We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Save Saved
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 hotels in Luxor
belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed three nights recently. Positives are the rooms, decor, setting. The japanese restaurant is good and terrific value with 30% off food and beverages before 7.00pm. The buffet option in the hotel's main restaurant is less interesting. I suspect catering for international clients leads to a certain blandness. Plenty of food but not very exciting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    308
    99
    46
    17
See reviews for
208
496
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of my top three hotel and we will surely come back again.
We enjoyed good service from the front office right up to the chef, where he personally came out to serve a special breakfast menu for my husband after being down with stomach flu a day before and asked should we want a special menu through out until he recover.

We were surprised they took notice of our predicament after we requested for a cab to clinic nearby.
The room we stayed has both the town and the beautiful serene view of the Valley of the King mountains and river where we enjoyed our tea while watching cruise ships and fallucca cruising the Nile.

Price is reasonable, the food at the restaurant was good compared to other hotel I've been around Egypt. And where else can one be called 'ma lady' nowadays?...;D
They surely know how to develop a return customer here.

Room Tip: Ask for both view and you'll surely enjoy the view watching horse carriages and also the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I’ve stayed a few times at the Sonesta as part of a larger group with an interest in Egyptology. I love it there. It’s 5 star with the beautiful marble and chandeliers but is not overpoweringly so, it’s comfortable. When we do short trips to other parts of Egypt we feel like we’re coming home when we return to the Sonesta. The breakfast staff are personable and it’s a pleasure to be greeted cheerily by Waafa. Michel is the best for looking after us on the pontoon - the pool area with loungers and tables. I’m already planning my next stay there. I can’t wait.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Dr.G ,

Thank you for you nice review , we are happy our staff and specially Michel and Wafaa contributed in making you feel at home , we can not wait t host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very happy with staff at the sonesta as was I with the cleanliness and fantastic banter had by the staff on site. Once i stepped outside different story, me and my boyfriend flew back to base camp. Unfortunately the aggressive and intimidating behavior over rode the pleasant ness of hotel... Please the restaurants onsite were phenomenal and I would class myself a serious foodie... the seafood restaurant 5 star xx great weather 40 plus min in october

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Last year was our first visit to the Sonesta - previously we had stayed at a neighbouring hotel. We have been so impressed by the hotel's achievement of its key objective of providing high quality "professional yet personal" service that this will be our hotel of choice for future annual visits to Luxor. We cannot praise the hotel and its staff highly enough!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Sonesta. It is right next to the river. It has couple of good restaurants. River facing rooms are very nice. The outdoor restaurant is very active and atmosphere is very nice. We had a lovely time though it was short.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear AbhijitRayNoida,

Thank you for your nice review we are happy you liked our rooms and specially the Nile view ones , hope to host you back soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to Luxor many times and have stayed in quite a few of the better hotels until we found the Sonesta...we have never stayed anywhere else since....that was many years ago and we never thought of writing a review until now as we wanted it to be our little secret,but its obvious by the many reviews on here that its not such a big secret after all.Stay once,and you will want to return.Stay more than once and you become part of the Sonesta "family" Every member of staff will remember you and treat you like a long lost relative,how they do it is uncanny.Standards are high here and have remained so over the years we have stayed,and a good sign of any hotel is that the staff remain as well,which means they are also happy working for the Sonesta. Happy staff=happy guests and that just about sums it up. Everybody at the Sonesta will do their best to please you and answer any issues you may have...but you need to ask and not just moan about it around the pool,leaving the hotel unaware of your problem.They are not mind readers after all...I have noticed in a previous review that it was said the Sonesta looks after its new guests better than regulars,but I have to say I have not found that to be the case at all and we are always upgraded when we get there from what we have actually booked and there is always a large bowl of fruit and other titbits left in our room the next day...Ok,so everything is not perfect,and there is no kettle unless its paid for at $35 a week and the wi fi is far too expensive at 55le(about £5.50) per hour but we solve the problem by bringing our own small travel kettle and use the internet across the road for less than a £1 per hour if we need to......there again, we go on holidays to enjoy Egypt and get away from it all and not be checking emails etc...but it would be nice to have it free in the hotel. The extras and upgrades we get from the management more than makes up for these minor details.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left get the sunset view,but on the right you get the lovely mountain view across the N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Belgravia P,

This is by far one of the nicest reviews we had , it makes us very happy that you feel part of the Sonesta family and your expectations are always met . It is our main aim to make you feel at home and enjoy your vacation . Thank you for this lovely review and hope to welcome you soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.