We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egypt is Beautiful and The Sheraton Was Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Luxor Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Luxor Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Egypt is Beautiful and The Sheraton Was Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This Hotel has a Nile view that makes just staying on yr hotel balcony a dream hol. the staff very helpful n polite, special thanks to Receptionist, Adbul Rahim n Mahmoud, waiters Naser n Hamann (a very special few) and all the staff, as service goes above n beyond the call of duty

Room Tip: "pick a nile view room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and for your fantastic review on the Tripadvisor site.
I am so happy to know that our concierge team was so attentive to your needs&also the pool staff. Your feedback has been conveyed to all the entire team members and they are so happy to know that they made your holiday the most enjoyable and memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    299
    118
    52
    32
See reviews for
174
419
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice view of the Nile if you receive an upgrade. Breakfast buffet was included in Memphis Travel arrangements--mostly good food, mix of Western and Egyptian food. Sometimes the beans were underdone. Some issues with broken air conditioning and broken tea kettle. They were finally resolved by hotel personnel who fixed them and replaced broken items. Hotel was mostly empty. No complimentary water, although 45 daily free internet. Card key required to keep lights on, so rooms were warm upon your return.

Not really up to the level of other Sheratons in the US. Good location, as most things in Luxor easy to walk to on the Nile, or take the free shuttle to the Luxor Museum and market, or 20lb Egyptian taxi ride.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback , we are sorry as we did not meet your expectations during your stay It seems we did not reach our goal in your case and I would like to apologize for this. We took your remarks and we will make sure it is forwarded to the concerned person. In order to ensure this does not happen in the future and to give us the chance to serve you again.

Looking forward to welcome you soon
Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned having done one weeks cruise on the Nile then a week here for a relax! I organised an upgrade myself with Mira who ensured we had a lovely view and made our holiday special. All the staff were very good and were always asking if we needed anything. We flew to Cairo for a day and missed dinner but we had a late dinner in the dining room just the two of us and the staff could not do enough to please.
Mira contnued to make sure we were ok during our stay and was very helpful. The rest of the staff on reception were also very good day or night.
We were ahlf board and this worked well for us as you could offset your meal in the italian or the indian restuarant if you did not want to eat in the buffet every evening.

The hassle outside the hotel is the norm and does take a bit of getting used to but don't let it put you off!
The nile view upgrade in our view was worth it and I watched the sun set every night and loved it.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We were a "garden room" which really overlooked the entrance and car park. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It was lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the memories of Sheraton Luxor and our lovely city of Luxor will stay in your hearts forever.
Many thanks for mentioning our staff specially Mira and the excellent standard of service that you received during your stay.
We are very pleased to return to us at any time in the future so that we can give you the best ever service once again.
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a fabulous stay at this hotel back in August. It was our first time to Egypt and I don't think we could have picked a better place. the views were to die for and the staff were so friendly they couldn't do enough for you.

The only pit full was the price of drinks in the hotel which ranged from £3 for a pint up to £16 for a bottle of wine. However the food was excellent both in the morning and in the restaurants provided. We did not go all inclusive as we wanted to try some of the local eateries which were fab to. don't worry about getting a dickie tum this was not a problem all the food in the restaurants is prepared properly and was with bottled water.

There are a number of english bars 10 minutes walk from the hotel once you have got past the horse and cart guys pestering you, but they are only trying to make a living at no point did we feel threatened infact they only want to have a laugh and a joke with you.

To drink out at the local pubs is soooooooooooooooooooooo cheap for a whole night our on the beer and gins for the mrs it cost a staggering £12, yep thats right £6 each so we went out quite a lot as you can image and one night we had a lovely meal in one of the pubs with drinks and I think it came to £15, £7.50 each and the food was great.

The staff in the hotel are great and the young guys around the pool bar are very friendly and that is why we will be retuning next year for another two weeks, oh and plus the weather is hot hot hot so if you like a tan this place is the one to get it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for recently staying with us and for having taken the time to write your reviews via TripAdvisors site.It appears from your replies that we didn't meet your expectations due to some comments for the food which we pass it to the Ex.Chef in order to take action, and the high price for drinks which we pass it to F&B Departement.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Sheraton Luxor Resort

Best regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for just one night as part of a tour to Luxor. Very easy hotel no hassle and lovely breakfast venue. The air con units were slightly noisy but more to do with the age of them rather than the function

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback , we are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay since the problems with the A/C can solved during stay by fixing the A/C or changing the room and I would like to apologize for this but idon't have the details for this case. In order for us to ensure this does not happen in the future i appreciate if you can email for that.
Hope that above meets with your requirements and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Myself & my mum booked this holiday as we have previously been on a nile cruise & we thought Luxor was lovely & so decided to return & stay here for a week to explore and relax. We booked the holiday with Thomson & arrived at Luxor & found our transfer without a hitch. Sheraton was only 20 mins away from the airport & so we were the 1st drop off (great!) Arrival was lovely the lady receptionist was helpful and we got a welcomed glass of hibiscus tea to great us. We signed in and got given our keys to our pre booked 'Superior Nile View Rm' The porter took us & our luggage up to the room (ensure you have some smaller Egyptian pounds for tipping). This room was lovely inside, clean, spacious & the beds great. Once we opened the terrace doors we were a bit dissapointed really. These rooms are all on the 1st floor with a 'shared terrace' with railing and so difficult to experience the views fully. We spent the 1st night in here and after a great nights sleep we decided to ask about possibly upgrading or getting another superior on a higher floor. After breakfast we went & spoke to Mena on reception who gladly showed us the Junior Suite (326) Once we stepped in the room we knew immediatly we had to move. It was lovely! Spacious balcony all around with private sunbeds (brilliant for 2 women) the master bedroom & bathroom were spacious & clean. We went back down to reception & offered a price to Mena for the upgrade to which he spoke to his manager & it was agreed. We paid an extra £240 english for the weeks upgrade which is very reasonable bearing in mind Thomson would expect at least £100 per day for this. Thank you Mena!

I must say its very sad to see that the Sheraton & Luxor in general is extremely quite & not many tourists at all.. There must be at least 300 bedrooms there & I may have counted no more than 40 people the whole week. It may have something to do with the amount of hassle you do get if you set foot outside the sheraton gates though... Obviously everyone is very desperate for business but to a point were it is uncomfortable. We experienced this 1st of all with the taxi drivers coming up to you and crying about family & lack of money ect.. Also the horse & carriages outside the hotel. We met Mohamed on day 2 (carriage 36 DO NOT GO WITH THIS MAN!!!!) and agreed with him to take us round Luxor for 1 hour & he said 20 egyptian pounds. We new this was too little & so agreed to give him 50 egyptian (under £5) which is the norm for this. Anyway off we went, we had asked for no stops at any shops ect but as soon as we got into the centre he stopped for 10 mins at a time at shops, he was speaking in arabic to his friends who were coming up to the carriage & I felt extremely uncomfortable. After all this I could see my mother was getting upset and so we asked him to take us back now. He didn;t like this at all & then started shouting at me & my mother that he wanted £20 EACH & £10 extra for the added time (which we didn;t ask for as he kept stopping) Any way after a very unwelcomed shouting match with him all the way back we gave him the £50 egyptian & got off immediatly as soon as he stopped. All of this was terribly upsetting & concluded in us not going out into Luxor for the rest of our trip!!! It was a good job we had the Suite as we spent a lot of time there!

Anyway the Karnak buffet food was great, service good (some a bit leary) good breakfast & lunches. The drinks are rubbish, the bar was always empty & its very overpriced. Egyptian beer 'Sakora' is lovely on a hot day by the pool. Ahmed is a delight by the pool, looking after you with sunbeds & sun/shade when you want. All in all this hotel is great. The views over the Nile & Valley of the Kings are amazing & the calls to prayer every 4 hours...its something definatly not to be missed!!

Being a reception manager myself in a 5* hotel, I was glad of the rest & can say the Sheraton, Luxor is a lovely retreat to relax in (although a tad overpriced, but I should imagine that is Thomson commision!!)

The cost of the holiday with Thomson was £2200 half board in a superior nile room. This doesnt include the upgrade or drinks or trips so you can imagine its an expensive holiday!!
I hope this review helps you.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are well worth the upgrade price (do it direct with the hotel, not the travel agen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and for your fantastic review on the Tripadvisor site.
I am so happy to know that our concierge team was so attentive to your needs. Your feedback has been passed to all the entire team members specially Mena and Ahmed, they are so happy to know that they made your holiday the most enjoyable and memorable stay. We are very sorry for the hassling from taxi drivers and horse&carriages people.

Hope that above didn't effect the loyalty for Sheraton Luxor Resort
thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were given a guided tour of the hotel and shown all the excellent facilities. The tour was conducted by Mira Essam a lovely girl with a great personality and a wonderful sense of humour. We look forward to seeing her again soon and visiting this great hotel.

Room Tip: Select a nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nahla_youssef, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Luxor Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your visit to Sheraton Luxor Resort and the time taken to write your comments on Tripadvisor.I am very happy about your positive comments for our hotel & Thank you as well for your kind compliments about our team members,specially Mira.

Looking forward to welcome you again
Thanks and regards
Nahla Youssef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Luxor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Luxor Resort

Address: Al Awameya | PO Box 43, Luxor 83951, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#14 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Luxor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Luxor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Luxor Hotel Luxor
Luxor Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Luxor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.