We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Luxor is more like the real Egypt than other resorts, we preferred as this as not so 'touristy'
Good quiet location,beside Luxor village which is interesting to visit. Food is very good with a good veriety to choose from. Rooms are pleasant, clean with a lovely soft bed. Service of staff excellent. Special mention to Mira, Mina, Yasser Rasha and Dawoo.
Easy walk into Luxor with plenty good reastarants to choose from at reasonable prices.
Everyone is so friendly and welcoming and no sign of trouble. We felt perfectly safe walking around, even at night. You may feel a bit intimidated at first with the hassle on the street, but no aggression and friendly banter from vendors.
Will definately consider returning to both Sheraton and Luxor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Many thanks for choosing our Sheraton Luxor Resort to spend your stay. and thanks for having the time to write your heart reviews.
We are greatly appreciating any comments made by our guests, and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standards and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    336
    129
    56
    34
See reviews for
192
451
68
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We only stayed in this hotel for an afternoon as we had to take the sleeper train from Luxor back to Cairo. The room was very nice, large bathroom, very comfy bed and large balcony. We could have asked for a nile view room but as we only stayd in the hotel 'to recharge our energy' we had a room with front view of hotel, which is not bad either. We had dinner in the Italian restuarant called 'La Mamma', food was nice. As soon as we came in the reception we were greeted with fresh Hibiscus tea. Very nice reception with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday and for taking the time to write your heartfelt review
It is to our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at our Sheraton Luxor Resort

Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is excellent, right on Nile. The breakfast spread is lavish. The rooms are spacious. The swimming pool is just next to Nile.

Staff is courteous, but presentability has to improve. They prompty replaced the coffee maker in the room when it was not functioning.

On the negative side, the rooms appear a bit jaded for a sheraton property. Small things such as putting slippers in the rooms need to be done as the floors are cold in December and uncarpeted. I missed having a fitness centre in the room.

Overall, considering the price that they charge, it is a good value for money and an experience worth repeating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Luxor and the stay in our Hotel.
We value all our guest comments and will looking into the points you have raised so that we can enhance our standard and level of service. We hope that you return to us in the future in order to redeem ourselves.

Looking forward to welcome you back at sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

once again the sheraton has not dissapointed us, me and my wife spent 7 days from the 5th of december to the 12th of december enoying the sun the sights and the sounds of luxor and recieving the fantastic service that this hotel always provides for us,
la mamma restaurant provided its usual excellent food and service as did the karnak restaurant and el sukaraya bar, a special mentaionmust go to abdul and his team at agra indian restuarant for providing us with a lovely evening dining experience overlooking the nile,over all i thank all the managment team and the service teams for all thier professionalism and hard work and we look forward to returning next year

Room Tip: sometimes rooms with a nile view in the low numbers can have generator noise and diesel fumes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at your home in Upper Egypt with us and for writing such
a positive review.
I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday and you were generally happy with the staff services and the hotel facilities.
It is our utmost pleasure to see that our efforts exceeded your high expectations.
Sorry for the noise coming from the generator,sometimes out of our hand.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is fine - as others have said its a bit dated but its position is just great on the nile with views of the Valley of the Kings and close to all the things you would want t se in Luxor.
But that isnt the point of this review - my wife, my son and myself went to firstly Cairo and then Luxor in October so prior to most recent troubles, but still things were relatively quiet.
And its no surprise is it when you cant walk a metre outside your hotel before someone tries to hassle you, sell you something, ask if you want a taxi, take your bags etc etc - its just awful and frankly reflects terribly on the culture and the people of the country. I dont like seeing my son being hassled (he is 12) but of course this is done so you have to talk to them. I dont like seeing my wife man-handled
I will give you an example from the Sheraton - we ordered a taxi from the hotel to pick us up from the airport - it didnt arrive but we shared with a nice family who were going to the same hotel.
we got to the hotel and we were hungry so we were instructed to leave the bags at reception and they would be taken to our room whilst we had lunch.
My wife and my son went to the room after lunch and the bags werent there, they were still in reception as soon as she got near them though 3 staff from the hotel immediately arrived from nowhere and started taking the bags to which my wife refused saying that if they were too lazy to move the bags by now there was no need to do so now - of course the reason why they hadnt moved them were clear. If they did that then they wouldnt get a tip.
Now I fully understand that average wages etc are very low but this isnt how to run a hotel, or a country. Ripping off tourists in the end means people wont come back
The antiquities are simply stunning in this country but I for one will not be returning given the attitudes displayed by pretty much everyone. I worry about where the country is heading frankly and the event of the weeks since I came back to England highlights the struggles Egypt will have for the forseeable future

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Many thanks for recently staying at the Sheraton Luxor Resort and for taking the time to write your reviews to the TripAdvisors. We are disappointed that we did not entirely meet your expectations this time in particular with the Luggage ,due to misunderstanding from our associates which we apologize for this ,also for the bad attitude from taxi drivers and shops sellers which is sometimes out of our hand.

Hope that above would not effect your impression about Sheraton Luxor Resort, where we are waiting for the honor of welcoming again & again.
Thank you and best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
417 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has seen better days, and is not a 5 star hotel by anybody's standards.

The way the hotel has been built, only half the rooms overlook the Nile. We started in a "car park" view room looking the other way - yes that is what the view is. It took a lot of discussion to get moved to a Nile view room You only want to stay here if you have a Nile view room.

As others have said, there is no free wifi anywhere in this hotel. Why do pricey hotels like this feel that they can get away with charging for it?

The food was, again as others have said, "mediocre"

There is a pool right on the bank of the Nile.

Its one redeeming feature is the Nile view and watching the sun set across the other side of the river. But the other half of the rooms would not have offered that experience.

Room Tip: Only accept a Nile view room, the other half of the rooms overlook a not very salubrious car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Firstly, we ask you to accept our sincere apologies regarding the matter which you raised. We value each comment of our guests and strive to maintain the excellent reputation that Sheraton Luxor Resort is so proud to have.In reference to your comments regarding the food ,we passed all these comments to our Ex.Chef who is strongly re-instructed his associates with all. Please accept our apologies once again.
We hope that this event has not effect to stop using our Sheraton Luxor Hotel in the future and we invite you to return for another stay with us at any time.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were expecting more considering the past experiences that we have had with other Sheratons before, but I can say that the overall experience was ok.
The staff is really friendly (I arrived in the hotel around 08:00 am and the check in was only at 14:00, however they arranged me a room with early check-in without any extra charge), the front desk people were always available to help.
The room was pretty decent and the bathroom was spacious and well maintained. On the other hand, most of the facilities of the hotel are really old, the swimming pool area makes you feel you are inside a 70’s movie.
But what they really need to improve is the level of the food in the hotel. The quality of the pool restaurant is below average, very few options and not very well prepared. We basically had sandwiches for 2 days. I didn’t have the chance to try the Italian restaurant (that was only opened for dinner).
If you are looking for a 5-star stay, this is not the place. However if you are looking for a place to have some rest in between the tours with a nice view of the Nile, you would be satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your holiday and for taking the time to write your heartfelt review.
It seems we did not reach our goal in your case, didn't reach your expectations although sometimes it gets out of our hand and I would like to apologize for this,also we have passed on the information regards to the quality of food in the pool resturant which our Executive Chef is currently looking into.
Hope that above will not effect your loyalty to the Sheraton Luxor Resort
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#14 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.