We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week of relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
nottingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great week of relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having spent our first week on the Ms Terramar cruise it was a great opportunity to relax in the second week in this hotel.Accomodation was very clean with a turn down service at night. The staff provided excellent service and i would advise to 'tip' at the end of your stay. The hotel staff will run shopping errands for you and therefore get a better price. The pool facilities were superb to the point that one never left the pool ! Outside the hotel you are bombarded with egyptians trying to get your attention but we were lucky to find a regular guy called 'Mustafa' with whom we felt very safe. We booked half board which entittled us to eat in the main dining room and therefore the food we found was average but we soon learnt that you could eat in any of the restuarants as they would give a discount,which reflected the cost of the main dining room meal

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the very best but not available through Thomas Cook (despite what they say) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear HMSNottingham

We are glad you liked the accommodation and that our staff succeeded in making your stay conformable , your reviews and comments always help us to improve our service . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    323
    101
    47
    17
See reviews for
222
518
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a week in Luxor at the Sonesta Hotel a great hotel with comfortable king size beds,good food and friendly staff especially the poolside team of Nagha and Micheal. Also visited the Sheriton Hotel and we were given a guided tour by Mira a lovely girl with a great sense of humour she is at present a trainee but I am sure when she finishes her training she will be a valuable addition to the hotel. Visited Joan's restaurant for good food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. Also dined at the `Lantern` with the ever friendly Debbie (try the prawns in batter and the beef curry) Spent most of our evening at the Jewel in the Nile Restaurant with our od friends Laura and Mahmoud this place never changes the food is as good as ever and the drinks free flowing - Laura makes everyone welcome and will accomodate friends and newcomers alike cannot wait for our next visit

Room Tip: Try the even numbered rooms these have the best Nile View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear ScouseKev,

Thank you for this lovely review , it seems that Nagha is becoming very popular and really have a good communications skills :) i will pass on your comments to her an to the management team . Hope to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has a degree of luxury and elegance which reflects its 5-star rating. The indoor and outdoor hotel space, pool and sunbathing areas are of a high standard.
We had a Standard Room with Side Nile View – good views over the river and west bank, but also less attractive views overlooking disused swimming pool between hotel and nearby Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean with good air-conditioning.
Staff offer excellent service in all parts of the hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis and the range of tasty food on offer in the breakfast buffet was of a high standard.
The hotel has an excellent range of facilities including bank, bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed meals in Beban (Italian) and Miyako (Japanese) in the hotel. We also went to local restaurants – Taste of India, Snobs and the Lantern all offered good meals at reasonable cost and are within 10 minutes’ walk of hotel.
A number of local shops are within 10 minutes’ walk. We shopped at Arkwright’s for bottled water, snacks and good sandwiches.
The hotel is located over 2 km from town centre, but the 15 minute walk is not a pleasant experience – the combination of busy roads and relentless pestering from traders, taxi-drivers and caleche (horse-drawn carriage) drivers is wearing and invasive. There is no hassle-free walking in Luxor.
One minor negative was the lack of drink-making facilities in our room. A kettle and drinks were available for one week at a fee of 35 US Dollars (22 GB Pounds/ 213 EG Pounds). In a 5-star hotel this is petty-minded sharp practice – no-frills budget hotels in the UK have tea and coffee making facilities free of charge.
On balance we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Request room with Side Nile View on upper floors. Rooms which face directly on to Nile are better bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The extraordinary thing about this beautiful hotel is that even with being right in the centre of the usual hussle and bussle of Egyptian towns, as soon as you walk through into the entrance a wave of peace, luxury and contentment washes over you. So much to say about such a large place so I will be compact! Building and rooms beautiful, clean, wonderfully equipt. Pool was heated to 25 degrees for some strange reason, but the childrens pool offered respite from the 35 degree heat. Poolside food and drinks fabulous, and attendents very aware of moving your shade according to the sun. Views over the Nile looking to the Valley of the Kings spectacular. All food extremely high quality. Downsides, yet again language. No bathrobes in bedroom and had a tough time in getting them requested and unfortunately became frustrated with a less than helpful receptionist. No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms unless you pay $20 and that is for a week. Therefore only staying 2 days to complete a 2 week holiday was annoying - they should be standard (?). I would probably return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

our 3rd visit to the Sonesta. previous visits have been in winter. the weather was hot and the wlcome even warmer from the staff who all remembered us from our previous visits.

we upgraded to get a front nile view looking over to the ountains and valley of the kings... worth the extra.

the staff remain as friendly and courteous and coulnt do enough for us. the best being the pool guys, Nagha at the poor bar/restaurant, Osama in nobles bar and Milad the head waiter in the mikado japenese restaurant. the guy who cleaned our room was always courteous and friendly and would insist on providing us with extra towels as if his life depended on it!

we stayed bed and breakfast in order to make us go of the hotel at night more. there are plenty of small restaurants in the vacinity and all at reasonable prices!

The serapsis restaurant is started to look at little tired and would benefit from updating the decor and furniture... the staff at breakfast were extremely hard working and courteous and friendly. its just a pity that the Egyptian doctors who were staying at the hotel for a seminar were as well mannered as their attitude towards the staff was disgraceful at times.

the buffet breakfast was excellent as always and the chefs always on hand to cook and ommelette, boil or paoch and egg to your individual taste.

the hotel is situated not too far away from the centre of luxor (a 20 minute stroll).. yes the locals are pushy but they too are struggling with the recession and lack of tourists from all over the world!

there was limited entertainment during our stay.. a couple of egyptian dancing evenings outside on the pontoon.... the hotel would benefit from more entainment within nobles bar .... howver, the bar man osama (numpitty) was always friendly and always remembered what we drank!

we are due back for 2 weeks end of november/december and hopefully all the staff will still be there!

we'd recommend the hotel to old and young and families and couples looking for a little adventure and a look back in history with the added luxury of good accommodation and food with friendly and courteous staff!

mary and michael (LANCASHIRE)

Room Tip: Ask at reception for an upgrade to look over the nile and wake up to watch the hot air balloons fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I got this holiday at a really good price. I travel with my mum who has mobility problems so we opted for this hotel and were not disappointed!
The hotel is magnificent, really impressive entrance, lobbies even the lifts are gorgeous which is saying something!
The rooms are large clean and fairly modern although the balcony was disappointing, we had a side view but it looked on to the main road which is great for people watching, you will see almost everything and lots of wedding parties all good fun.
\the location of this hotel is great, across the Nile from the valley of the queens. There are some great shops across from the hotel, one of which belongs to a man called Adele, he sells everything and anything and is really well priced all in a great friendly atmosphere.
there's also a jeweller across the road, calls himself Jack, cracking buys and great guy!!!!
The staff are really nice, the food to die for and the room service is great value for money.
If you go spend the extra cash and go to this hotel. We went in mid December and it cost in region of £250 from Manchester!

Room Tip: The extra cash it costs for a Nile view isn't worth it, there loads happens on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lellieanne

Thank you for your nice review, we are happy you liked our hotel as well as the food , we hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed in all the staff could not do enough for you what every your wont you got food was a good lots of it the hotel was right in the middle of Luxor I would have liked to had tea and coffee free not to pay for it I went to the gym a few times and needed help with one machine but didnot no how to use it and the staff could not help me we had a massage and that was first class and felt good after it thanks to you all for making our hoilday a good one

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear 71112:

Thank you for you review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff succeeded in leaving a good memory during your stay . Hope to have you as a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.