We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We thought the hotel was great. One side of it you could watch the peaceful Nile and on the other the manic day to day life of Luxor. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was great. All the staff were delightful - we'd definitely come back. My son loved the swimming pool - lovely and warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
517
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

have stayed at this hotel for many years and the staff always make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious.The restaurants offer a fabulous variety of cuisine,the Japanese being my favorite for the quality and beautiful way it is served and if you go before 7pm there is 30% of your total bill.
I can highly recommend a visit to the lovely Sonesta you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: rooms on the water plant side can be very noisy late in the evening due to the workers shouting at e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

It is never easy to find a clean, well maintained, and good service in this part of Egypt. However Sonesta gives all that. More importantly the guys working there are very friendly and helpful as well, and more importantly they are not sticky. I do recommend this hotel for your stay at Luxor for what ever reason it happened you have been there for

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been staying at the Sonesta every year since 2006 and the fact that I keep going back must speak volumes. The rooms and surrounds are maintained in excellent conditions and the staff are delightful, friendly and always ready to enjoy a chat and a laugh. It,s position is central to the temples, shops and other hotels and restaurants which I like to use not least the incredible Arkrights (open all hours)

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Nile on the third floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at the hotel again and would like to point out the staff cannot do enough to make your stay more enjoyable. Great service by the pool and the reception staff are first class-nothing a problem and most obliging. Would highly recommend upgrading to Nile front room- a view that cannot be repeated! Will be back again and again and again! Please ignore the press reporting of the troubles in Egypt- they are greatly exaggerated- it's a wonderful country with great people-visit!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my first visit to Luxor to see the sights and we stopped here for lunch. Beautiful hotel, very clean everywhere, lovely lunch and very central. I was very surprised though to see that the place seemed very empty. Considering it was Easter the poolside (picture attached) was empty, and outside on the main strip, dozens upon dozens of tourist horse and carriage's sat un-used, and I never see a single boat travelling up the Nile, they were all tied up and moored and again un-used. In fact although a busy street I see only 2 tourists pass by. It seemed Luxor is no longer favourable. However As I say it was my first visit, and I have nothing to measure it against.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Sonesta is in a good position on the banks of the Nile but within a few minutes walk from the corniche and the centre of Luxor. The bedrooms are fabulous, especially the bedding which is beautiful Egyptian cotton and two singles with a mattress topper made into a double bed. Bliss. The breakfast was good with the usual egg chef, hot selection and lovely pastries. The only area which could be better is the pool area which although large with plenty of sunbeds - could do with more fixed shade. When the wind was strong the umbrellas were blowing over and it was too hot to sit out. We have stayed in lots of Luxor hotels but the staff at the Sonesta are the best, always giving good service. The wifi was expensive at £10 for 2 days but there are plenty of bars in Luxor with free wifi. Kettles were $35 a week to rent so take a travel kettle.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the Nile, ours was a corner room and the views were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.