We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Save Saved
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 hotels in Luxor
Nhulunbuy, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here in absolute luxury, and the best value for money I have experienced in a long time. All of the usual from a 5 star hotel, with the added bonus of excellent pool and other amenities. The island is tranquil, the gardens magnificent. A must-stay if venturing to Luxor!

Room Tip: Make sure you save some time to relax around the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Matt K,

Thank you very much for your visit to Upper Egypt, its beautiful sites and our precious Kings Island. We are grateful for your words of appreciation and happy to have succeeded in giving you the experience of luxury that you deserved.
We hope the next season will bring us more guests so we can continue to do what we do best: provide service with a smile and give our beloved guests the opportunity to enjoy their vacation to the utmost.

With a tranquil wave of our majestic palm trees,


Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,170
    306
    84
    43
    20
See reviews for
412
799
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our 3rd time in Luxor out of more than a dozen visits to Egypt and our 2nd Jolieville Hotel. Most other reviewers have said it all even with only 150 guests the service, meal choices did not fail to please. The river cruise, Bar B Q and entertainment was well worth going even if it was a motor boat. We had a 1st floor room overlooking the pool and Nile which was enormous and very well maintained.

It was so relaxing all we did was sleep, read go for a swim and walk around this brilliant island and of course eat and drink the excellent food offered.

Neither of us suffered any bites or saw anything to trouble us and intend to go back when we can get reasonable flights.

I wish them luck and hope the situation improves to enable this lovely hotel to prosper so we can keep going there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear SendMe7,

Thank you very much for having stayed once more at the Jolie Ville Kings Island in Luxor! Thank you as well for your time to write so very positively about your holiday experience at our Resort!

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and for recommending our Resort . We all look very much forward to welcome you back on Kings Island in the not so far future “Insha Allah”!

I remain with.
Sunny regards from unique and peaceful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Most superlatives have already been used by other travellers to describe the Jolieville Hotel so I propose a new one - luxorious. And it is! The Jolieville's position on an island affording beautiful views of the Nile with the Valley of the Kings beyond and nestled in many acres of colourful gardens with abundant birdlife is simply stunning. It imparts a great feeling of tranquility and space, an ideal place for chilling out.

There are three pools, the smallest one for adults only. The large infinity pool overlooking the Nile is stunning. There is a small children's play area with water slides and jets to keep them amused. There are plenty of sunbeds dotted around the pool and on the grass nearby.

The accommodation is very good too. The Comfort rooms are spacious and the beds very good though on the firm side. Ours was immaculately clean, the shower was good and there was plenty of hot water. The airconditioning also worked efficiently. Outside there is a small patio which is good for sitting out in the evening. Bug zappers are installed.

We tried the Italian and French restaurants. Food from both was tasty and of a high standard. Expect to pay European prices. Having dinner at a table overlooking the Nile after sunset is a treat not to be missed. There was a good breakfast buffet with a wide choice of hot and cold food and an egg station.

WiFi worked reasonably well in the accommodation and better in the reception areas. The speed is on the slow side but reasonable.

The hotel is a 20-min journey from Luxor town. A courtesy bus goes infrequently but taxis can be ordered and are cheap.

We stayed in June when the hotel was only 15% full. It is a tribute to the hotel staff and to its manager, Urs Umbricht, that despite the low occupancy the hotel continues to maintain its high standards. Service was excellent and the staff were courteous and cheerful.

In summary, the Jolieville is a 5-star hotel which is hard to beat especially if you like communing with nature and do not mind being some way out of Luxor. Add the unbroken sunshine (43 degree C dry heat when we were there) and the wonderful pools and it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: The Comfort rooms are arranged in pods dotted around the well established parts of the garden and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear twofreespirits from UK,

Thank you very much for your resent stay at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor and for the time taken to post your holiday impressions on Tripadvisors.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your well earned holiday on our little island in the middle of the Nile and that you particularly liked, next to the overall service and courtesy of our staff, the French and Italian restaurants.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island soon!

I remain with.
Sunny regards from peace and joyful Luxor

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

fantastic location. wonderfully quiet and beautiful views.
a couple of minor issues
a. felucca ride was on a boat wiht an engine not a felucca - i suspect because of numbers.
b. breakfast pastries had occasional bits of ham in them - v disconcerting as a vegetarian. i did mention this to the staff who did not seem to understand why it was a problem., even though i suggested labelling would help
staff in fitness centre were great - offered pilates class on non scheduled days as they were not busy. and manicures wonderful too - I hope the lady who did my nails had a wonderful wedding day!
otherwise it was wonderful. food, location, views, pools all fantastic and would be v happy to come back. thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear TekkerKent,

Thank you very much for having selected the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island as your home in Luxor whilst holidaying in Upper Egypt. It was our great pleasure having you staying with us and we are already looking very much forward to welcome you back.

Thank you as well for writing to Tripadvisor and for promoting us with your positive comments. With regards to the felucca and up to the wind we use the motor boat, as you know we are lacking of the "windy weather" in this hot summer.

Breakfast pastries we offer in a wide range for our respective guests incl. the vegetarians, might be that you did not have luck that day to pick up the "wrong" one.

Once again we thank you very much for your nice compliments and we already look forward to welcoming you back soon to your second home in the near future, I remain with best regards,

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For 12 years myself and wife were visitors to this hotel, sometimes returning 2 and 3 times a year, until we moved from the UK to Luxor to live.
Yesterday 19th July was my birthday so we decided to return to the Jolie Ville and enjoy once again very happy memories and the wonderful atmosphere on offer.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the morning, before exploring the beautiful manicured gardens and the 3 pools on offer to guests staying there. We walked into the opulent reception area to be greeted by many staff who we remembered and they remembered us too, it was to us like returning home. After enjoying the Kings Island walk we returned to the Ascot Bar for a light lunch and the warm welcome from The Guest Relations Officer Armina, we sat down and talked about things for more than 2 hours, we were joined by the Food and Beverage Manager Moharab, who we know to be charming and witty, but also efficient at what he has to do.
We then left, returned home got changed and after 3 hours returned to the Jolie Ville Resort to enjoy a beautiful evening meal prepared by the Jolie Ville Chef's. We were there from 5.30pm until 10pm during which we indulged ourselves in the wonderful food from the Restaurant. I had Shorbet Adds, my wife had Tomato Soup with a difference, followed by Steak for myself and Sea Bass for my wife, the cuisine was exquisite, and as in the past matched the perfection of the Jolie Ville. We then took for desert Dark Chocolate Mousse heavenly!!
During the meal we drank Omar Khyamm Red wine and Tia Maria Caribbean Coffee.
The whole night was perfect, the staff very obliging, and we realised then that we were lucky to come across the Jolie Ville 15 years ago. The whole complex breathes peace and tranquility, the perfect place to recharge those batteries. I would advise any tourist to connect with the Jolie Ville for that something special. to myself and wife still is and always will be the best hotel in Luxor.
I would add to this review, myself and wife are in our 4th year of now living in Luxor, and no matter what you read or see on Television, Luxor is very peaceful, and the tourists is safe. There have been a few demonstrations but they are near the Government buildings and not in the tourist areas. So for those that have never been come and enjoy the slendors of the Pharoahs, but most of all use the Jolie Ville Kings Island Resort, the most beautiful hotel in Luxor and the most fantastic place to go for peace and tranquility on this tropical Island in the River Nile. Once you have been you will be smitten by the resort, and will want to go back time after time like myself and wife. everything you need is on this Resort.

Room Tip: We always stayed in B8 with its Nile View and close to the relaxation pool. For opulence it has to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Justen k from Luxor, Egypt

Thank you very much for having visited the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor for your 19th July birthday and for publishing your very positive experience to Tripadvisor!

We are blessed to have so many loyal “Regulars” like you; living in Luxor despite the negative Press Cairo is receiving ever since the revolution started in Feb 2011. It is because YOU know, it has nothing to do with fabulous Luxor and that it is perfectly safe on the Nile shores! Thank you for mentioning it again.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your fidelity and visit; we all look very much forward to welcome you back home for your wife's birthday in August!

I remain with,
Sunny regards from eternal Thebes

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the resort the first week of June, which is off season, but apparently normally has 300 to 400 guests (capacity is 1200) however due to recent events in Egypt, they had a total of 90 guests staying there. It is unfortunate how much the tourism industry is currently suffering in the country, but the lack of tourists made for an amazing experience for us.

First off, this property is amazing. It is a private, 10 acre island with some 32 small buildings for guests on it and perfectly manicured grounds in between them all. There is mature vegetation near the older buildings which makes them, in my opinion, far superior to the new buildings. I did not see the interior of the new buildings as most were unoccupied (they appear to be putting most guests in the older buildings while things are so slow there) but our room in the older section was very nice. It is smaller inside, but very modern, very comfortable beds, nice shower and enough room to put all your belongings. Stepping out of your room into the perfectly manicured gardens is amazing. You feel like you are staying in a magnificent park. There is every kind of tree outside including 6 or 8 different kinds of fruit trees. All the walkways in the older section have walkway shelters over them designed for the vegetation to grow up and over them. The pool in this area has mature and very healthy palm trees in an island in the center of it and other mature trees around the sides, if you want some shade. The whole area is absolutely beautiful and it really enhanced the experience to be right in the middle of that.

The newer buildings, in contrast, have very immature vegetation and are two storeys high, giving more of an appearance of a cheap resort. They have no coverings over the walkways and the pool in that area has some half dead looking palms poking out of it. I would definitely choose the older part of the resort. Not sure if the interior of the rooms makes up for a much more bland exterior, where you spend most of your time.

Having so few guests made us feel like we had this whole giant resort practically to ourselves. There were probably more staff than guests. You can tell they are still working hard to maintain a 5 star ambience despite the lack of tourists, as there has been no drop whatsoever in service or maintenance. In fact, the service is impeccable. On some days, at breakfast, you feel you have one staff member for each table. Anything you need is brought to you immediately. They will even carry your food from the breakfast buffet to your table on the patio unless you insist otherwise. We could wander the trails and roads around the resort and just soak in the ambience and it was very relaxing. The pool in the oldest section of the resort is an infinity pool overlooking the Nile, which provides stunning and very relaxing views. There was never more than about 6 people in this huge pool at a time, again making us feel we had the whole place to ourselves. An awesome experience.

The breakfast buffet is very good and again, despite the low number of guests, they work hard to ensure the selection of dishes does not suffer. There is always a huge variety to choose from. Some dishes they just have a small portion of the item presented, but if it runs out, they immediately fill it with more.

The hotel is excellent at advising what a fair rate is for cabs should you want one for either of the Temples, heading to town or going to the Valley of the Kings. The cabs that come in seem to accept the hotel suggested pricing without arguing, saving you the normal negotiation process you go through in many countries.

There is food served by the pool which is reasonably priced and reasonably good (try the shish kebabs - our favorite). One downside is the food for dinner, which, while decent quality, is very expensive for Egypt. Several nights we were too lazy to trek into town so we ate there but swallowed hard on the bill. The pub has a little cheaper food, though more basic.

Definitely check out Karnak Temple (we spent a good 3 or 4 hours as it is an amazing site) and the Valley of the Kings. One tip when heading to the Valley - some drivers will stop at a roadside spot to buy tickets to ADDITIONAL temples and sites. If you want an orgy of ruins sites for the day then go for it, but otherwise you can skip this and go straight to the Valley and to Hatshepsuts Mortuary Temple. Luxor Temple is small and can be done in an hour or less.

Overall an excellent stay and definitely recommend, especially at today's pricing! Amazing value and one of the rare places in the world you can get 5 star accommodation at 2 star prices.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the older buildings. Modern rooms, comfy beds and you get to step out your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear stevein van couver from Canada,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island to be your home in Luxor during your Upper Egypt holiday and for publishing your very positive comments regarding the Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am utmost pleased to read that you have fully enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that you recommend us to the ww traveler community.

The entire Jolie Ville Team is thanking you for your visit and we are all looking very much forward to welcome you back home on Kings Island in the near future

I remain with,
Sunny regards from unique, always sunny & spectacular Luxor.

Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Can only say that we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. This was our first trip to this hotel and we will definitely visit again. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were all very efficient and friendly without invading your privacy. Well done to whoever provides staff training at the Jolie Ville, the staff are a credit to you. Hopefully the current situation in Egypt will be resolved soon and tourists will be confident to visit this beautiful country. We intend to return in April.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolie_Star, General Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear annedoublem,

Thank you very much for staying at the Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island and for considering making it your Second Home in Upper Egypt.
It is nice to get a compliment about our training agenda. Of course we have an intensive program for giving the best service possible. I do have to mention that service can not be of such high standard when the ones who provide it, have no natural kindness or helpfulness.
In the quiet time that is now forced on us, we have decided to give cross-training between the departments. This way, the Jolie Team gets the opportunity to see how each department is working, leading to an even better cooperation and understanding between the colleagues.

Thank you very much for your support, we will continue to assist and serve our guests, so they can have a memorable vacation on our tranquil Island in the Nile, unaware of the sad troubles of this country in need of peace.

With Warm Greetings from our Jewel in the Nile,


Urs Umbricht
General Manager
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor

Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel Luxor
Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor Hotel
Jolie Ville Luxor
Movenpick Luxor
Address: Awameya Road, Kings Island, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luxor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luxor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon the private "Kings Island" in the Nile that covers 660,000 sqm, the resort truly is an oasis of peace and tranquility. The idyllic, landscaped hotel grounds are expansive and home to the two main buildings, bungalows and three enticing swimming pool areas. The historic sights of Luxor, located only 4 kilometres from the hotel, can be easily reached by complimentary shuttle buses. The island is connected to the mainland only by a bridge and is virtually free of charge. This makes the resort an ideal location for families with children. The resort has been renovated in 2010 and extended by 320 rooms and suites in 10 elegant bungalows, new restaurants, a pool of 2,800 sqm in size and a SPA with fitness centre (from early-sommer 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Kings Island Luxor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.