We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my family went to Luxor last week for a holiday. Sheraton hotel was part of the package tour which we purchased.
The hotel is serene and the ambiance is exquisite. We stayed at the Bungalow-type rooms. It is undoubtedly charming, clean, and comfortable.
Unfortunately, when we asked for an extra bed they provided us with one that was a bit shabby and old. It wasn't in a good condition. We reported this to the housekeeping personnel when they came routinely for the room cleaning and they tried to adjust the bed but to no avail.
My mother who slept on that bed developed back ache from it.
In addition, there was a foul odor emerging from the drain in the bathroom. My mother had to cover it with a towel to control the strong odor.
In the evening time, an odor of cigarette smoke was present in the room.
There was a power cut during our last night in the hotel, but it was for a very brief period of time.
I wasn't at all expecting these flaws. Afterall, it is a 5-star hotel.

On the bright side though, the staff of the Karnak cafeteria inside the hotel were very hospitable, charming and helpful the entire time. Especially the manager of the cafeteria, Magdy Yousef and two of the waiters, Yahya and Ramadan Ahmed. They were always on their feet waiting to serve us with a genuine smile. They were also swift and responsive.

Furthermore, the ambiance is exquisite and has an interesting Upper Egypt feel to it. It has a relaxing atmosphere which I think many of the guests can agree too.

Overall, Sheraton was a decently nice to stay in. For the price, I think it was worth it. I hope though, that the hotel can rectify some of the issues that may be 'minor' but nevertheless indispensable for a comfortable and satisfying 5-star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
First, we would like to extend our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience during your last visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort,We are strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.
We are sincerely apologized for this not acceptable behaviors applied,and we will pass the nice comments to our team to encourage them for better service.

Hope that above didn't effect the loyalty to Sheraton Luxor Resort and hope to welcome you again soon in order to redeem ourselves.

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    305
    119
    52
    32
See reviews for
178
424
52
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third visit to the Sheraton in 4 years,the last time just before the Arab Spring. The hotel is still the calm oasis that we remembered ,situated off the road at the end of a cul-de-sac but only 10 minutes walk from the main restaurant area. We booked Nile view rooms which were superb(watch the sun set or the hot air balloons go up at dawn) Large comfy beds & spotlessly clean, bedding & towels changed daily. All the staff were friendly & helpful, many recognized us as returning guests . Service in the restaurants was spot on,the breakfast manager spotted that it was my Mother's birthday & organized the most beautiful cake to be made.
We used the Nile side pool mainly,where the view of the river has to be one of the best in Luxor,the sun beds are comfy & Ahmed was always to hand with towels & parasols. Only the bungalow pool is heated at present to save power however as the days are getting hotter this should not be an issue(it was bit fresh last week though!) There also was a short power cut each evening at about 6 or 7 pm but only once did it last longer than 1 or 2 minutes,the Sheraton also has a generator that kicks in within seconds. If you are in town you may need a torch.
We saw no sign of trouble in Luxor & traveled by taxi all around the area,we felt safe at all times,the hassle is just the same as ever, just smile & keep you sunglasses on so they can't see what you are looking at.
To sum up the Sheraton is a great base from which to see the sites & a quiet haven of relaxation to recharge energy levels. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Nile view is a must , but avoid near the lift as guests leaving early will disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your 3rd visit and your loyalty to the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time writing to us on TripAdvisor.We do appreciate your loyalty towards the hotel as we always need the support form our regular clients especially during these difficult times.Thank you very much as well for praising our team and their standards of service, they would be truly happy when I deliver the message to them.sorry for some points raised are out of our hand ,electricity off,and hassle from outsiders down town.We hope to be able to welcome you back for the 4th time to your second home.

thank you and best regards
Nahla youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Sheraton for 2 nights in feb 2013 and we were bit disappointed with it.

We upgraded our booking from bunglow to nile view room, check-in staff was good and put us in executive nile view room but we had a mixed feeling about it too... Room had big shared terrace and nile view was not exactly from the room.

Breakfast buffet was not up to standard... even 4 stars we stayed during our trip had lot better quality and varieties.
We ordered veg food through room service but one of the dish was non-veg.
there was no complimentary water in the room and welcome basket was a joke with only one small chips packet.

We requested for 2-3 hours late check-out but it seems hotel has policy to charge 10-15 dollars for that. I can understand hotel policies but looking at current scenario in egypt and low tourist turnarounds.. all other hotels were accommodating in little bit of early check-in or late check-out but not sheraton.
It does not have any currency exchange counters and out of two days one day atm was not working.
Some of the staff were welcoming and helpful and some others were very rude.
I would not stay at this place again, with the amount i paid I can get lot better place I believe.

Room Tip: executive nile view is a waste of money I believe, either stay in a room which really has nile view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to the Sheraton Luxor Resort and the time taken to write your comments on Tripadvisor.Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had faith during your visit.With regards to the food variety and quality, I am really sorry we could not meet your expectation also with the bad behaviour for an extra two hours late c/out as they should have more flexability which we strongly taking in consideration all your valuable points raised, and we will focus thoroughly on it with our associates to deliver our guest an enjoyable experience.hope that above meets with your requirements and hope to see you again in order to redeem ourselves.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for 1 night. There was slightly a misunderstanding with our booking but it was sorted out with no further delay. The room that we were booked for was nice - comfortable bed with complimentary coffee and tea (I did not expect this at all whilst staying in Egypt cos most of the "5-star" hotels we stayed in did not even have complimentary bottled water). The bathroom was spotless clean and same as the room. The view of the nile was amazing - we were lucky to be able to sit outside and see the beautiful sunset. Overall, the service was great, and staff were friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sheraton Luxor Resort to be your home in Luxor and for your valuable time taken to write your impressions about our Resort on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our Rooms and facilites.Looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was one of the hotels that we were disappointed with in our trip. The air conditioning was not to our liking and we had to request the staff to assign us a different room and it took a while after checking out 2 or 3 rooms. To be fair they did upgrade us though. The pool was excellent and a great place to watch the sunset. There are very few restaurants near the hotel and as soon as you step out of the hotel the horse carriage guys start pestering you. The food in the restaurant was ordinary. We did however do some shopping in the souvenir shops inside the hotel as the prices were not too far off from what the outside shops were quoting and the finish was actually better than the outside shops

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Sheraton Luxor Resort and for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor Site . It appears from your replies that we did not entirely manage to meet your expectations for which I apologize on behalf of the entire team here at Sheraton Luxor Resort. We trust that this one time situation would not effect your opinion of our hotel as it would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I think that for me and my family the hotel staff made the holiday a memorable one. Particularly ahmed at the poolside who consistently would move the umbrellas if the shade was not covering us! Also, aymun who works in the bar lounge always ensured that we had some crisps and he was a sweetheart throughout the stay. however, the gem of the hotel is El tayb who made our stay PERFECT!!! he couldn't do enough! Whilst the hotel itself was exceptional the location was superb and i would recommend the shop just outside the hotel gates. Food was tasty and especially the chicken stir fry. I would return just for that!! Egypt itself is mesmerising! Just be sure to avoid eye contact with locals who will hassle you to buy things however don't be rude as this is their livelihood!! Best hotel in luxor!! Get booking :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Sheraton Luxor Resort for your recent stay and for the positive review about the service and the atmosphere you have experienced in the hotel.
I will definitely transfer your lovely compliments to our team, who will be very happy to hear that kind of motivating praise.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was there eight months ago. it's a wonderful hotel. Room was amazing. room service was priced right and very fast.All of the amenities you expect from a 5 star resort including a small shopping arcade selling sundries to souvenirs and henna tattoos in the beauty salon. Tennis court, soccer court, and croquet throughout the resort.i was so happy to be there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at your home in Upper Egypt with us and for writing such
a positive review.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luxor
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#14 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.