We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great hotel for relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel and cannot fault anything to do with the accomodation or staff. Everyone from the pool boys to the the cleaners were out to impress with the level of service. We were in the main building and the rooms are large with a decent balcony with a screen door you could use to get the air in and keep out any insects and the little lizards running about.The food was good, but not what you would expect from this chain of hotels. The hotel was really empty due to the troubles in Egypt at the moment, which could have had something to do with the atmosphere. That said, however, the peace and the views of the nile went a long way to give a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had a nile view which was amazing, but Thomson rep told us that in future their guests would be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent experience at the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to share your heart feelings through TripAdvisors site.We are strongly taking in consideration your valuable points raised, and pass it to our Ex.Chef in order to provide our guests the best experience.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    338
    129
    56
    34
See reviews for
197
451
68
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and we got a very cheap rate for a Nile view room. Te room is clean, nice and has a new LCD. It also is renovated and new, unlike the rest of the hotel! This isn't a 5 star at all: it does not have a gym and it really is old. The pools (there r 2) are also run down. The food is very basic but the staff are really kind/ they try to do their best with the little they have! Also, there are not really much tourists so the few there are treated like royalty! Overall, although not a 5 star hotel, we were not really upset considering the rate we paid! If you get an excellent rate, lower your expectations and go to the Sheraton if not, go to the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
First, we would like to convey our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your last visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort .We are strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.I understand this does not resolve the issues you experienced. I hope you accept it as a demonstration of our commitment to providing you with the service levels and recognition you deserve and expect.
Hope to serve you in near future.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Sheraton last week, must say was disappointing,very run down for a five star hotel. Our room was ok but shower tap fell off, bathroom door could not close , light switches fell off and glass table fell apart. Pool n view was amazing and waiter s were amazing hotel reception staff ok. We did not realize Egypt was 90 % tourism down, feel very sorry for Luxor but so much hassle could not walk any where, i am a strong woman but very intimidating.
Met Del boy horse n carriage 198 who saved the day, really looked after us and understood how we hated being hassled, Wonderful way to see Luxor. Def get him to take you. History temples tombs view of the nile from the hotel blew me away, but i would not go back to the Sheraton or to Luzor as so much hassle. Nile cruise was truly amazing a must do.Just keep in mind the hassle as you end up staying in the hotel, we met some amazing friends and will have fond memories but never again. T n S

Room Tip: Must have a nile view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent experience at the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to write your heartreview through TripAdvisors site.
Also, we would like to extend our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your visit as it seems from your reply that we didn't reach our goal with your visit.We are strongly taking in consideration your valuable points raised.Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and particularly as you are a valued customer. As such, we are addressing these issues immediately to make sure that this will not recur.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BewdleyWorcs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Please don't miss the fabulous experience of visiting Luxor because of a fear of the troubles 200 miles away in Cairo. Luxor is totally trouble free. We had a wonderful week at The Sheraton, looked after brilliantly by all the staff who can not do enough for you and all with a smile. My husband who has a gluten free diet had treats galore with freshly baked rolls, Danish pastries and cake every day so Coeliacs this is the place for you. We were stunned by the wonders of the Valley of the Kings, Karnak and Luxor temples and a glorious relaxing trip down the Nile to the temple at Dendera. It was good to come back to the hotel after an early start, have lunch on the terrace and spend the rest of the day by the pool overlooking the Nile with the falucas sailing gracefully by.. This hotel is brilliantly situated. It does need a little updating but the position cannot be faulted and neither can the service. Go quickly before the hordes return to Egypt.

Room Tip: You must have a Nile room. Watching the sun go down from the balcony is unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for having the stay at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time to share your recent experience via TripAdvisors site.
It is our utmost pleasure to read that your holiday with us was most enjoyable and our team members spared no efforts to make your stay memorable.
Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service, they would be truly happy when we deliver the message to them.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Once again have visited egypt Luxor in February this year.Back to our favourite hotel the Sheraton. if your want peace quiet and relaxation,plus wonderful staff then this the place to stay.
Just a shame to see that there are not many tourists going to the hotels in luxor,because of all the trouble in egypt, you are quite safe in luxor.
Most tourists that do go now, go on nile cruise, or sharm el sheik.
Perhaps they should try the hotels in luxor especially The Sheraton.
unfortunatly my husband had a small accident on holiday and we had to come home early,much to our disgust as we were enjoying the lovely warm weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your continues visit and your loyalty to the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time writing to us on TripAdvisor.We do appreciate your fidelity and your faith towards the hotel as we always need the support form our regular clients especially during these difficult times.I hope that all people know that Luxor particularly is the safest place ever, we do not face any challenges with anything at the moment and everthing is running smoothly and without any problems.
Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service, they would be truly happy when I deliver the message to them.
Hope your husband feeling better now and see you soon.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have stayed in a few hotels in Luxor and quite frankly I feel that there is no point in taking the risk and staying anywhere else. It really is a lovely hotel. It is tucked away from teh main town but only about 5-10 minutes away and taxis are sooooo inexpensive that it is an easy thing to just take one back into the centre of luxor.

The cocktails are some of the best in Luxor, the service as good as anywhere and they do take care of your every need and do not appear complacent. You are right there on the nile. What more could you ask for.

Luxury at Luxor

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed with us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support and writing such nice reviews. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I will pass your comments to the attention of all our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again at your second home Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahal Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great hotel. It is in a quiet part of Luxor but there are always taxis outside and it costs just £2 or £3 to get to Luxor Temple.

The pool overlooking the Nile is an ideal way to spend part of a day or all day. There is almost always a cooling breeze and there were no flies - even in April. If you want to be in the shade the pool attendants come around and adjust the umbrellas and waiters will bring drinks and food.

There is a jetty below the hotel with feluccas and motor boats available for trips out. We went on a sunset feluccca ride with Hassan and followed that up with a tailor made trip to the Valley of the Kings and then a day trip on the Nile including a camel ride and picnic. Hassan made sure everything was organised well on all our trips with him.

We stayed on a room only basis at the hotel and were happy with this as the food we did order was fairly average and we enjoyed eating out in Luxor

Room Tip: We had a 'city view' room which was nowhere near as nice as the Nile view rooms but just wen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sheraton Luxor Resort via the tripadvisor site.Making our esteemed guests happy is our commitment and joy! It is a wonderful task to make your short holidays of the year utmost enjoyable, unforgettable and long lasting.We are alwayes value all our guest comments and will pass your food comments to our Ex.Chef to work with.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.4 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#7 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#21 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.