We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still has lovely has ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
NOTTINGHAM ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still has lovely has ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is the 5th time I've stayed here every time is just has good has the last. Stayed with a friend this time, previous times with my partner, all the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble, i did have a small accident but this hasn't put me off returning to Sonesta., the owner invited us for cocktails on his cruise ship, all I can say is OMG, 5 star treatment with a 5 star, 5 course meal, the food was to die for, never tasted such an amazing mushroom soup, every course was Devine and so were the cocktails.
I just love Luxor and love the Sonesta, I was going to try another hotel, we went for cocktail had another look around and i'm glad I didn't Sonesta got a lot more class. I would just like to say thanks for a great stay, all the staff including management and the owner are all great people. You will see me soon.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have Nile view, try and get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear manda68,

Thank you for this lovely review , we are happy you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay . Our staff are always there to make you feel at home , we are very proud this is your 5th stay , it is always a pleasure to host our regular guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
518
62
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned home 6/3 after 2weeks of being pampered.the whole staff are so warm and helpful--nothing is too much trouble. Every thing is top quality 3/4 of people we met had all been many times as we will.Any one needing a car large or small look for KING KONG no 869 it has a large uk flag on its bonnet ask for Mustapher. this young man gives you a card with prices on never changes prices no hassle cars in great condition he is outside the hotel. PAT and Paddy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear patricia b,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Sonesta is oldschool, seventies glamour with its 1979 blingy lobby and John Travolta chandeliers; though the best part of this hotel is its location. Every room has a view of the NIle and you wake up to this incredible picture postcard every morning. The buffet was large, extensive and very satisfying indeed.The staff behave a little formal and exude a certain stiff upper lip, perhaps still imagining they're are swinging in the seventies. All in all its a comfortable place and superbly located!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are regular travelers to luxor and we find this is the best hotel by a ,mile we will be staying in the sonesta in june and always look forward to this hotel like home from home ,nothing isa problem from staff to management, rooms v clean and comfy we ask for a side nile veiw and are always given one .the pool lads are always helpfull and attentive ,we travel all over the world so we do take the standard of hotels seriously. eric t

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hi All
I needed some winter sun after summer surgery. We did a lot of research and chose the Sonesta based on frank reviews posted on Trip Advisor. We flew to Luxor on 14th Nov 2012 and had the most fantastic week. Sun shone, hot but not too hot. Sonesta fabulous and really enjoyed the stay. Our room was on the side, 404 on the 4th floor,, so we had afternoon sun on the balcony and a view of the street and the Nile. The pool area is so peaceful and clean with excellent service. (no kids there during our stay). It looks directly onto the Nile and if you get adventurous take a felucca as sailing on the Nile is wonderful. You get used to the noise calling people to the mosques. Many nationalities passing through so very Internationla hotel.
Our room was fabulous and very clean and the chambermaid kept it spotless. We enjoyed exploring on our own so didn't take any formal (Thompson) trips and we saved money by doing it ourselves. Would def recommend this hotel to new Luxor tourists. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms on higher floors for the afternoon sun. If you have any problems speak to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous stayed here overnight whilst on Luxor trip to the valley of the kings it's gorgeous overlooks the Nile from your balcony , not a nice area as you can see the horses going p and down the main road with wounds on really not nice not treated well very poor , you wouldn't t feel safe walking out of the hotel day or night but as for the hotel food and service was immaculate

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have travelled to Luxor several times and stayed in numerous hotels so I have a good knowledge of most of them but this was my first time at the Sonesta.
Glad I chose this Hotel!

Check-In
This was pretty smooth though I would advise you request you choose an even numbered room. The odd numbers overlook the nile and valley Of The Kings but they are also above the Waterworks and face away from the Sun so you get no sunshine. The reception is pretty good though and will accommodate if you ask.

Rooms
The rooms are pretty spacious and VERY clean. Well Decorated. Clean towels everyday etc. We had a twin room but wanted a double so they sent someone up to put the beds together. They even had a special mattress topper to put over and secure the beds and a king size duvet - we were very impressed I have to say it was like being in a suite!

Room Facilities
Flat screen TV though be aware channels are limited, only 3 english ones but the movies were great! Try and remember though that signal can be a bit haywire (you are in a third world country after all). Safety Deposit Box in the room at NO ADDITIONAL COST (brilliant!), Air Conditioning, Mini Bar, Room Service 24 Hours, Hair Dryer. No Complaints!

Restaurants
Serapis (Main Restaurant Downstairs)
This is where you have breakfast. Try to remember there is NO PORK! so no Bacon etc. Really annoys me when people expect a Full English in a Muslim country then complains about it! There is a little man making fresh poached/scrambled eggs or an omelette. Plus there are fresh pancakes, Beef meatballs, venison sausages, beans, tomatoes etc. Huge selection of cold meats/cheeses, fruits, croissants, cereals, toast, cakes etc. Waiters/waitresses constantly coming round to top of tea/coffee. So breakfast is pretty good. Buffet on an evening though is expensive and to be honest there are so many restaurants out there to choose from you are better off elsewhere.

Beban (Ground Floor right at the end)
fab! Lovely food and we chose to have our Valentines Day meal in here! We had the Chateau Briande and it was delicious! They really made a fuss of us! But we ate there a few times and everything was delicious.

Japanese (Ground Floor - left)
Amaaaaazing food in here!! everything is gorgeous!!! Plus if you eat there between 5pm and 7pm Mon-Fri you get 30% Off the Bill!! Worth every penny!

Pool Bar
We found that we don't like to eat too much during the day so we tended to order a sandwich with chips and share it between the 2 of us but the overall quality of the food and the prices were good compared to other hotels in Luxor.

Pool
Heated! Yes!! Even in that heat but trust me you need it. Its immaculately clean and well maintained. Towels are provided for you at NO EXTRA CHARGE along with really comfy sun loungers. There is always a pool man ready to move your bed and bring you a brolly though please remember to tip him at the end of your stay. As for the waiters we just tipped each day as we paid our bill rather than putting it on the room.
There is also 2 jacuzzis which are lovely but be aware they do treat them with chemicals which can be a bit overpowering!! However i would much rather they did this than think you might be relaxing in germs wouldn't you??

Gym
Decent facilities to be honest. Weights, bikes, treadmills, rowers, crosstrainers etc.

Spa
Little bit on the expensive side to be honest. My other half had a shave and loved it! But the massages weren't fab.

All in all though we really enjoyed our stay. Lounging by the pool overlooking the nile with service at your fingertips! I would Definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: I would advise you request you choose an even numbered room. The odd numbers overlook the nile and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.