We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor to your Saves list
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Brilliant as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Having had a nightmare of a cruise, it was great to get to the safe haven of the Sonesta again. This was my fourth visit and even from the helpful staff at reception to the excellent room cleaners, everyone was so welcoming.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and cleaned twice a day. The bathrooms are large and well equiped. There are plenty of towels but the hairdryer is very awkward and mne was broken.
The breakfasts are very good and sometimes the service was too efficient. On more than one occasion I returned to my table to find it had been cleared!
Generally this is a perfect place to stay and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I visit Luxor.

Room Tip: Always request an even numbered room on any floor. This will give you a view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Rowz.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive and nice comments from our guests, thank you for sharing your nice experience with our readers; we are very happy you enjoyed our food, service and that our guest room’s standards met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    314
    99
    46
    17
See reviews for
213
507
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of our cruise ,we were on the 6th floor and the room was fantastic ,the toilet is to die for the power shower is also a saunna and the jaquzzi bath even has mood lighting under the water .. the toilet seat heats the minute you sit on it and flushes automatically when you rise ..lol you have a flat screen tv quite large as well and an enormous bed .Our bbalcony was a side view onto the nile which you could sit and watch the river boats go up and down. The food was plentyful and delicious and staff were very friendly ..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear havenmy;

Thank you for taking the time to write these nice comments; we do value every review from our guests as it helps us meet your expectations. We are happy and proud that you liked the rooms and the toilet and that we contributed in making your vacation a superb one. Can not wait to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

visited sonesta 18th jan 2012.
fantastic hotel clean friendly and great security on entrance
being my first visit to egypt it was a culture shock with regards to tipping etc not at the hotel but everywhere else.after 2 days got used to it and visited many attractions by using local taxi drivers they are cheap and very safe they even wait for you or pick you back up later at the same spot obviously agree a price and pay at the end of the trip
other guests can give you an idea of price because many of them have been to the hotel and luxor before.i even took a taxi to aswan to see the dam, being naive i didnt think it would take 4 hrs to get there. although it was a scary drive with check points etc our driver was brilliant he looked after us the whole day.we saw sights we would never have seen,people going about their daily lives children playing etc.sugar factories and even saw camels which had just been bought at a local market sitting quitely in a small pick up truck 3 camels!
I LOVED EGYPT AND AM DEFINATELY GOING BACK. THE PEOPLE ARE FANTASTIC
A TRIP TO CAIRO WITH AMANY SALEM is a must email anany-egiziana@yahoo.com or contact memphis tours cairo

Room Tip: book a nile veiw room with double bed fourth floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear newbieUnitedKingdom;

Thank you for taking the time to write these nice comments; we do value every review from our guests as it helps us meet your expectations. We are happy and proud of our staff that helped in making your vacation a superb one. Can not wait to host you again soon at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sonesta at the end of January to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We booked into a front Nile view room which is well worth the extra cost. The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities with tea and coffee sachets topped up as required. The flatscreen TV show a few English channels with movies. The bathrooms have a jacuzzi bath, shower, hairdrier and scales which come in handy for weighing your luggage before you go home. Bedding was changed daily as were the towels. The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and you must try the hot tubs at the side of the pool. We celebrated our anniversary at the Miyako Japanese restaurant which is probably the best in Luxor. It's quite expensive by Luxor standards but it was a special occasion. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection and coffee topped up faster than you could drink it.

Room Tip: Go for a front Nile view room if you can afford it. Otherwise ask for a south facing room for the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear spire2001

Let me first wish you a happy silver anniversary and thank you very much for your lovely feedback about your recent holiday at our Hotel, which is really appreciated.
It’s great to read, that you loved your stay and you had a fantastic time with us here.

We are looking forward to your return to enjoy another fabulous time.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the land of Pharaoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Luxor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sonesta St George Hotel. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean with bedding changed daily and fresh towels twice a day. There was a wide choice of both hot and cold food for breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice in plentiful supply.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly - in particular the pool side staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
All in all a wonderful stay - we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending with an even number on as high a floor as possible. These are the south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent two weeks in this hotel in January 2012 and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Nagha and Michael around the swimming pool area.
The rooms were serviced sometimes twice daily and towels and bed linen were changed daily if requested.
There are several restaurants in the hotel serving ok food but we found the best by far was the Aladdin Egyptian restaurant situated next to the pool area. The food was Egyptian, freshly cooked and very tasty at a very reasonable price.
When leaving the hotel you will be instantly hassled by taxi drivers and kalesh cabs. I would not use the Kalesh cabs as the horses did not appear to be well cared for.
There is a great shop called Arkwrights which is owned by a Brit and all the goods are individually priced so you know what you are paying. We were ripped off a couple of times in Egyptian run shops and the prices are not usually displayed. Arkwrighrs sell good home made pasties and scones. Arkwrights and many of the better restaurants are located in the first turning on the right opposite of the hotel.
Always check the price with the taxi drivers before you travel as they will quote you double what you need to pay.
Puddleducks is a good restaurant and only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel.
We are returning to the hotel in September to spend a week at the hotel and a week cruising down the nile.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel where nothing to to much of a bother for the friendly staff.
The service was excellent from the room to the restaurants and pool side facilities.
Well positioned for the sights of Luxor to those of the famous surrounding valley's and temples.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Southern and West sides get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#9 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.