We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and I cannot praise the staff and facilities enough. The room staff changed the towels twice a day and the room was always spotless and the view across the Nile from our balcony was fantastic. The breakfast staff were always attentive and friendly and we enjoyed our daily breakfast by the pool. The pool staff were always on hand to help with anything we needed, wonderful service! We had a problem with the room phone and I made 3 calls to book my horse riding but could not get connected. The reception staff looked into it and did not charge me for the calls. I love this hotel, everything is professional and luxurious, but the staff are always friendly and helpful. Just perfect - I'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a Nile view - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    334
    102
    48
    16
See reviews for
231
535
63
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went for my 50 th birthday and I couldn't have picked a better hotel for our stay. Lovely location overlooking the Nile. Rooms were nice (although ours did look over the waterworks next door). Stunning foyer to the hotel. Going against the reps advice we did take a ride on the karresh. Was great. Just confirm the price for the carriage per hour in whichever currency. We also hooked up with a taxi driver who took us around the real Luxor. Fab great restaurants. The lantern was our favourite. The puddle ducks is good as is taste of the Nile. Don't eat dinner at the winter palace it was the worse meal we had. The sites are ace. Don't just sit Staround the pool (gorgeous as it is). We'll definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Dawnkelly116

Let me first wish you a belated birthday and tell you we are happy you spend your birthday at our hotel , we hope we can host you every year in the same time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

having stayed from the 5th november for two weeks - once again we would like to say what a fab holiday we had. we have stayed at the sonesta many times and will continue to do so. everyone is so friendly and help full from michael and the pool guys who always check if you need anymore shade to the star of the pool area Nagha who is fantastic at remembering what you want, who we believe should have a pay rise she is brilliant. we cannot but say how lovely all the staff are and how helpful the reception staff are too. we would like to say thanks for the lovely cocktail party that we went to on the sunday it made a lovely ending to our holiday and the fab views from the 9th floor are fantastic with the sun setting. we look forward to returning again. thank you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Abydoss

Thank you for your review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and staff and we hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As ever the staff at the Sonesta help make a stay in Luxor super special.
Special thanks to Michael and the pool team, and Nagha for looking after us so well almost every day !
Genuine and approachable general manager made our visit perfect - everyone should stay here at least once.
TY St George team and see you in 2013! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for the first time at The Sonesta arriving on the 14th February for 2 weeks. We stayed in Room 612 and it was perfect in every way. This was an executive room on the 6th floor and was very luxurious. A very comfortable, large bed and lovely furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was quite amazing with toilet/bidet and spa bath etc.. We had a view of the Nile and also the streets which was perfect for us as we enjoyed both views. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun going down was magical.
The staff in the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly and cant do enough for you. Breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed some excellent omelettes on the terrace in the mornings.
The Pool area is kept immaculately clean and there is plenty of space and more than enough chairs and sunbeds. The pool staff are always at hand to bring towels etc. The pool is slightly heated so its a joy to get in! We had lunch around the pool each day in the perfect November weather.
It is obvious that the hotel is exremely well run and managed.
Our last holiday in Luxor was 7 years ago and we thought the town was quieter this time. What a shame when it has so much to offer. Perfect weather at this time of the year, plenty of tombs and temples to visit and lovely people and very safe. A little sense of humour is needed on the streets when caleche/ taxi/ felucca/ shopping etc is offered to you many times but we met some wonderful local people and had a fabulous holiday. Thank you all at the Sonesta and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

we have just finnished yet another great stay in the sonesta we just lay back and let everyone look after us its so friendly and cannot do enough for you can;t wait to go back all the staff are great do not let anyone put you off egypt its so safe

Room Tip: all romms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Raymond S:

Thank you for supporting our country with your beautiful words , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we will be very happy to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just back from another enjoyable holiday at the Sonesta. All the Staff go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable,in what is difficult times for them,through lack of tourists. We prefer the waterworks side Nile view rooms,so that we are able to watch the boats on the Nile and enjoy the West Bank at nights,with all the lights.
The icing on the cake was the cocktail party hosted by the Manager on the 9th flooor in the ballroom,with canapes and drinks.. Spectacular views,from the terrace ,of Luxor and and the sun go down over the Nile.. A lovely ending on the last night of our holiday. We look forward to what will be our 6th visit to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear happyzoe;

We are proud to have you as a regular guest at our hotel , be sure our staff will always be at your service and will do their best to make your stay memorable . We are happy you like the cocktail party hosted by the manager and hope to host you again for the seventh time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.