We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Nile and a good basecamp to explore Luxor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 hotels in Luxor
West Coast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“On the Nile and a good basecamp to explore Luxor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Rooms are nicely average. Staff is friendly. The view of the Nile is great.

Breakfast Buffet is alright but the food at the outdoor courtyard restaurant is awful. As in - we sent it back, went into the hotel and ordered room service. Room Service food was good.

I stayed in 3 different rooms and each had a very different balcony. One that was shared was like 50 yards long and 20 yards wide. All looking over the Nile. Very nice view.

Our morning breakfast had a great view of the Nile as we were only about 30 yards away, but it has a real problem. Next door to the hotel, large boats (small Cruise Ships) keep their engines running constantly and the fumes surround the patio, and get into the rooms if one leaves a window or patio door open. So on the the left is exhaust, a little below on the right is an old outdoor bread-making oven, that is interesting to see being made but has zero smell of bread. Only the the very unpleasant smell of burning wood. That definitely comes into the rooms as well.And in between there is often plenty of people smoking cigarets with their meal. So you may often be surrounded by toxic fumes.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms on the Left (as you face the entrance because they are closest to ship engine fumes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Luxor and the stay in our Hotel.
Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. I am sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated as concerning the engine smell we will put it on consideration and try to contact the local authorization to control it,also for the wood smell from the balady oven we can discusse with the managements to relocated in another place in the future.
Hope that above meets with your requirements and look forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    295
    118
    52
    32
See reviews for
168
414
52
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic for several reasons:

1. Staff was exceptionally attentive. Example - the bathroom in our room had a malfunctioning part. They immediately moved us to a new room.

2. Very clean. Non-smoking rooms were indeed non-smoking rooms. Our room was spotless and very well-made.

3. Great location. There are several major attractions (Luxor Temple, Mummification Museum) within walking distance. The hotel also has a free shuttle service, albeit we didn't have to use it because everything is so close. St. Joseph Street, which has some of Luxor's highest-ranked restaurants, is only 1km away.

My only complaint was about the food. I was surprised that the on-site Indian restaurant did not have any paneer dishes. Also, the food at the Italian restaurant left me feeling bloated, maybe too much baking powder. But the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

Suggestion - swim in the pool by the Nile River. It was heated to a very comfortable temperature, which made for a very relaxing swim.

A word on safety - whilst the popular news may be accurate regarding other parts of Egypt, we never felt unsafe in Luxor. Sure, if you decide to participate in a riot, you may be in danger. But we never felt as though our safety was jeopardized, even when we were walking at night near the hotel (also FYI, there were no riots in Luxor). The touts and cab drivers can be annoying, but they are harmless - a simple "Laa Shukran. Salaam" (No, thank you, good day) is enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Luxor and the stay in our Hotel .We are greatly appreciating any comments made by our guests, and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards,and I will share your comments with our team,also the comments for the food to our Ex.Chef in order to avoid this in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you again at our Sheraton Luxor Resort.
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

beautiful grounds and pool right beside the River Nile. Live like a Queen or King here, great rooms over looking the river, very helpful staff. Offered me a compimentary room to freshen up after returning from Valley of the Kings, even though I was checked out and had to wait a few hours for my flight back to Cairo. Close to town where many restaurants are available. Secure and safe here, I should have left Cairo earlier and spent more time in Luxor. For geocachers, there are severals 'finds' to be made in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you very much for having stayed at your home in Upper Egypt with us and for writing such
a positive review.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.It is to our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon

Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Luxor is more like the real Egypt than other resorts, we preferred as this as not so 'touristy'
Good quiet location,beside Luxor village which is interesting to visit. Food is very good with a good veriety to choose from. Rooms are pleasant, clean with a lovely soft bed. Service of staff excellent. Special mention to Mira, Mina, Yasser Rasha and Dawoo.
Easy walk into Luxor with plenty good reastarants to choose from at reasonable prices.
Everyone is so friendly and welcoming and no sign of trouble. We felt perfectly safe walking around, even at night. You may feel a bit intimidated at first with the hassle on the street, but no aggression and friendly banter from vendors.
Will definately consider returning to both Sheraton and Luxor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Many thanks for choosing our Sheraton Luxor Resort to spend your stay. and thanks for having the time to write your heart reviews.
We are greatly appreciating any comments made by our guests, and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We only stayed in this hotel for an afternoon as we had to take the sleeper train from Luxor back to Cairo. The room was very nice, large bathroom, very comfy bed and large balcony. We could have asked for a nile view room but as we only stayd in the hotel 'to recharge our energy' we had a room with front view of hotel, which is not bad either. We had dinner in the Italian restuarant called 'La Mamma', food was nice. As soon as we came in the reception we were greeted with fresh Hibiscus tea. Very nice reception with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday and for taking the time to write your heartfelt review
It is to our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our Sheraton Luxor Resort

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is excellent, right on Nile. The breakfast spread is lavish. The rooms are spacious. The swimming pool is just next to Nile.

Staff is courteous, but presentability has to improve. They prompty replaced the coffee maker in the room when it was not functioning.

On the negative side, the rooms appear a bit jaded for a sheraton property. Small things such as putting slippers in the rooms need to be done as the floors are cold in December and uncarpeted. I missed having a fitness centre in the room.

Overall, considering the price that they charge, it is a good value for money and an experience worth repeating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Luxor and the stay in our Hotel.
We value all our guest comments and will looking into the points you have raised so that we can enhance our standard and level of service. We hope that you return to us in the future in order to redeem ourselves.

Looking forward to welcome you back at sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

once again the sheraton has not dissapointed us, me and my wife spent 7 days from the 5th of december to the 12th of december enoying the sun the sights and the sounds of luxor and recieving the fantastic service that this hotel always provides for us,
la mamma restaurant provided its usual excellent food and service as did the karnak restaurant and el sukaraya bar, a special mentaionmust go to abdul and his team at agra indian restuarant for providing us with a lovely evening dining experience overlooking the nile,over all i thank all the managment team and the service teams for all thier professionalism and hard work and we look forward to returning next year

Room Tip: sometimes rooms with a nile view in the low numbers can have generator noise and diesel fumes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at your home in Upper Egypt with us and for writing such
a positive review.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.
It is our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
Sorry for the noise coming from the generator,sometimes out of our hand.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#13 Family Hotel in Luxor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.