We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Kingswinford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“HOME FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we have once again been to this lovely hotel in Luxor where we are always treated like family. it really is like home from home, the staff are always friendly and helpful and like i have said before just make it a relaxing hoilday and always going that extra mile for you. we have to say a big thanks to Naga who always looks after us when we are relaxing round the pool and seems to know what drinks we want during the day a star as always and then the pool guys who do a fab job making sure we have shade when required you guys are great. in general it is a very friendly hotel and nothing is too much trouble and you will always get great service when you visit this hotel. we would also like to thank Mr Sabry Milad for sorting out our rooms and car service, this is why we have now been to this hotel to many times to count. we look forward to returning again but unfortunately Thomas Cook are not going there from April so not sure how we will travel but we will. thanks again Paul & Julie Fletcher. stay 6th -19th March

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    305
    98
    48
    17
See reviews for
205
491
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The services and staff at the sonesta were excellent. we did b &b as last time (8 years ago) and the food was greate . recommend egyptian ful beans and falafel with fresh squeezed orange and wonderful lemon squeezed juice and ice. the pool is adequate size and has an extra cold plunge a, showers and a poolside bar and separate grill. You could stay in the hotel the whole time if you liked but there was absollutely NO HOSTLITY unlike last time in the people (just rather desperate street vendors). A great time. we'll be back.

Room Tip: nile view rooms on the north side have shade during the day and a nice view of the nile and temples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortehoe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We used the Sonesta St George hotel at the beginning and end of our stay in Egypt, the service was second to none; from the welcome at the taxi from a porter with an offer to carry our suitcases to the guys around the pool, everyone at this hotel is there to serve the guests, with a smile and very often a comment in excellent English. Egypt is suffering badly with low numbers of tourists visiting the coutry, which is such a shame as it has much to offer. We would definitely go back to this hotel if we visit Egypt in the future

Room Tip: We had a side view to the Nile, there was a balcony and it was fine, but a room facing the Nile woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel says it was refurbished but didn't say in what decade. The rooms are dated but clean. The food in the retaurants is not good and several of the restaurant choices have been clsoed during this tourism downturn. And do not venture out as you will be overwhelmed by street people. Oddly, about 3 blocks away are better hotels and a nicer neighborhood for strolling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londion
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good Hotel with helpful staff ...but poor customer service and bad half board (HB) option (£19GBP pp) with poor quality food...

However, fantastic al' a Carte Japenese & Italian as reported previously but only offered at a poor rate (£12 GBP ppp) if HB option taken ....both Thompson + Hotel claim because of cost of preparing food for HB option ??

Hence al' a Carte resturants empty + repeat guests do not take HB option ...also lots of better value 2 minutes walk from hotel

Unclear why the hotel allows this to continue & antagonise their customers ?

Room Tip: Not facing the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our third Visit to the sonesta, they just know how to do it there!
The staff are helpful, every time we have been they are always there to help you with anthing you need, nothing is a trouble.
Nobles Bar is ran by Nader, grand fellow he is, so friendly and the barman Usama, is one of the nicest lads I have ever met.
The bar prices are not cheap, £3.50 for a can!!! but the place takes sting out of the price.
With the hotel not having the turnover as it normally would, due to the bad press Egypt has been getting, the staff have a little more time and they still make you feel at home no matter how busy it gets, but less is better.
Go into the bar and look up Nader & Usama, you wont be disapointed.
We ate in the Myako twice as it had 30% off, well worth it, great food.
Also we ate in the serapsis on an international night!! WOW this is beautiful food, as is all the food in the sonesta.
On a down side some of the decore is starting to look a little tired,but its so clean and tidy.
The pool was cold but after asking the heating was turned back on.
Well done the staff and management of the sonesta.

Room Tip: avoid a street view, but all the rooms are good. even numbers get more sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Weardalelad

Thank you for this lovely review , it makes us very happy to hear that you feel at home and enjoy the service of our staff , we will always work on upgrading ourselves to stay up to our guest's expectations . Thank you again for being a regular guest at our hotel and waiting to host you for the 4th time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Once again thank you for a lovely stay. As usual all the staff made us feel most welcome with a cheery "Welcome Back". Beautifully cleran room and a really comfy bed, what more could you ask for. We always go across the road to The Lantern Restaurant for a lovely meal and resonably priced and again it didnt dissapoint, Large portions and great service from Debbie. We also this trip went to Howard Carter's House over on the west bank and I thought I had stepped back in time. Thank you Mando at Jolleys who arranged this for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but I prefer a side Nile view room as you can sit in the evenins on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear tinabbrown,

Thank you for coming back again to our hotel , we are very proud that our staff contributed in making your vacation a memorable one . Hope to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#4 of 57 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Karnak Resort Luxor
Karnak Resort Luxor
#28 of 57 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#18 of 57 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.