48
    16
See reviews for
243
555
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

last stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago when the new top part was been built,came back 3 times In all,always had a good time ,the sun beds was brill with the padded mats on them and the pool staff looked after you like a god .if you got up to move your bed or your sun shade the boys was there like a flash,some guests complain about the sewage works side rooms but you get a good view up the river,the other side you only get a side view unless you get a front room,looked at other hotels after been the first time but why change when you have enjoyed your stay,the turn down piller service only turned up on the last night of our stay looking for a tip,not a chance been to egypt to many times.hope this helps,keith

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear keithwilkie

Thank you for this lovely and great review , we are very happy you are a loyal guest and we do appreciate and value your opinion a lot . Thank you also for recommending our hotel and we hope we can host you a gain for another visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is located in the bank of the Nile River, in Upper Egypt (south). Check-in was pleasant and quick, and the porters and staff friendly.

The room is laid out and decorated well, with an LCD TV, fully functional aircon and digital safe.

There is sufficient mirrors and cupboard space and the king size bed was quite comfortable.

Things i found lacking in the room was that the bathroom did not have an extractor fan, and wi-fi was quite expensive.

Breakfast was a good choice of food in an open buffet, which I found much better in variety from some of the other hotels in the country. The pool area and facilities in the hotel were good, however during power outages, only inside facilities work with the backup generator, which means that no outside restaurants are functional wrt preparing any food.

Overall, a great place to stay in if you are visiting Luxor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we stayed here june 12th till june 19th and had a wonderful stay the hotel, facilities & staff were absolutely great. everyone at the hotel were very helpful and they all spoke very good English. Before we visited I looked at some reviews and I,m sure some people don,t know which hotel they have stayed at.I only hope the present troubles are resolved on 30th june because we really felt sad for the people of Luxor.

Room Tip: city view rooms are noisy (examples 441/442
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dipper53

Thank you for this nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your time and liked our hotel , we do hope the situation gets stable in Egypt and we hope to have you as a regular guest at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile


If you stay here you must book a Nile View. Nothing beats looking across the river at the Valley of the Kings as it changes colour during the day then is illuminated at night by floodlights.
The biggest positive of this hotel is the staff who are both friendly and helpful.
Rooms are large and comfortable with mini bar, bath etc but not sure I would be happy unless I had the Nile view as side view is of a construction site.
Wifi is also very reasonable. I paid around 100 pound for 48 hours and it worked beautifully.
Room service food tasty and quite cheap. Not that enthused by breakfast at all but again, staff delightful.
We arrived very early and out rep from Memphis Tours helped organise early check in which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Aussiesisters2

Thank you for this great review , we appreciate taking the time to write it , it is always a pleasure to know that our staff contributed in making your stay an enjoyable one , we would love to have you as a regular guest to our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Sonesta 4 times since 2006 most recently in October 2012...each of my visits have been trouble free in fact I have always felt welcomed at the hotel. Most recently I checked in at 8am due to an early morning train arrival and my room was ready and waiting...a nice touch. Nagha a staff member from around the pool is especially welcoming. I will return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tom474,

Thank you for this nice review , we do value a lot our regular guests and we will pass on your nice comment to Nagha , I am sure she will be very happy . Waiting for your 5th visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Level Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After a 3 days cruise from Aswan to Luxor, also on the Sonesta Goddess of the Nile Cruise boat - also a wonderful relaxing experience, we stayed at this beautiful Hotel/resort on the Banks of the Nile. We were privileged to stay in Nile front rooms with a view of the West bank. We had a view of the temples and the mountains that contain the Valley of the Kings and the Valley of the Queens etc. We also had a great view of the hot air balloons rising in the early morning. The two drawbacks were the price of food - though it was very very good - at the Italian Restaurant and the cafe both and the fact that it took a degree in mechanical engineering or computer science or both to operate the toilet and the sophisticated jacuzzi shower. Probably the nicest hotel of our entire 3 1/2 week trip. We sat poolside with a couple from England who comes every year to that resort and had in fact been twice already to Luxor that year. (There is a direct flight from the UK to Luxor.) Luxor was very relaxing, sunny and overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Delbe M,

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed your accommodation on board our Sonesta cruise and hotel too , we are waiting for you to come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#6 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#21 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.