We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Still amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my sixth visit to this hotel and I will be back again (IF there are flights).

On checking in I was immediately recognised by name and welcomed back. What more could a repeat guest ask for?

I was given my requested room, which was lovely. The beds are the most comfortable that I have ever slept on and this time I had stayed at three hotels, including the Mena House in Cairo and this was by far the best experience. It's just SO comfortable.

I can also recommend the Spa, particularly when they have a special offer for a two hour spa experience. It's fantastic value for money and the staff are really good.

It's hard to find any fault, my only annoyance was the lack of ripe, fresh fruit for breakfast. I don;t know why this was stopped, but it used to make the breakfast choices perfect.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sonesta to anyone who wants an exceptional hotel and the service that goes with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a side Nile view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Rowz

Thank you for this lovely review , I am really happy that we have repeated guests like you and be sure that Sonesta will always be your second home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    347
    105
    48
    16
See reviews for
238
548
70
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have spent 8 nights in this hotel in front Nileview room. The hotel makes a very agreeable impression. The staff are extremely friendly. Nagha was very sweet at the pool and at breakfast Wafaa. We will remember them.
The room was dated, but comfortable. The bathroom was a total disaster and clearly needs a renovation. Shower in the bath, with a medieval shower curtain, is not of this time and certainly not a 5 star hotel worthy. A non-smoking room is almost always a room where ashtrays are removed.
Be careful when changing money at the bank at the hotel. There is an employee who during the entire exchange will tell stories and then give too little change. We caught him and eventually got our money, but that was not easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Fred B

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , I am sorry about the issue of the bank be sure this is not going to happen again . We are glad you like our staff and we hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is first rate and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Beds are very comfortable and bed linen is changed daily if you wish. Breakfast choice wasn't of the standard I would expect in a quality hotel. I appreciate that it is a muslim country but the hot food choice was limited , and the cereal choice poor compared to hotels we have stayed in around the world..The egg chef though was great. Tourist levels are low at the moment but a conference of 200 men at the weekend seemed to swamp the breakfast dining room. Nice treat to be able to take a felucca or motor boat from the hotel quay side.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Nile are much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a Royal Club Room which was beautiful, and Mohammed our room attendant was excellent. Always willing to help. He kept the room immaculate. The hotel in general in beautiful, and is situated right in the heart of Luxor, but overlooking the Nile. Pool area is well staffed, but lacking any activities if that's what u want. The staff there were also very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is badly let down by the buffet restaurant downstairs. Every evenings food was repetitious and uninspiring. There should have been Italian, Mediterranean and Asian food evenings, but they did not materialise, the food was just classified as International. Most people chose to eat out at other places in the evening, like Tutti Frutti, Kings Head and Nile Palace Hotel to name only a few, all within a couple of minutes walk. The Hotel had no evening entertainment either, but there is an Egyptian show on, free, every night from 8pm at the Steinberger Nile Place Hotel about 100yds away. So overall a great hotel, and could be even better if they got there act together on food and entertainment. The buffet breakfast was adequate, basically what you would expect anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikingstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

To be honest we felt a bit "off" at first in this hotel as we usually stay at low-budget hotels and we this time brought our three year old daughter. But this was overcome by the service minded personell.
In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant - it was well presented food although not extraordinary taste. As we had to leave the dining in a rush when our daughter started to crawl on the floor it was solved nicely by the hotel (room service arrived with bill at the room). In hindsight we should have brought room service for dinner, which we did for breakfast and it worked excellent!
The room was on the fourth floor, reasonably large and a nice bathroom. The balcony was heading north overlooking the Nile. No problem with noise from the street and we could see the hot air balloons rising in the morning from the west side of the Nile.
Comfortable bed, clean room and good service from the personell.
We never had the chance to try the pool.

Highly recommended hotel for comfort and service, restaurant is good but not in the same class as the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the Nile might be more quiet than closer to the entrance (towards street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on an Oceania Cruise and took the opportunity to stay overnight in Luxor at the hotel on the Nile River. The buffets for lunch and dinner were fantastic and the room had a great view of the river.

Room Tip: We were on a 21 day cruise and it was nice to have a hotel stay in the middle of the cruise - great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I found this hotel a very good hotel to stay at. The rooms and beds were comfortable and clean and the italian restaurant in the hotel was excellent. The food was fantastic as was the service. If you didn't want to eat in the hotel there were plenty of restaurants and cafes close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#6 Business Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.