We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel itself is relatively standard - two pools, on-site masseuse, daily optional activities, Nile adjacent, three restaurants + room service - but the standout feature is the lounge. If you have status, the lounge offers breakfast, afternoon snacks, and wine/beer. And staff in the lounge were impeccably friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort .
We are greatly appreciating any comments made by our guests, and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards, Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service, they would be truly happy when I deliver the message to them specially the lounge staff.
Looking forward to welcome you soon at 2nd home Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    312
    120
    53
    32
See reviews for
181
432
56
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel, in the heart of the East Bank of Luxor. Very good service, very well appointed rooms. Only quibble I had was with the buffet food in their restaurant. Which wasn't too as high a standard as the rest of the hotel. But the Manger was very apologetic and made up for it.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room facing the Nile, for the sun set alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to write your reviews via TripAdvisors site.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were happy with the staff services,location and the hotel facilities except the valuable point raised related to the buffet food at the resturant where we are strongly taking in consideration, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our Ex.Chef to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.
Looking forward to welcome you again in order to redeem ourselves.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We enjoyed the grounds and the views being right by the Nile. The room was nice and clean. We enjoyed the food and service at the restaurant. But we would advise to not order calamari from the room service menu. We suspected that we got sick from eating that and had to make many trips to the bathroom the whole night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for recently staying at the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time to write your heart review viaTripAdvisors site. We would like to extend our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your visit as it seems from your reply that we didn't reach our goal with your visit , in particular with the food from Room Service which we apologize for any discomfort caused.We have also passed on the information with regard to the quality of food in the Room Service which our Executive Chef is currently looking into.
Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and particularly as you are a valued customer. As such, we are addressing these issues immediately to make sure that this will not recur.
We hope that this will not deter you from returning to our property in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back at the Sheraton Luxor Resort.
Thank you and regardes
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a really good week at the Sheraton: the weather was fantastic; the hotel room was good and the poolside was enjoyable (a big thank you especially to Ahmet who always made sure we were comfortable at the poolside).

The situation in Luxor is a bit desperate as tourists are not there in their hordes; however, we spent a day at the Valley of the Kings and had a great time. (I was there many years ago and it was very crowded...one plus side to Egypt not being so well frequented at the mo)

We also visited a few temples and I have to say the place was empty; it was amazing to feel we had such spaces to ourselves.

We found the best way to get around and see what we wanted was to agree a fee for the day with one of the taxi drivers outside the hotel. (We paid LE180 for a trip to Valley of Kings and 2 other temples.

We bought water from the shop directly outside the hotel at a lower price.

We ate at the Indian restaurant a few times. Ok, but I am a foodie, so my standards are very high. The Italian did a good pizza: nothing took my fancy, but they were quite willing to provide me with a tuna, black olive and red onion pizza on request.

The Cape Bay Merlot was 190 LE which was fine as we paid LE100 in Dahab from shops last Christmas.

The breakfast in the Sheraton was good, but not fantastic. Again, as in Dahab, the bread was not very fresh. On a couple of occasions I saw people going round feeling each piece of bread: I used the tongs to assess.

The Egyptian breakfast: fuul, falafel, tahini etc was amazing and wonderful to have the opportunity to experience this after a life time without it.

I really enjoyed the hols

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for having the stay at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time to share your recent Experience via TripAdvisors site.It is our utmost pleasure to read that your holiday with us was most enjoyable and our team members spared no efforts to make your stay memorable.but also it seems we didn't reach our goal with the food and we put all your points raised in our consideration and pass it to our Ex.Chef to retrain his staff.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

There appears to be a quality food shortage as the breakfast choice is limited and I expect the hotel would blame the recent troubles on that which would be a lame excuse. Even in the Exec Lounge it is not what we expected. The Internet keeps 'dropping' which means we have to constantly re log in-annoying! The tennis court ( one is out of action) is not up to 4-5 star standard and they have the cheek to charge to use it. The sun beds are way past their sell by date and a major face lift is required. We upgraded to a Bungalow room before arrival but as there is no outdoor patio (hotel rooms have a tiny balcony floors2, 3 & 4) we asked to be relocated. After a while of haggling (this is normal practise in Egypt) we negotiated an upgrade to Exec Floor status with access to the 'lounge' and free internet which is important as the hotel charge is 19 Euro per day-scandalous! Our new room on floor four is nice enough but small. However, the Nile view almost compensates. We took a private boat from outside the hotel with our own guide and car/driver on the West Bank and had a wonderful expedition without the crowds or a tour bus. Do not be so wary to think this could be 'dodgy', it was safe, secure and the sites are sensational as are the friendly people of Luxor, just be prepared to haggle, which, although this can wear you out, is the norm and there is no getting away from it.

Room Tip: 4th floor Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for having visited the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for your kind and constructive comments published on Tripadvisor.I have a little correction regarding the buffet breakfast as when I referred back to our Ex.Chef he mentioned that our buffet items are as the standard and in your case you feel the shortage of food when they were changing and completing the Cavendish. WI-FI internet service, we are using third party but the hotel trying with the owning co, to own it to get a good service. Also the hotel designed as a BOAT, so you feel the balconies on fourth floor are smaller than the first floor, also the room on bungalows are bigger than the rooms in main building as we joined the balcony area with the room.
Hope that above meet with your requirements and didn't effect your loyalty to Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall good place however definitely in Need of a major refurb and update. The location is ok, however the limited tourists seem to have negatively impacted the facility. The staff are friendly, however the rooms are poor compared to most Sheratons.

Room Tip: Try for a Nile facing room as the garden is in horrible repair and has an extremely poor view; eat s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Many thanks for recently staying with us and for having taken the time to write your review via TripAdvisors Site.We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services,except some valuable points for the major refurb,it's a tough correspondence is running between the hotel and Owning Co. to complete that.Hope to welcome you again in order to redeem ourselves.
Thanks and regards
Nahla youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week and loved it!

It was low-season so it wasn't very busy, but the staff were incredly helpful and friendly. The pool area was lovely overlooking the Nile and the Valley of Kings in the distance.

You can get some very good deals if you shop around and I would definitely return. I loved sitting in the evening having dinner, looking at the Valley of King's lit up in the distance. Total bliss!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Sheraton Luxor Resort for your recent stay and for the positive review about the service and the atmosphere you have experienced in the hotel.
I will definitely transfer your lovely compliments to our team, who will be very happy to hear that kind of motivating praise.

We are looking to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#14 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.