We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in amidst chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peace in amidst chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The extraordinary thing about this beautiful hotel is that even with being right in the centre of the usual hussle and bussle of Egyptian towns, as soon as you walk through into the entrance a wave of peace, luxury and contentment washes over you. So much to say about such a large place so I will be compact! Building and rooms beautiful, clean, wonderfully equipt. Pool was heated to 25 degrees for some strange reason, but the childrens pool offered respite from the 35 degree heat. Poolside food and drinks fabulous, and attendents very aware of moving your shade according to the sun. Views over the Nile looking to the Valley of the Kings spectacular. All food extremely high quality. Downsides, yet again language. No bathrobes in bedroom and had a tough time in getting them requested and unfortunately became frustrated with a less than helpful receptionist. No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms unless you pay $20 and that is for a week. Therefore only staying 2 days to complete a 2 week holiday was annoying - they should be standard (?). I would probably return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    327
    102
    47
    17
See reviews for
226
524
63
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

our 3rd visit to the Sonesta. previous visits have been in winter. the weather was hot and the wlcome even warmer from the staff who all remembered us from our previous visits.

we upgraded to get a front nile view looking over to the ountains and valley of the kings... worth the extra.

the staff remain as friendly and courteous and coulnt do enough for us. the best being the pool guys, Nagha at the poor bar/restaurant, Osama in nobles bar and Milad the head waiter in the mikado japenese restaurant. the guy who cleaned our room was always courteous and friendly and would insist on providing us with extra towels as if his life depended on it!

we stayed bed and breakfast in order to make us go of the hotel at night more. there are plenty of small restaurants in the vacinity and all at reasonable prices!

The serapsis restaurant is started to look at little tired and would benefit from updating the decor and furniture... the staff at breakfast were extremely hard working and courteous and friendly. its just a pity that the Egyptian doctors who were staying at the hotel for a seminar were as well mannered as their attitude towards the staff was disgraceful at times.

the buffet breakfast was excellent as always and the chefs always on hand to cook and ommelette, boil or paoch and egg to your individual taste.

the hotel is situated not too far away from the centre of luxor (a 20 minute stroll).. yes the locals are pushy but they too are struggling with the recession and lack of tourists from all over the world!

there was limited entertainment during our stay.. a couple of egyptian dancing evenings outside on the pontoon.... the hotel would benefit from more entainment within nobles bar .... howver, the bar man osama (numpitty) was always friendly and always remembered what we drank!

we are due back for 2 weeks end of november/december and hopefully all the staff will still be there!

we'd recommend the hotel to old and young and families and couples looking for a little adventure and a look back in history with the added luxury of good accommodation and food with friendly and courteous staff!

mary and michael (LANCASHIRE)

Room Tip: Ask at reception for an upgrade to look over the nile and wake up to watch the hot air balloons fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I got this holiday at a really good price. I travel with my mum who has mobility problems so we opted for this hotel and were not disappointed!
The hotel is magnificent, really impressive entrance, lobbies even the lifts are gorgeous which is saying something!
The rooms are large clean and fairly modern although the balcony was disappointing, we had a side view but it looked on to the main road which is great for people watching, you will see almost everything and lots of wedding parties all good fun.
\the location of this hotel is great, across the Nile from the valley of the queens. There are some great shops across from the hotel, one of which belongs to a man called Adele, he sells everything and anything and is really well priced all in a great friendly atmosphere.
there's also a jeweller across the road, calls himself Jack, cracking buys and great guy!!!!
The staff are really nice, the food to die for and the room service is great value for money.
If you go spend the extra cash and go to this hotel. We went in mid December and it cost in region of £250 from Manchester!

Room Tip: The extra cash it costs for a Nile view isn't worth it, there loads happens on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lellieanne

Thank you for your nice review, we are happy you liked our hotel as well as the food , we hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed in all the staff could not do enough for you what every your wont you got food was a good lots of it the hotel was right in the middle of Luxor I would have liked to had tea and coffee free not to pay for it I went to the gym a few times and needed help with one machine but didnot no how to use it and the staff could not help me we had a massage and that was first class and felt good after it thanks to you all for making our hoilday a good one

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear 71112:

Thank you for you review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff succeeded in leaving a good memory during your stay . Hope to have you as a regular guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA. USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sonesta St. George as part of a travel package. I must start by saying that it wasn't a terrible place to stay. Part of the problem was the area and just how pushy the touts are in the streets. That kept us in most of the time. Check-in was a breeze as it was handled by our guide. Our room was on the 8th floor and the balcony overlooked an empty lot below, city view to the left, and a river view to the right. Not much to look at, though we did see a man hike his robe and defecate in the empty lot below. The room wasn't quite five star as advertised. Just missing a few things like a bathroom scale and a phone near the toilet. Not a big deal, really.

Other than a meal at the nearby Steigenberger (which was wonderful) we ate at the hotel. I think we went to the obligatory Italian restaurant at least twice. It was OK. Breakfasts were buffet-style and not too bad. We did have a waiter give us a hard luck story and witnessed him taking the tip off of the table before we even got up to leave. Never had that happen before.

The pool was a nice sanctuary where the service was good. It had an odd slope to the bottom that caught many off-guard. One guy slipped and swallowed some water, leading to a little short lived excitement.

On the way out to tour the area one morning, I stopped at the front desk to get some change so that I would have small money for tips, etc. First, it took a few minutes for anyone to approach me. Next, the woman looked through some drawers and asked others for cash. She came up empty. I've never not been able to make change at a hotel desk. I believe I was asking for change of the equivalent of $20. Hmm.

As I said, we visited the Steigenberger for dinner but didn't stay there. Judging by the presentation of the hotel, I must assume that it's nicer than the Sonesta. So, if you have a choice, go for the Steigenberger.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room directly on the Nile side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BillBraz,

Thank you for your feedback , we are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay althought i see you do not have a major issue with the hotel and concerning the change you did not find at the reception maybe at this time the money was delivered to the cahier. Anyway , we took your remarks and we will make sure it is forwarded to the concerned person

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from the Sonesta and once again a big thank you for a lovely time. The hotel and staff are excellent. Food is plentiful with varied choices. Our room was always clean with lovely white bed linen every day. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and you are always made to feel very welcome. To sit on our balcony looking over the Nile to the Valley of the Kings at night when it is lit up is wonderful. We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms as the front are called City View rooms and that is exactly what you get. If you want to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been working in this area over the past year and have stayed at the Sonesta St. George on every occasion, usuall for one or two weeks. I'm not a tourist but I can still appreciate this lovely hotel in a great location. The rooms are very well maintained and if you're lucky, your balcony will be overloking the Nile.

The main restaurant on the ground floor is supplemented by Japanes and Italian restaurants on the reception level. They are both worth a visit - the main restaurant displays a very inviting buffet (hot and cold) every evening and the standard is generally very good - stay away from the desserts counter if you worry about your figure!

The staff are generally very friendly and responsive and recognise you immediately on return. It may be unusual to comment on but I have had to avail of the laundry services here several times and I must compliment the hotel on an excellent service. The streets outside the hotel are still hives of bothersome, irritating purveyors of all kinds of "services" and they can be quite aggressive. I would caution ladies not to walk about on their own. Inside the hotel, serenity rules and this lovely location is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out over the pool / river Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#6 Family Hotel in Luxor
#6 Business Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.