We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel, let down by the food and lack of entertainment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 hotels in Luxor
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel, let down by the food and lack of entertainment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a Royal Club Room which was beautiful, and Mohammed our room attendant was excellent. Always willing to help. He kept the room immaculate. The hotel in general in beautiful, and is situated right in the heart of Luxor, but overlooking the Nile. Pool area is well staffed, but lacking any activities if that's what u want. The staff there were also very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is badly let down by the buffet restaurant downstairs. Every evenings food was repetitious and uninspiring. There should have been Italian, Mediterranean and Asian food evenings, but they did not materialise, the food was just classified as International. Most people chose to eat out at other places in the evening, like Tutti Frutti, Kings Head and Nile Palace Hotel to name only a few, all within a couple of minutes walk. The Hotel had no evening entertainment either, but there is an Egyptian show on, free, every night from 8pm at the Steinberger Nile Place Hotel about 100yds away. So overall a great hotel, and could be even better if they got there act together on food and entertainment. The buffet breakfast was adequate, basically what you would expect anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    303
    98
    46
    17
See reviews for
205
492
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vikingstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

To be honest we felt a bit "off" at first in this hotel as we usually stay at low-budget hotels and we this time brought our three year old daughter. But this was overcome by the service minded personell.
In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant - it was well presented food although not extraordinary taste. As we had to leave the dining in a rush when our daughter started to crawl on the floor it was solved nicely by the hotel (room service arrived with bill at the room). In hindsight we should have brought room service for dinner, which we did for breakfast and it worked excellent!
The room was on the fourth floor, reasonably large and a nice bathroom. The balcony was heading north overlooking the Nile. No problem with noise from the street and we could see the hot air balloons rising in the morning from the west side of the Nile.
Comfortable bed, clean room and good service from the personell.
We never had the chance to try the pool.

Highly recommended hotel for comfort and service, restaurant is good but not in the same class as the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the Nile might be more quiet than closer to the entrance (towards street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on an Oceania Cruise and took the opportunity to stay overnight in Luxor at the hotel on the Nile River. The buffets for lunch and dinner were fantastic and the room had a great view of the river.

Room Tip: We were on a 21 day cruise and it was nice to have a hotel stay in the middle of the cruise - great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I found this hotel a very good hotel to stay at. The rooms and beds were comfortable and clean and the italian restaurant in the hotel was excellent. The food was fantastic as was the service. If you didn't want to eat in the hotel there were plenty of restaurants and cafes close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed three nights recently. Positives are the rooms, decor, setting. The japanese restaurant is good and terrific value with 30% off food and beverages before 7.00pm. The buffet option in the hotel's main restaurant is less interesting. I suspect catering for international clients leads to a certain blandness. Plenty of food but not very exciting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of my top three hotel and we will surely come back again.
We enjoyed good service from the front office right up to the chef, where he personally came out to serve a special breakfast menu for my husband after being down with stomach flu a day before and asked should we want a special menu through out until he recover.

We were surprised they took notice of our predicament after we requested for a cab to clinic nearby.
The room we stayed has both the town and the beautiful serene view of the Valley of the King mountains and river where we enjoyed our tea while watching cruise ships and fallucca cruising the Nile.

Price is reasonable, the food at the restaurant was good compared to other hotel I've been around Egypt. And where else can one be called 'ma lady' nowadays?...;D
They surely know how to develop a return customer here.

Room Tip: Ask for both view and you'll surely enjoy the view watching horse carriages and also the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I’ve stayed a few times at the Sonesta as part of a larger group with an interest in Egyptology. I love it there. It’s 5 star with the beautiful marble and chandeliers but is not overpoweringly so, it’s comfortable. When we do short trips to other parts of Egypt we feel like we’re coming home when we return to the Sonesta. The breakfast staff are personable and it’s a pleasure to be greeted cheerily by Waafa. Michel is the best for looking after us on the pontoon - the pool area with loungers and tables. I’m already planning my next stay there. I can’t wait.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Dr.G ,

Thank you for you nice review , we are happy our staff and specially Michel and Wafaa contributed in making you feel at home , we can not wait t host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.