We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nile view room and staff both excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nile view room and staff both excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile


If you stay here you must book a Nile View. Nothing beats looking across the river at the Valley of the Kings as it changes colour during the day then is illuminated at night by floodlights.
The biggest positive of this hotel is the staff who are both friendly and helpful.
Rooms are large and comfortable with mini bar, bath etc but not sure I would be happy unless I had the Nile view as side view is of a construction site.
Wifi is also very reasonable. I paid around 100 pound for 48 hours and it worked beautifully.
Room service food tasty and quite cheap. Not that enthused by breakfast at all but again, staff delightful.
We arrived very early and out rep from Memphis Tours helped organise early check in which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Aussiesisters2

Thank you for this great review , we appreciate taking the time to write it , it is always a pleasure to know that our staff contributed in making your stay an enjoyable one , we would love to have you as a regular guest to our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
518
62
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Sonesta 4 times since 2006 most recently in October 2012...each of my visits have been trouble free in fact I have always felt welcomed at the hotel. Most recently I checked in at 8am due to an early morning train arrival and my room was ready and waiting...a nice touch. Nagha a staff member from around the pool is especially welcoming. I will return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tom474,

Thank you for this nice review , we do value a lot our regular guests and we will pass on your nice comment to Nagha , I am sure she will be very happy . Waiting for your 5th visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After a 3 days cruise from Aswan to Luxor, also on the Sonesta Goddess of the Nile Cruise boat - also a wonderful relaxing experience, we stayed at this beautiful Hotel/resort on the Banks of the Nile. We were privileged to stay in Nile front rooms with a view of the West bank. We had a view of the temples and the mountains that contain the Valley of the Kings and the Valley of the Queens etc. We also had a great view of the hot air balloons rising in the early morning. The two drawbacks were the price of food - though it was very very good - at the Italian Restaurant and the cafe both and the fact that it took a degree in mechanical engineering or computer science or both to operate the toilet and the sophisticated jacuzzi shower. Probably the nicest hotel of our entire 3 1/2 week trip. We sat poolside with a couple from England who comes every year to that resort and had in fact been twice already to Luxor that year. (There is a direct flight from the UK to Luxor.) Luxor was very relaxing, sunny and overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Delbe M,

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed your accommodation on board our Sonesta cruise and hotel too , we are waiting for you to come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is for the Sonesta St George Cruise which we took from Aswan to Luxor. The whole experience was fantastic, and from start to finish you couldnt be looked after any better.
Food onboard was excellent, and the standard of cabins really comfortable, clean and well appointed.
Site seeing was well planned and stress free, and we had an excellent guide who really knew his stuff him being an Egyptologist.
Cruising down the Nile with the setting sun ahead of you was an afternoon I we will never forget.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, if possible get the higest floor available for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear StewartR216,

Thank you for your review , we are happy you had a good time on board our cruise , we hope we can host you soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchestert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Me andm my partner stayed at this hotel last summer, and i have been stunned at some of the positive reviews of this place. We had the worst holiday experience of our lives here. We are very well travelled, have stayed in many standards of hotels in remote areas and in fast-paced cities. I don't know where to begin about this place.
Most of the staff are extremely, rude the food was almost inedible, and the room we paid extra for 'side nile-view' was overlooking a smelly sewarage pool. All of this is bad enough, but there was an incident round the pool side while we were swimming and the pool manager had the audacity to look inside our personal bag near sunloungers in which were a small bottle of water and small packet of crisps and then publicly shout for us to come out of the pool, and in front of other guests loudly tell us off for having non-hotel refreshments on the premises. Firstly, i have never stayed at a hotel where it hasn't been allowed to buy stuff from a nearby local shop for our personal use, secondly even five other guests at the time came over and expressed outrage at how the guy had publicly humiliated us.
Then there was the constant hassle we had from over-eager and aggressive local caleche and taxi drivers right at the hotel entrance on the main road, and the security guards offered no help, just stood there arms folded unconcerned.
Egypt was one of those destinations i'd wanted to go for years, and i understand in recent years since revolution in cairo things have been difficult. But the sonesta st george made our trip even worse, there is no way this is a 5-star property as it classes itself, i've stayed at 3-star hotels in china where we had better treatment. There are better places in egypt and even luxor, i'm sure, but what we experienced at this hotel has put us both off every visiting the country again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear adrian a,

Thank you for getting back to us concerning your problem , I just need to clarify that this was last year and some of the staff have left the hotel , but please help me by giving me more details on the date of your stay and your name so I can investigate the incident with the management

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On our visit at Xmas I took present for my son to open on Xmas day and opened them then packed that night because we was flying home next day on our return to uk was unpacking then noticed some of the present was missing . That night on our way out 2 have Xmas dinner the night maid asked if we wanted our bed turned down we said no . This was the first time we seen him in the week we was there.m been told about the maid service hide the stuff untill u leave then go in get then . I have contacted the hotel thay said its never happend b4 . Is there anyone else had this happen to them . When u pack ur bag the night b4 put a cable tie on it that way u no if anyone has been in ur bag while u was out the room . Please post on here if this has happend 2 u

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear jillian1966,

As we talked before about this issue in our email and on Facebook page and I tried to solve this issue , I just want to mention that you do not have to put a cable tie after packing on your bag , our staff are trustworthy and we have a lot of precious things in the room despite that nothing has been reported missing before . Again I apologize for this incident and understand that the DVD belonging to your son was a present and it was so valuable for him .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a short stay in Luxor but this hotel made us wish we could stay longer. It is a beautiful place, full of history. The lobby is grand and luxurious. The guest room we had was a standard size, but everything about it was top rate from the linens to the carpet to the furnishing. We also had a balcony with a wonderful view of the Nile. Now the breakfast buffet was out of this world. Such a wide selection of foods, delicious, and a staff eager and willing to please. Definitely one of the best hotels and experiences I have had, worldwide. Shukran!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear roxi9020,

Thank your this lovely review , we feel so proud when we receive such reviews on our hotel , service and food . We hope we can host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.